"I'm Excited!"

Danny Chook Fan Club

Forgive my indulgence, but I've got a touch of the 'Big Kevs' tonight. I'm wandering around intermittently doing a Thommo, punching the air and primal screaming. I'm that pumped about today.

Bloody great win Hawkers!

MONSTAA! Magnificent game.

Kudos to Harf, Heebs Graham and Trent - three blokes who get more than their share of crap heaped on them, but all put in huge efforts today which will be ignored by the media and public but should be cherished by Hawk fans.

Cindy! A great leader.

And Coxie!!!! Bloody Coxie!!!!

Cheerios must go to our old mates in white, who made it 13 times out of 14 that the Hawks have finished on the wrong side of the free kick count, today giving double the number of freebies to the Tigers compared to us. We copped a hiding today, but I'm sure it's just my imagination and persecution complex that has us so far last on the +/- free kick table that we need a telescope to see 15th.

Anyway, enough of the negatives. Go you mighty Hawks!

yes it was an awesome game today!!!
man i am so pumped after seeing that FANTASTIC performance by the hawk boys.

My heart goes out to Nick Holland though, man 3 times in 1 year doing a shoulder now thats just bad. Keep it up Nick get ready for the finals.

Congrats Hawks doing it without BARKS, BOF, REHN AND DUTCHY.
WELL DONE to Thomo and Crawf, they were both best on ground, and to croady man this guy was in some awesome form today.

go the hawks...

Yes i must say i enjoyed today alot more than i enjoyed last weeks game!!...I wonder why!

It was a great performance by the whole team, it was a pity to see Dutchy do his other shoulder, which means he probably wont play again this season, unfortunately.

But on the bright side, today showed that we can still be very competitive and also WIN against quality competition with a young side. It's great to see Schwabby actually giving the young guys a go. Also a great game by Crawf, Thommo and the likes!

I must also say that the Coxman was very very impressive today, and if he can keep that up the next few weeks, i dont see why he couldnt find a regular spot in our side!

Also well done to Ang Lekkas on 100 games

Well Done to Hawthorn. You played the better football and therefore thouroughly deserved your win.

I had read about this alarming trend of Hawthorn being on the wrong end of the free kick count each week and though I would keep an eye on it to determine why it was occurring (being a former umpire).

All I can say is that I am not surprised that Hawthorn give away so many free kicks - I am sure they were all enthusiastic and trying to tackle at every opportunity, but so many of them appeared to be poorly executed.

Tackles that are too high, tackles from behind that just ride the opponent into the ground, tackles without the ball.

Instead of pointing the finger at the umpires, maybe take a look at your tackling coach. This would probably account for half the free kicks you gave away!

Originally posted by CJH
Well Done to Hawthorn. You played the better football and therefore thouroughly deserved your win.

I had read about this alarming trend of Hawthorn being on the wrong end of the free kick count each week and though I would keep an eye on it to determine why it was occurring (being a former umpire).

All I can say is that I am not surprised that Hawthorn give away so many free kicks - I am sure they were all enthusiastic and trying to tackle at every opportunity, but so many of them appeared to be poorly executed.

Tackles that are too high, tackles from behind that just ride the opponent into the ground, tackles without the ball.

Instead of pointing the finger at the umpires, maybe take a look at your tackling coach. This would probably account for half the free kicks you gave away!

I agree with what youre saying, if youre going to go in hard for the ball, youre always going to give away free kicks, whether it be too high or in the back and so on... 90% of the free kicks that Richmond got today were warranted, and there was no-one to blame but ourselves.

It really sh!ts me how some of our supporters(not the people on here, im talking about at the game,and im sure there are supporters from other teams that do it too) yell and scream about every free kick that is given against us when its obvious that its a free kick. Some supporters should open their eyes and realise that our players arent perfect, and that they do give away freekicks.

Anyway, enuf of the inter-supporter bitching, Great win!

Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club
Forgive my indulgence, but I've got a touch of the 'Big Kevs' tonight. I'm wandering around intermittently doing a Thommo, punching the air and primal screaming. I'm that pumped about today.

Ahh ya gotta love my boy MONSTAA! He gets the team pumped, never gives in, bloody inspirational! *Punches the air* :D

CJH, ive no problems at all with the frees we are getting given against us.

