Rave Slave

Dick Slapperman
If the umpiring can be that bad against us AT HOME when playing against Freo (a team traditionally *******ed by the umpires) Then how bad is the free kick count going to be when we play against Collingwood (the Umpires favourites)

25-13 vs Freo

21-15 vs Richmond

30something - not much vs Collingwood?

I think Mr Bigglesworth has a nice fine coming his way after that interview too.

'It's always hard to win a game when you're playing against 22+4'

So my question, are we the club the Umpires like to rape the most? Truly shocking display this year by the umps, I swear they get worse*

*Freo fans, I'm not taking anything away from your performance. Truly we played flat, dull and crap football for a quarter and a bit. Were it not for your first half you would have comfortably overran us. Just commenting on the umps

There were a few shocking decisions in that last quarter.
Goodwins twice in the back was putrid; and then pinged for holdin' it had me spitting chips!!

But its still nice to go away with the 4 points :D

topjars said:
There were a few shocking decisions in that last quarter.
Goodwins twice in the back was putrid; and then pinged for holdin' it had me spitting chips!!

But its still nice to go away with the 4 points :D

Agreed mate, If that game was played last year they would have trampled all over the top of us and won by 3 goals. I think it's good to see our younger guys starting to develop calm heads under crisis.

And one other thing, is VB one of the best kicks for a youngster or what? :D

The only disgusting decision was the one against Goody that denied Pez a shot on goal IMHO.

Looking at the stats for the season, Crows are about midway in the FF/FA count. All teams' supporters hate the umps.

If the AFC hierachy, and PAFC for that matter, don't request a "please explain" from Gieshen and co then they would be doing a disservice to their fans.

Do we wait until it costs us a final before we put in an official complaint?

ignoranus said:
The only disgusting decision was the one against Goody that denied Pez a shot on goal IMHO.

Looking at the stats for the season, Crows are about midway in the FF/FA count. All teams' supporters hate the umps.

I guess the thing I'm most disgusted with isn't actually how we were treated by the umps but more the inconsistency.

Free kicks used to change from week to week which was annoying enough, then it became quarter to quarter - now the ruling seems to jump back and forth every 10 minutes. Bloody ludicrous.

I'd rather the umps let iffy ones go than pay frees for everything

SpringChoke said:
If the AFC hierachy, and PAFC for that matter, don't request a "please explain" from Gieshen and co then they would be doing a disservice to their fans.

Do we wait until it costs us a final before we put in an official complaint?

Port have even more right to complain than us IMHO, they were absolutely slaughtered by the umps against the 'Wobbles

If we can win with a free kick count like that, imagine the results when the tide is turned :D

I think credit to us that we can still come away victorious despite the awful umpiring.

Rave Slave said:
If the umpiring can be that bad against us AT HOME when playing against Freo (a team traditionally *******ed by the umpires) Then how bad is the free kick count going to be when we play against Collingwood (the Umpires favourites)

25-13 vs Freo

21-15 vs Richmond

30something - not much vs Collingwood?

I think Mr Bigglesworth has a nice fine coming his way after that interview too.

'It's always hard to win a game when you're playing against 22+4'

So my question, are we the club the Umpires like to rape the most? Truly shocking display this year by the umps, I swear they get worse*

*Freo fans, I'm not taking anything away from your performance. Truly we played flat, dull and crap football for a quarter and a bit. Were it not for your first half you would have comfortably overran us. Just commenting on the umps
The umpires didn't exactly help us today, but Biglands should not have made the issue so public IMO. Make the complaints behind the scenes. Rhett should concentrate on his own footy, like that dropped mark that let in an easy Freo goal & gave them momentum in te last quarter. Going on his theory, it was 18-1 playing against 18+4+1. :eek:

Kane McGoodwin said:
The umpires didn't exactly help us today, but Biglands should not have made the issue so public IMO. Make the complaints behind the scenes. Rhett should concentrate on his own footy, like that dropped mark that let in an easy Freo goal & gave them momentum in te last quarter. Going on his theory, it was 18-1 playing against 18+4+1. :eek:
Think Biglands has more concerns to worry about than that effort today - can you imagine that marking attempt in a tight final.

Lets face it Bigland does not have the mental stregnth to get us a through a final series without cocking it up :mad:

Kane McGoodwin said:

Absolutely agree Kane, Biglands has done more harm than good by whining on national TV & if i was Craig he would make way next week for a Meeson or a Maric.

By the reaction on his face after he dropped that mark anyone would think he hasn't dropped them in the past. :rolleyes:

noddy said:
By the reaction on his face after he dropped that mark anyone would think he hasn't dropped them in the past. :rolleyes:
:D

Won't get dropped till Clarke is match fit - probably a few more games.

