BUBBALOUIS

Jan 9, 2001
Victoria, HAWTHORN, GLENF
leeds united
Heard the late news last night and almost had a coronary when update was that Trent Croad was in hospital with an unidentified virus. This mornings news was a bit more promising, who at your clubs would be the least able to be replaced and cause you the most heartache. Here are my thoughts

Hawthorn - Trent Croad - picks up extra tall forward from opposition or can be used up forward for impact

Adelaide- i would say Mccleoud (hope thats how you spell it) Devastating match winner, Crows would struggle without him

Brisbane- obviously Michael Voss. Sensational midfielder, Lions look to him for spark when things are tight

Carlton- Kouta is obvious but i think Lance Whitnall would be hard to replace, Carlto dont seem to have anyone who could cover him if he was injured

Geelong - Ben Graham out of the side would make Geelongs defence look very shaky

Freemantle - Having such a young list means noone stands out, but young Hasleby would be a huge blow

Richmond - I always thought Matty Richardson, but Knightsy would be missed more than people think even though he was dumped as Captain

Stkilda - Hard to go past Robert Harvey, no one to match his ball winning ability

W.Bulldogs - C Grant is the obvious one but i reckon losing Luke Darcy would be a tragedy for the Bullies.

Pt Adelaide - Young even side who would be devastated by the loss of M Primus

Sydney - One Word Kelly. Inspirational

Collingwood - Only got one player Buckley

West Coast - One of the best midfielders going around would be Ben Cousins, dont think the thin WC list could do without him

Essendon - Would need half the side to go down, but most missed would be Lloyd and Hird as was proven when both have been out

Nth Melbourne - Again too obvious to mention

Melbourne - Wouldnt want to lose Jeff White

I wouldn't say Carey is such an obvious choice. Although there is no one with equal ability to step up when he's missing, McKernan and others have filled in ably in the past without necessarily starring. Take Mick Martyn out and we are screwed, and also McKernan because inconsistent though he is, his versatility of being able to play first ruck or second forward on call give the side better balance, especially if he's playing well.

Just goes to show that even though we're desperate for Info at this time of year, no news is good news.

But for Hawthorn, if all the other talls were OK, I think we could cover Croad(Hay, Rawlings, Graham and perhaps Barker could cover most combinations) OK

Hay would be an obvious choice and results without him prove that. He can cover a tall, big or fast forward (Remember croad had much more problem with Lloyd).
Despite his relatively quiet 2000, Crawf would be a big loss also.
Chick could be covered but the others would have to really work hard to make up for his workrate.
As for Essendon. Would Barnsey be a big loss for them ?

[This message has been edited by Pessimistic (edited 31 January 2001).]

I feel we did well to cover a lot of major injuries, but the wheels tended to fall off once Duncan Kellaway was injured.

Without the Glove (and King with a broken leg) we found ourselves without the necessary midfield grunt to get hold of the pill.

------------------
This is a hallucination and these faces are in a dream. A computer generated environment; a fantasy island you can do anything and not have to face the consequences.

Bubbalouis, I can't agree with you about Primus being Ports biggest loss, because the season he missed when he did his knee is the only season Port made the finals.

I think the one player we can't afford to lose is Tredrea because he is our main target up foward. Also with Bowen Lockwood back this season to help Tredrea up foward I think Tredrea could be in for a huge season.

• Banned
Originally posted by carb70:
Bubbalouis, I can't agree with you about Primus being Ports biggest loss, because the season he missed when he did his knee is the only season Port made the finals.

I think the one player we can't afford to lose is Tredrea because he is our main target up foward. Also with Bowen Lockwood back this season to help Tredrea up foward I think Tredrea could be in for a huge season.

You could be right Carb, i just reckon Port have some very exciting young players who are all about the same in terms of development stage and Primus seems to be such an imposing figure when he is in form. Treadrea i agree would be hard to replace pity about his accuracy for goal, he would be a superstar if he could get that right. Misses too many easy one fopr mine.

Originally posted by BUBBALOUIS:

Hey bubba tread very carefully dude!!
The fact that we have been enjoying each other's post doesnt stand for jack shit,if i ever read this sort of crap again.

