ImperialPurple

In it for the long haul
SFFC, Aussie Women's Cricket, HNK
I've been looking all over to see if I can find an injury list - no luck. Nothing on the FFC or AFL sites, and that "injury update" site has Freo with no injuries, updated 25/2/09.

But there are some injury issues as we head into the second half of the pre-season games, with Rd 1 just 4 weeks away. Off the top of my head, the following guys are (or might be if the rumours are true) currently unavailable - can anyone add any more?

• Ibbo - corky / ankle?? 1 week maybe or test? Right for this week?
  • Des - calf. Still a few weeks away? Right for Rd 1?
  • Brock - shoulder. Out for a while...
  • Ballantyne - wrist. Right for Rd 1?? Will he start the season off at Peel?
  • Foster - back. ??? Any news on him at all?
  • Thornton - usual pre-season Crohn's stuff... will be eased in. Start at SF or Freo?
  • Mayne - ankle. They said 3 weeks when he did it - has it been longer? Any news?
  • Kiwi - knee. (See Mayne)
  • Bucovaz - hip. Is he out for the season as the rumour mill suggested, or will he play?
  • DeBoer - "hot spot" or rumour? What is a "hot spot" anyway? I thought it was a popular place where people gather to drink... ???
  • Duffield - finger / hand. Any news? Is he still a way away?
  • Pearce - stress fractures?? "Hot-spot"?? Any news??

That's quite a substantial list for a club with "no injuries"... :o

Can anyone enlighten the rest of us as to how these guys are getting on and when / if we're likely to see them?

Cheers

Ibbo - I'll be surprised if he plays against the eagles but should be fine for round one.

Des - Won't play round one IMO.

Ballantyne - See Des.

Thornton - Starts the season at Souths (and hopefully spends most of the year there).

Mayne - Should be ready for the last NAB game (although he doesn't even have a scratch according to GJ :rolleyes:)

Kiwi - Did they say 6 weeks at the time?

Bucovaz - No idea. Same applies to DeBoer, Duffield and Pearce.

A "hot spot" is what you have before a stress fracture. It must show up when they do the scan.

I'd like to see Ibbo, DeBoer, Mayne and Pearce included this weekend against the weags... Hopefully they are right to go.

*fingers crossed*

Think there was a news article last week about Ballantyne, saying he wasn't going to be available until roun 4 or after.

A hot spot will show up on bone scans with increased blood flow to a specific area with some minor changes to the bone itself showing up as well.

So how much of an issue is it? Does it need rest / specific rehab / reduced workload?

And there have been reports that both DeBoer and Pearce have a hot-spot... does anyone know if it's one of them or both?

Could they play with one?

Ballantyne has gone from "Ready in Rd 1" to "After Round 4"...

Then you'd think he'd need a couple of weeks at Peel... will he see him before the mid-season break?? :confused:

Depends on so many things IP.

You could play on it, with injections, but best not to. Usually just rest depending on where it is. You can have injections to treat it some times as well.

Ibbo - I'll be surprised if he plays against the eagles but should be fine for round one.

Des - Won't play round one IMO.

Ballantyne - See Des.

Thornton - Starts the season at Souths (and hopefully spends most of the year there).

Mayne - Should be ready for the last NAB game (although he doesn't even have a scratch according to GJ :rolleyes:)

Kiwi - Did they say 6 weeks at the time?

Bucovaz - No idea. Same applies to DeBoer, Duffield and Pearce.

A "hot spot" is what you have before a stress fracture. It must show up when they do the scan.

I thought they did too(Kiwi)
Maybe they are not on the there because they will be able to play Rd1(some WAFL) but not fit enough for AFL but very strange just the same.

I thought they said that Kiwi was out for the NAB Cup, which I guess would be 5 - 6 weeks. It'll be interesting to see if he is brought straight back into the team for Round 1, because I get the feeling a lot of the planning for this year revolved around him at full forward.

Mayne was named in the squad for the Kangaroos game, so chances are he will be right to play this week.