Its the frees for us that are driving me to drink (theres a silver lining in there somewhere). Ie, please explain (and im only going to use the one example) why WHY wasnt Dixon given a free when clearly held going for the lead, 3rd quarter with an umpire looking DIRECTLY at the oncoming play? :confused: :mad: :confused:

Thats the type of guff weve been copping week in, week out. But again, what can you do? In the same quarter you got (my biased view) a nice run of three frees in a row to get you to half forward before a pass to Ottens was spoily (illeagally) and you didnt get the free that was there! :confused:

Maybe you should take up the whistle again!

Cheers.

Great win guys, particularly after being written off by all and sundry!

Grendel, lets face it mate, the men in white are just V. Ordinary. I don't think there's any bias, they're just crap. Bad positioning, tiggy touchwood frees. gransdstandinng. Pah. Let the players play they're the ones we go to watch!

Who's their coach again? ;)

Richmond should be ashamed of themselves

I did mention a day or so ago that Hawthorn were a good team in a flat spot, so wasn't surprised to see them overcome Richmond so impressively yesterday. Once again, it proves that you need to play with the players you have and not worry about who you haven't got due to injury. (cf WCE v Melbourne last week and to some degree against the Crows last night).

I don't think I can let this post go though without having a good old-fashioned go at the Richmond players who took the field yesterday.

Call yourselves Tigers? Like the Tigers of Old? You had the umpires on your side, a much closer to best team on paper in terms of injuries etc and your opponent lost 2 key players before and 1 during the game.

And you laid down and died. Your supporters must be pig-sick of the lack of heart you show. Lack of heart is the only thing that this set of players can do consistently. Why?

why?we played like we were still playing in fine conditions.but having said that u can only play as the oppositon let you and yesterday the hawks not only wanted the ball more but they also had the mental attitude at winning every contest despite the odds they were the better side on the day its as simple as that.
cheers!

Tiger of old, good to hear you're sticking by your boys. I've been in crowds where Richmond fans have jumped off big-time, so I appreciate the loyalty.

Do you think it's as simple as a "bad day at the office" though, or will it be ever thus for this group of Richmond players?

In the TV commentary over here, someone said "I reckon they look at the Centrebet odds, 'cos every time they're favourites, they lose." And I've got grave reservations about the mental toughness of a load of players in that side from past observation. And they drink too much.

Whaddyareckon?

good question voice.i have no doubt that our lack of success over years does have an affect on players known as the "losing mentality" in our playing group we have knight,gale,daffy,campbell,richo who have been thru those barron years maybe its time for danny to put more faith into our younger players.
you only have to look at essendon and how they "target" key players of the opposition which has a flowing effect onto the whole side.
one month ago we all were writing off north and look at them now once again they are in the hunt even with carey only playing at 60% u cant deny their courage.

carlton on paper they dont look like getting close to essendon but they are the only side i believe at the momment that stands between essendon and the flag.

i have given these 3 examples for one simple reason. these sides is to where richmond have to aspire to be as do not only richmond mind you but all other sides i have not mentioned.

success breeds success

you become consistant in 'BIG"games
you have self belief
you have a never say die attitude

at the momment richmond isnt there just yet but its a lot closer than it was 2 yrs ago.
cheers!

Tiger Of Old

Looking at Danny in the coaching box yesterday, I reckon he'll be putting his faith in the young blokes over the next season and a half and gradually weeding out those of the losing mentality.

Good luck with it.

I wouldn't write the Tigers off just yet, they may have just had a bad day at the office - I mean Hawthorn managed a 140 point turnaround in 1 week, so things can change very quickly,

With regards to the free kicks, I do agree some of our tacking was poor yesterday, particularly Dixon. But 23-12??? Good to see Wayne Campbell received 5 free kicks to 0 against :rolleyes:

Anyway, very pumped about the new guys all playing well (THE NUTTER!), Croady and Graham doing a good job and Thommo and Crawf showing they are true leaders.

By the way, the Age had Daffy in Richmonds best!!!!!! He was woeful yesterday, and the stats back it up, 9 of his 15 kicks came in the last quarter when the match was over.

i,m not writing the tigers off by a long shot goldenhawk far from it
i was just stating where we are at in regards to the ess,carl and norths of the comp.
in fact in a funny way im more than confident now of beating port next week.hawthorn showed yesterday how one week in football dosent mean the be all end all to go from a 81 thrashing to a 51 pt win in a week without your no1 and 2 ruckman your best chf and half fwd injured was a mighty effort indeed.
and on daffy actually he was one of a very few who at least had a bit of a go.
cheers!

Originally posted by tiger of old
...........to go from a 81 thrashing to a 51 pt win in a week without.........

it was actually 58! :D