The joffa has is eye on you now bubba!!

------------------
I got music runnin'in my brain,Ev'ry song with it's own kind of meaning,Cleanse the soul and wash away the pain,Baptized by the song that you're singing,Canta libre,Canta la vida,siempre conmigo,cante libre, Neil Diamond

• Banned
Originally posted by magpie_joffa:

OK Joff ill throw in Tarrant as well
smile.gif

Hey bubba tread very carefully dude!!
The fact that we have been enjoying each other's post doesnt stand for jack shit,if i ever read this sort of crap again.

The joffa has is eye on you now bubba!!

who at your clubs would be the least able to be replaced and cause you the most heartache. Here are my thoughts

Brisbane- obviously Michael Voss. Sensational midfielder, Lions look to him for spark when things are tight

Fairy nuff, though Clark Keating was sorely missed last year.

We can cover Croad better than we can Hay. Hay takes the BEST forward every week and does the job and then some. Croady is more versatile but as Pess said, not quite as needed (strange choice of words i know) as Jon is. But the bloke that i get nightmares about if he goes down is Holland. 150 plus marks every year for the last four seasons, a work rate 2nd to none (well perhaps Chick) and a better footballer than some think. Hes my untouchable.

Other clubs?

Adelaide, Jarman. If he is in the side theyve got a goal kicker of quality, if hes out, they struggle to find a way forward.

Brisbane, Leppa, like Hay at the Hawks, nobody else can cover the keys from the other sides like he can.

Carlton, might seem a strange choice but Allan. Feeds the midfield and when playing well is a great 'through' player. Koutas an awesome footballer, but the flow for the Blues starts with Allan.

Collingwood, Joffa who are you kidding? Bucks goes down your rooted. Hes that important cause hes that good.

Geelong, King. I just dont rate Graham like some others do. Maybe Riccardi as well. Cant really split them.

Essendon, Hird there just not the same without him.

Freo, Fletcher, gives direction to an otherwise rudderless (scuse the pun) ship.

Melbourne, J.White really is now probably the best ruck in the league. There only winner in the GF, hate to see them without him. Funny though i reckon they might miss Ingerson to down back if he were out for any length of time.

North, Stevens more so now that Bells left. Need a big season from Stevo to fill that breach that 400+ possies Bell isnt going to get for them.

Port, agree Primus. Who cares that there only finals appearance was when he was missing. The blokes ENOURMOUS and gives size to a very small line up.

Richmond, agree Knights. The most direct midfielder they have and only Camerons got better skills. Wouldnt want anything to happen to Gaspar either.

Saints, Hudghton. They have nobody else down back, at least Burke and a few others can cover Harvey. But its Max thats doing the hard yards in defence. Might be okay if Hall goes back this season. Gehrigs still to iffy for me.

Sydney Stafford. Just look at their win/loss ratio to when hes playing well and when hes not in the side.

West Coast, Jackovich. Still the rock which their sides built on. With Mcintosh being more and more injury prone, they cant afford anything to lose anyone else down back. Plus the fact that Bluey Mckennas gone and Jakos their key to keeping their backline working.

Western Bulldogs, again agree with bubba, Darcy is now THE MAN with Wynds retirement. The other rucks coming through look promising but Darcys really going to have to carry most of the load himself.

i agree with you on jeff white. he will be a very bad lose seeing as troy simonds is still learning.

i really hope croad feels better!
smile.gif

------------------
Footy. It was just a sport.
But now it's also a business.
However, according to the fans it's a religion,
where the people rule!

The Mighty Melbourne Demons- My passion, My obsession!

Originally posted by Grendel:

Joffa are you rooted.

Well not at this moment gredel but im open to all offers!!

------------------
I got music runnin'in my brain,Ev'ry song with it's own kind of meaning,Cleanse the soul and wash away the pain,Baptized by the song that you're singing,Canta libre,Canta la vida,siempre conmigo,cante libre, Neil Diamond

Grendal,

I have to disagree with your comments regarding Hird and Essendon.

I am not suggesting that Hird is not Essendon's best player, or that in the past, his absence hasn't affected the team's performance; Essendon would not have made the finals in 96, if it weren't for Hird. However, in the last two years, Essendon have lost just 7 games. Although Hird did not play in any of those games, it would be simplistic to argue that these defeats occurred due to his absence.