I'd be resting DeBoer, Pearce and to a lesser extent Ibbo for the rest of the pre-season. Ibbo is in our best 22, so there is no point playing him if he isn't 100%. As for DeBoer and Pearce, the last thing you want is for a hot spot to turn into a stress fracture. As chops said, you can play with a hot spot but that could lead to much worse injuries.

There's an update in today's West.

Ibbo got kicked in the shin against North but should play in Bunbury.

Duffield will definately play this week and/or next.

Ballantyne ruled out for round one.

So it looks something like this??:

• Ibbo - bruised shin. Back for Wk 4 of pre-season.
  • Des - calf. Still a few weeks away...
  • Brock - shoulder. Round 1 (fingers crossed).
  • Ballantyne - wrist. Still a question mark??
  • Foster - back. ??? "
  • Kiwi - knee. ??? "
  • Bucovaz - hip. ??? "
  • DeBoer - ??? "
  • Pearce - "Hot-spot"??? "

• Thornton - named for this week...
  • Mayne - ankle. Named for this week...
  • Duffield - finger / hand. Named for this week...

And what of McPharlin? Played a shocker against Richmond, didn't play last week, apparently not playing this week. Wouldn't think he's just being rested.

It's a shame but it seems that Brock Norris is made of glass. I hope he proves us wrong...

I'm no fan of Bo'Bsies, but trust me, the tackle that hurt he got hurt in n the weekend was a serious smashdown.

He picked a low bouncing ball up down by his shoelaces, and almost at the same time (with his head still down) ran into two Roos, who lifted him vertical, turned him on his back and then smashed him down right on the point of his shoulder. Two more Roos landed on the pile a fraction of a second later - it was a seriously heavy hit.

He seems to have bulked up a bit in the upper body, so if he can get over this, I think he might play a bit this year. That said, the last pre-season injry of note was Hase's knee, so our track record isn't great. Based on what I saw on the weekend, I'd like him to have a chance to play a few more - even if it is just to prove that Saturday wasn't a fluke.

Be a shame to play your career best footy in a meaningless praccy game in front of 1600...

Also, I'd add Solo-man to that list of injuries - I reckon he some damage to his shoulder in the fourth quarter against the shinboners - especially given his age, I'd be surprised if we see him again before round 1 or 2...

Hopefully I'm wrong though (I am in a bit of a bad mood at the moment...).

Solly's still got a holiday to look forward to in R1 so it's no great drama if he isn't fit til R2.

He looked in good form against Richmond too so he looks pretty set for the season even if he doesn't get another preseason hit out.

I'm no fan of Bo'Bsies, but trust me, the tackle that hurt he got hurt in n the weekend was a serious smashdown.

He picked a low bouncing ball up down by his shoelaces, and almost at the same time (with his head still down) ran into two Roos, who lifted him vertical, turned him on his back and then smashed him down right on the point of his shoulder. Two more Roos landed on the pile a fraction of a second later - it was a seriously heavy hit.
Had something like that happen to myself, although I was speared.

He's probably done some damage to his A/C joint by the sound of it. That's how you do them.

And yet no reports anywhere, where's the MRP for that one? not only a head high contact (if i'm interpretting it correctly) but also a blatant spear tackle, some serious damage could have been done there it seems, but since they are not in Purple, nothing....:mad:

One of the FTA channels said Des may not be available round 1. I think it was 9 a few nights ago...oh, and that the club has gone "moon boot crazy" :D

I heard that andrew foster had had his work load significantly decreased due to back soreness and that he has not recovered as hoped from the injury sustained last year, likely to be career threatening which is devestating considering that i personally think that he is as talented as ibbotson with the hardness and work ethic of chris mayne... could have been anything that kid, hope he gets back :( no pun intended

No. Didn't have the skills of Ibbo, but was a handy inside player with good hands.

hmmm i thought his skills were fantastic, maybe not as good as ibbo's because his are elite, but still very very good... either way it is a shame that his body wont let him reach his potential

He seems to have bulked up a bit in the upper body, so if he can get over this, I think he might play a bit this year. That said, the last pre-season injry of note was Hase's knee, so our track record isn't great. Based on what I saw on the weekend, I'd like him to have a chance to play a few more - even if it is just to prove that Saturday wasn't a fluke.