Wayne's-World said:
Think Biglands has more concerns to worry about than that effort today - can you imagine that marking attempt in a tight final.

Lets face it Bigland does not have the mental stregnth to get us a through a final series without cocking it up :mad:
I saw nothing from Biglands today to suggest that he will ever become a real good ruckman. As Noddy suggested, why not drop him for Maric, who is apparantly playing well for the Magpies (assuming Clarke isn't ready yet & Meeson isn't leading the Norwood rucks yet).

PS. Interesting to see Craig late in his post-match interview come out & give his support to both Burton & Perrie in response to the opinions of some supporters. He also seemed to be willing the journos to comment on te umps, because he wasn't willing to (given the AFL rules).

Kane McGoodwin said:
I saw nothing from Biglands today to suggest that he will ever become a real good ruckman. As Noddy suggested, why not drop him for Maric, who is apparantly playing well for the Magpies (assuming Clarke isn't ready yet & Meeson isn't leading the Norwood rucks yet).

PS. Interesting to see Craig late in his post-match interview come out & give his support to both Burton & Perrie in response to the opinions of some supporters. He also seemed to be willing the journos to comment on te umps, because he wasn't willing to (given the AFL rules).
:eek: And who suggested he was going to

I wouldn't however expose either Maric or Meesen this year - Clarke for me.

And who's getting into Perrie - playing as good a footy as ever and will be in his prime over the next 3 years :confused:

Wayne's-World said:
:eek: And who suggested he was going to

I wouldn't however expose either Maric or Meesen this year - Clarke for me.

And who's getting into Perrie - playing as good a footy as ever and will be in his prime over the next 3 years :confused:
I certainly wasn't one ever suggesting Biglands would improve - quite the opposite in fact!

There is still a lot of rubbishing of Perrie going on which has been unwarranted ... particularly from this idiot supporter who sits a few rows back from me. :mad:

Kane McGoodwin said:
The umpires didn't exactly help us today,
That is an absolute understatement :)
Kane McGoodwin said:
but Biglands should not have made the issue so public IMO. Make the complaints behind the scenes.
On the surface, and the way we get traditionally handled by certain umpires, I really wonder if the AFC actually do complain in strong enough words. Should we adopt Mark Williams whinny attitude? I'd rather we didnt, but something really needs to be done.
Kane McGoodwin said:
Rhett should concentrate on his own footy, like that dropped mark that let in an easy Freo goal & gave them momentum in te last quarter.
Alot of players where getting very frustrated today, one of the only times I have noticed Goodwin almost lose his cool.

Kane McGoodwin said:
There is still a lot of rubbishing of Perrie going on which has been unwarranted ... particularly from this idiot supporter who sits a few rows back from me. :mad:
Perrie was good today, it was good to see.

I am actually glad Biglands said something and I will be quite happy to chip in for the fine. Going behind the scences does nothing because they just brush it off. If he said that after a loss then I would be against it but its about time umpiring department took a good hard look at itself. I am sick and tired of seeing these cretins ruin a game of footy.

AFL is quickly becoming very precious and sanitised coopreration that cannot accept constructive critisism. If the umpires are going to pay a certain free kick at the start of the game then I expect them to be consistent through out the game. Whats frustrates the ******** out of me is that consistency from quarter to quarter is not there let alone game to game. What was interpreted as a free kick in the first quarter was not in the 2nd and so on.

I don't expect the free kicks to be even because that depends on how sides play. If a side is undiscipline then obviouslty they will have more frees against. However, what I do expect is some sort of consistency and quite frankly the umpiring for the last couple of years has been notoriously inconsistent.

dA Crow said:
That is an absolute understatement :)

On the surface, and the way we get traditionally handled by certain umpires, I really wonder if the AFC actually do complain in strong enough words. Should we adopt Mark Williams whinny attitude? I'd rather we didnt, but something really needs to be done.

Alot of players where getting very frustrated today, one of the only times I have noticed Goodwin almost lose his cool.
I even saw Benny Hart getting ropable with the umps after they ignored when he was clearly manhandled, yet Freo were able to play on & goal.

Freo may have gifted us heaps of goals today, but the umps returned them the favour. Goldspink was arguably their 3rd best after Pavlich & Haselby as he lead their assists. :mad:

Stiffy_18 said:
I am actually glad Biglands said something and I will be quite happy to chip in for the fine.
I disagree Stiffy as it is not the right person or the place for such comments. This type of thing tends to only inflame the situation & make it worse. However, I would hope that behind closed doors, the AFC are doing their nana at the AFL Umpiring section & provide clear evidence of pathetic umpiring performance today.