Aug 24, 2006
Coburg
The Mighty Magpies
Hi guys,

was wondering if anybody could give me a rundown on how the VAFA system works especially in terms of divisions etc.

Me and a friend who have both ecently moved to the northern suburbs of Melbourne are looking for a place where we can get a kick, be it reserves, thirds, fourths whatever!

A friend of a friend suggested Fitzroy Reds cause they had fourths but from what I can gather they have gone this year and they have surplus players for thirds.

I can play a bit but not superfit. Have watched some 3rds scratch matches with Fitzroy Reds and don't think the standard is above me. Would like the opportunity to play a game though rather than just train all year. Any club would be fine I just wanna have a (even semi) competitive kick!

Hi guys,

was wondering if anybody could give me a rundown on how the VAFA system works especially in terms of divisions etc.

Me and a friend who have both ecently moved to the northern suburbs of Melbourne are looking for a place where we can get a kick, be it reserves, thirds, fourths whatever!

A friend of a friend suggested Fitzroy Reds cause they had fourths but from what I can gather they have gone this year and they have surplus players for thirds.

I can play a bit but not superfit. Have watched some 3rds scratch matches with Fitzroy Reds and don't think the standard is above me. Would like the opportunity to play a game though rather than just train all year. Any club would be fine I just wanna have a (even semi) competitive kick!

Didaics, there are plenty of clubs that could accommodate you in the Northern suburbs. West Brunswick in D4 are a well run club and a big chance for flag this year. Someone willing to train most sessions can at the very least be assured of a spot in the 2's. If you're willing to travel to South Melbourne we'd be glad to see you throw on the red and white.

Call me on 0405 484 129 and we'll hopefully get you into that Fitzroy Reds 3rds team, then the 2nds ASAP. :thumbsu:
We welcome all standards of players, even those who follow Collingwood.

Cheers

Fraser Cameron
Fitzroy Reds reserves' coach

If this isn't a wind up, then I'll be damned. I'd also suggest you PM your mobile number in future Frase.

Mick,

Not worried - anyone can get my mobile off the Reds website as well as the Victorian Bar site too.

Can't say I've received any prank calls in the past few years - but maybe that's about to end??? :confused:

Cheers

Frase

Which region? The top grade of the VAFA would be as good as any other league in Victoria. In regards to metro leagues, except for perhaps the top 3-4 teams in the EFL and the same with the top few teams in the WRFL and EDFL, A section teams would be very competitive if not win.

similar to above i'm in my mid 20's and keen to start playing around the northern suburbs, but i am only semi fit (at the moment, happy to work hard till the start of the season) but i haven't played competitive footy since high school. what sort of standard is required to get a regular game in the twos? and are clubs generally happy to get in extra players in the pre season?

Absolutley mate, any team would be happy to have you. If you can catch, kick 30m and generally know the rules, you'll get a game in just about any two's team in the ammos. Any club would love the extra player in pre season. West Brunswick are a good show in D3 this season and Fitzroy in D1 again are a good place to start

similar to above i'm in my mid 20's and keen to start playing around the northern suburbs, but i am only semi fit (at the moment, happy to work hard till the start of the season) but i haven't played competitive footy since high school. what sort of standard is required to get a regular game in the twos? and are clubs generally happy to get in extra players in the pre season?

What standard did you play at school? Where in Nth Suburbs do you live? If outer Northern then have a look at Therry(d2), or Old Parade(d2)or LaTrobe(D4). Inner - then Fitzroy and West Brunswick are good suggestions. If you are more north-east, then Bulleen Temp(c), Manningham(D4) and Eltham(d2) or even Old Carey(B but have thirds)

Therry, Fitzroy and Bull Temp had thirds last year too.

Gate shut.....horse bolted.

Another 11 new players arrived at the Reds last night, including the source of he above enquiry.

Is that you Fraser or your old mate Red Roy spruiking about numbers pre-christmas ! I had hoped that sort of stuff was behind the Reds and left at the same time as Burgen.

What the? :confused:

You a bit bored on the first day of 2009 and had to bump a thread with reference to a 9 month old post about pre-season 2008?

NB: VAFA season 2009 starts in 108 days, plenty of stuff to talk about in the coming months.

Well, now that it has been resurrected...

I am in a pretty similar position, and made a similar post looking for an EDFL reserves side. I hadn't even considered the Amateurs.

I made a Calder Cannons development squad in Under 16s, was a fringe senior player in RDFL as a 17/18 year old, before I stopped playing due to work etc. Haven't played for a few years now, but I used to play on-ball all day as a junior, so fitness shouldn't be too much of a concern.

Anyway, I have no idea what standard I should be looking at in VAFA, hoping for somewhere that is competitive, at or a little above my standard to make me work a bit.

I am living in Glenroy, so somewhere in that sort of area would be ideal.

Any suggestions/invitations?

Thanks...

I am in a pretty similar position, and made a similar post looking for an EDFL reserves side. I hadn't even considered the Amateurs.

I made a Calder Cannons development squad in Under 16s, was a fringe senior player in RDFL as a 17/18 year old, before I stopped playing due to work etc. Haven't played for a few years now, but I used to play on-ball all day as a junior, so fitness shouldn't be too much of a concern.

Anyway, I have no idea what standard I should be looking at in VAFA, hoping for somewhere that is competitive, at or a little above my standard to make me work a bit.

Thanks...
Therry or just down the ring road Old Parade and Latrobe would all be worth checking out. You can get their contact details at www.vafa.com.au

Thanks...

Rupertswood would be a great option. Great club, great culture. Feel free to PM me with your contact details. :thumbsu:

Info on VAFA please!