Be a shame to play your career best footy in a meaningless praccy game in front of 1600...

Very apt description. Sounds like he was checked into the Smackdown hotel.
Perhaps the made of glass comment dosent apply.
Sounds like he was rough housed though. Did any of the boys run over and get stuck into the rooboys???

And yet no reports anywhere, where's the MRP for that one? not only a head high contact (if i'm interpretting it correctly) but also a blatant spear tackle, some serious damage could have been done there it seems, but since they are not in Purple, nothing....:mad:

My description perhaps implied more evil intent than there was - it was actually IMHO not worth a report - they didn't deliberately hold him up for two or three seconds and then spear him down on his shoulder, that's just how the spinning tackle kind of unfolded. Gravy, Tazmania or ACTDocker might have a different view, but that's how I saw it.

The contact was worth (and - blow me down - actually received!!) a free for a high tackle, but I reckon that's about all it was. Just bad luck, made worse by Bo'B's (reckless but amazing) intensity at going for that particular ball.

The point I was trying to make was not that the Shinboners were rough, but rather that the injury was caused by real, sustained contact (and not just by a glancing bump, or by running into the back of the umpy a-la the Matera boyo).

Very apt description. Sounds like he was checked into the Smackdown hotel.
Perhaps the made of glass comment dosent apply.
Sounds like he was rough housed though. Did any of the boys run over and get stuck into the rooboys???

Yes, I'd suggest the made of glass comment is probably a little harsh, though I'm also not a rabid defender of Bo'B - so I don't know too much about his prior injury history.

As to the reaction of his team-mates - no one from Freo went over to Brock at the time (except for a very obese Dockers water donkey). Most of our players followed the ball, which bounced free in the tackle, went to Sibbo, and the umpy gave the advantage (as it was a Freo free).

Brock was actually helped up by one of the umpies, and it was only when he was obviously injured that one of the Dockers players went over to him. There was no aggro towards the Roo boys, and not even much of a "you OK mate?" for Bo'B. I thought it was a little poor, especially given how well Brock had been playing to that point.

Just before half time, one of the Roos went Doddy, and he fired right up and took two of them on, but other than that there was no real passion or pitching in from our guys. There was also a bad head high clotheshanger on one of our younguns (Hall I think??) in the third quarter, but that also didn't get a reaction from our guys.

While part of me is happy our blokes didn't over-react and get reported in such a meaningless game, it does worry me a little that there wasn't more fire in the belly, especially from our mid tier guys. North were clearly "on a mission from God" (as Jake and Elwood would say), and were tackling hard even when they were 14 or 15 goals ahead.

I think it was Esti that suggested taking a tape recorder to the game - in hindsight, that actually might have actually allowed an interesting comparison between the two sides - the Roos were really intense, yelling and screaming throughout, while we were quiet as lambs for almost the whole game. Maybe we should get Howlin' Wolf in to take a few training sessions??

Docker Headland to miss start of season with injury

Kim Hagdorn
March 07, 2009 06:30pm

FREMANTLE utility Des Headland has suffered an injury setback and will miss the start of the AFL season.

Headland has recurring soft-tissue strains and stress-related complications in his lower right leg following career-threatening knee surgery just a month into last season.

For several weeks, Dockers officials were confident Headland was on course to complete a delicate summer rehabilitation, despite missing the entire pre-season NAB series.

Now it is feared he has suffered a stress fracture in his lower leg through desperate efforts to get back into full running and to resume training.

He could miss a significant chunk of the Dockers' early games, leading to a highly anticipated derby against West Coast in Round 6.

Headland, 28, is expected to join forwards Chris Mayne (calf) and Hayden Ballantyne (wrist) on the sidelines when the Dockers launch the new premiership season.

The Dockers are expected to virtually unveil their preferred starting line-up for Round 1 in next Saturday's last NAB series clash against a star-packed Carlton or Geelong in Bunbury.

Top defender Luke McPharlin is expected to return for the full dress rehearsal after missing last night's derby against West Coast.

http://www.news.com.au/perthnow/story/0,21598,25152858-5005401,00.html

:thumbsd: Headland, Mayne and Ballantyne all to miss the start of the season. Not good. :(