Expansion India trip by Dylan Andrews

As somebody who has worked a lot with footy overseas, I can tell you it is very much not a priority. We can't even get the International Cup back up and running.

This was just Dillon taking a junket in the offseason to a tournament that would've been happening with or without him.

I can tell you after I posted the rumour about this last year that the local league people at the AFL meeting very much felt that this was a priority over grassroots football.

1000009271.webp

And why is Lara special ? Plenty of teams come and go. Usual person sooking for the sake of it. Go India.

I can tell you after I posted the rumour about this last year that the local league people at the AFL meeting very much felt that this was a priority over grassroots football.

View attachment 2520727

A feeling doesn't make it so.

Grassroots footy overseas really isn't taking up much resources.

You weren't there at the meeting so you don't know the general consensus of the representatives of grassroots leagues that were there.

It's taking up priority thinking from the people who are supposed to be running the game to make it the best it can be from top to bottom in THIS state.

They are taking for granted the leagues in Victoria and not giving two shits what state the game is in the most important state to the game.

I think that the sooner people except that we are certainly not in my lifetime ever going to have a pro team even in New Zealand, and certainly never ever will have even a semi pro league in New Zealand or anywhere else and just get on enjoying the game here.

You weren't there at the meeting so you don't know the general consensus of the representatives of grassroots leagues that were there.

It's taking up priority thinking from the people who are supposed to be running the game to make it the best it can be from top to bottom in THIS state.

They are taking for granted the leagues in Victoria and not giving two shits what state the game is in the most important state to the game.

I wasn't there, but the folks at the meeting are clearly misinformed at how many resources go overseas.

Who said it was the resources they were most pissed about?

Maybe it was that the AFL made the biggest part of the meeting about India and didn't sufficiently address their concerns, basically pushing them to the side and ignoring them.

Maybe the grassroots leagues couldn't give two ****s about India and didn't turn up to listen to crap about it.

Who said it was the resources they were most pissed about?

Maybe it was that the AFL made the biggest part of the meeting about India and didn't sufficiently address their concerns, basically pushing them to the side and ignoring them.

Maybe the grassroots leagues couldn't give two ****s about India and didn't turn up to listen to crap about it.

So it's not about resources? They're just pissed about the trip that he took in the offseason?

Footy overseas has been so far down the list of priorities for the AFL. I'd like to see more focus on overseas, but I don't expect this junket to shift the dial.

Exactly, old mate doesn't realise the more money the AFL brings in the more that can be given to game development (grassroots). It's minimum 10% spend now of the AFL'S revenue going to that, so now revenue equals good news for grassroots footy.
The AFL has never made more money than it has today, yet countless teams are dying every year.

This wasn’t happening when the AFL wasn’t focusing on increasing revenue to extreme amounts.

More money hasn’t made the sport better, and it hasn’t improved grassroots football. Grassroots football is going backwards, despite the AFLs profit going up on a yearly basis.

I mean it makes sense from a business perspective? Australia is poised to go Chinese/Indian-majority population in the not-to-distant future, testing the waters and gauging interest of our national sport to those cultures makes sense. Whether or not you think it is going to work is matter of opinion
Won’t be a good thing