Injury Injuries 2025

• Thread starter Thread starter Sentinel

Actual Influenza feels waaaaay worse than covid

hells yeah, last time i came down with flu
was the monday when I got home from the gws prelim! somehow made the granny, but was bedridden until the saturday morning before the game

was too crook to even think about having a beer, or anything but i was there and that was all that mattered

So the medical staff have got a pass mark this year?
I know it’s a wind-up DRU but yes, the medical and fitness people have done well. Of course it helps that we haven’t incurred too many match & training injuries this year. And that those we did incur were mostly fringe players (except Darcy & Adz). That may all be a consequence of the good work by the medical & fitness people … or just good luck. Or a bit of both.

However your remark can’t be allowed to pass without mentioning the early season soft tissue injuries, especially to Bont. His absence for those first 5 or 6 rounds might yet cost us a finals spot. A few here have suggested the running loads were universally applied and not sufficiently tailored to individual players. Hence the older (and better, but more susceptible) players featuring on the injury list.

I’m not a fitness and training expert but it seems to be a point worth discussing. If it’s correct, well I just hope they learn from it and are a bit more discerning in how they run it next year.

I know it’s a wind-up DRU but yes, the medical and fitness people have done well. Of course it helps that we haven’t incurred too many match & training injuries this year. And that those we did incur were mostly fringe players (except Darcy & Adz). That may all be a consequence of the good work by the medical & fitness people … or just good luck. Or a bit of both.

However your remark can’t be allowed to pass without mentioning the early season soft tissue injuries, especially to Bont. His absence for those first 5 or 6 rounds might yet cost us a finals spot. A few here have suggested the running loads were universally applied and not sufficiently tailored to individual players. Hence the older (and better, but more susceptible) players featuring on the injury list.

I’m not a fitness and training expert but it seems to be a point worth discussing. If it’s correct, well I just hope they learn from it and are a bit more discerning in how they run it next year.
There is good and bad dw….we are definitely fitter this year evidenced by the running out of games - for a non expert in the field, I’d say whatever we were doing before softened a few guys up and that was the issue with all the calves early on.

Was it the right way to go…time will tell

Harmes out with the Flu again.
There has been a very nasty non Covid flu going around the last few weeks. Tore through my work place, and everyone has said it was amongst the worst they have experienced. Those who came in a few days later looked like zombies.

I was the unfortunate one to get it first/second, and also the worst. Started off as a sore throat, which faded. Then day two or three I was fairly feverish, coughing heavy dry coughs, irritated air ways, things tasting funny, coughing fits when laying down on my sides in bed, aching muscles. My coughs were hard and violent, mum was worried I'd bust a vessel somewhere. 5 days of hell, coughs became mucus/wet, and solid lingering effects for two weeks after.

Three weeks later, I've only just gotten some energy back and no longer feel sleepy all the time. But I damaged my voice box, could barely talk for over a week, and it still cuts out or struggles at certain pitches.

Feels like almost every flu caught since Covid has rarely been mild, but a hard hitting super bug which sucks. I used to only get a bad sickness once every two years before Covid. With a mild one in between and it was always exactly the same, that I was able to predict the pending sequence of events. But now i get sick heaps and bad ones more often.

Maybe because people have become selfish pricks since Covid and won't stay home. Or maybe humans herd immunity is still playing catch up.

Have had Covid twice and a super bad flu twice in the last two years. Covid/pneumonia combo was the worst. This recent one probably ranks at number two.

I’m curious - does anyone here that has posted about how sick they’ve been lately take vitamin d?

I used to work outside and thought my levels would be fine, however a blood test pre covid showed my levels to be low.

I (touch wood) haven’t been sick for 3 years since taking vitamin d and even covid was just a slightly tight chest and a loss of smell…I was so good I kept packing up a house to move to QLD….would love to know if there is a common denominator as everyone I know who has gone down with it this year has had it really bad and none of them take Vit D

I’m curious - does anyone here that has posted about how sick they’ve been lately take vitamin d?

I used to work outside and thought my levels would be fine, however a blood test pre covid showed my levels to be low.

I (touch wood) haven’t been sick for 3 years since taking vitamin d and even covid was just a slightly tight chest and a loss of smell…I was so good I kept packing up a house to move to QLD….would love to know if there is a common denominator as everyone I know who has gone down with it this year has had it really bad and none of them take Vit D
No I think everybody here sits in a dungeon smashing the keyboard and refreshing BF when they're not getting inflamed from watching footy talk shows.

Sunlight? What's that?

I drink beer and don’t give a shit ….. hope the advice helps

When my Mum had breast cancer (sorry to be serious), she was part of a trial group of Chemo (Herceptin) and mass Vitamin D infusion.

She is alive and well 15 years later. There must be something in it.

When my Mum had breast cancer (sorry to be serious), she was part of a trial group of Chemo (Herceptin) and mass Vitamin D infusion.

She is alive and well 15 years later. There must be something in it.
There absolutely is…more people should take it

I was going to write something similar about vitamin d.... I have been taking it for over a decade. I've had covid twice, and only knew because I tested positive, and had a sniffle each time. I've rarely been sick in years. Vitamin D is great for your immune system, give it a go if you constantly get knocked about by illness, some of your stories posted here are awful, get well soon.. you'll have finals to attend.

I've always had plenty of outdoors time and sunlight in my life and have never had the flu. Got mild covid the other year.

I didn't look after myself for a while , was living on Farmers Union iced coffee and disposable vapes in SW Vic midwinter and got Shingles. I ended up in hospital with a combined bacterial skin infection. That was only the second time I've been really ill, outside of food poisoning, since I was in primary school.

Man that shingles is a bad sickness. Under the radar horror. You can get a jab to prevent it, I'd recommend it.