My players would be Lloyd, Fletcher and Hardwick, as they can not be replaced without disrupting team balance and affecting the team's style of play. This may change in the future however.

------------------
"Strangely enough, in the midst of change, the present course may often be the most risky one. It may only serve to perpetuate the irrelevancy."

[This message has been edited by James2 (edited 31 January 2001).]

Originally posted by Grendel:

Port, agree Primus. Who cares that there only finals appearance was when he was missing. The blokes ENOURMOUS and gives size to a very small line up.

When Matty was missing, Brendon Lade (and Barnaby French) stepped up. Ladey was greatly missed in 2000.

But the player Port miss the most (and too often) is Gavin Wanganeen
frown.gif

BTW - Tredrea, C.Cornes, Lockwood, Primus, Lade, French, Mead, Paxman, D.Wakelin and Bishop, with Morgan, Thurstans and Ackland in reserve is a fairly good stock of big men.

Originally posted by Grave Danger:

BTW - Tredrea, C.Cornes, Lockwood, Primus, Lade, French, Mead, Paxman, D.Wakelin and Bishop, with Morgan, Thurstans and Ackland in reserve is a fairly good stock of big men.

GD, Names youve listed are all good backup to Primus but realistically if Primus went down, which one of them would be able to step up and have the same impact as Primus?
I would argue none of them, i know as a Hawk supporter if we were facing PA id be rapt if French was in the ruck and not Primus, this is not to put Barnaby down but there is a class difference.

Same scenario as Carey/North. It's only partly relevant who the club's best player is. What is more relevant is how good or how plentiful the back-up options are. Primus is arguably the best player at Port, but with French and Lade they have capable fill-ins, whereas an injury to a less classy players like Paxman or Mead would leave the defence dangerously short and have a more detrimental effect on results.

------------------
"Not by speech-making and the decisions of majorities will the questions of the day be settled... but by iron and blood" - Otto von Bismarck 1862

Originally posted by Darky:
Same scenario as Carey/North. It's only partly relevant who the club's best player is. What is more relevant is how good or how plentiful the back-up options are. Primus is arguably the best player at Port, but with French and Lade they have capable fill-ins, whereas an injury to a less classy players like Paxman or Mead would leave the defence dangerously short and have a more detrimental effect on results.

I take your point Darky, but capable fill ins wouldnt be a consolation if you lost a star. I argue that a Carey is irreplaceable and psychologically damaging to the group not having him there. Be honest whos the last player you would want to see on the back page of the Herald Sun with the headline OUT FOR THE SEASON. Dont tell me its not Carey. As good as the backups might be they are not Carey and thats why he gets paid the big bucks.

Yeah I understand what you're say, and with a player like Carey of course he'd be irreplacable over the course of a season or a large part thereof...

BUT

In the past the rest of the team has taken the onus upon themselves to lift to cover the great man, whereas when he plays they occasionally fall into a comfort zone, thinking that the King can get them out of just about any mess

AND

once again it is relative to back-ups. Carey can be replaced at CHF by McKernan, who has similar agility and when on song will mark anything in sight, and still play partially as a ruckman. If McKernan is injured, he is replaced by Burton - a one-positional player whose mobility makes him a liability around the ground. If Burton is having a bad game, he has to either stay on the ground and have more of a bad game, or get benched and be replaced by a part timer or a first game rookie such as L.Smith or Petrie. Therefore McKernan is less easily replaceable than Carey on a short-term basis, even though he isn't half the player Carey is.

GD, Names youve listed are all good backup to Primus but realistically if Primus went down, which one of them would be able to step up and have the same impact as Primus?
I would argue none of them, i know as a Hawk supporter if we were facing PA id be rapt if French was in the ruck and not Primus, this is not to put Barnaby down but there is a class difference.

Bubba, I'm one Port supporter who thinks the team functions a lot better when Lade is in ruck, rather than Primus. Lade is a better tap ruckman than Primus. Lade is also better mark and kick than Primus and I think our defense has more confidence when Lade is playing as a lose man back there than when Primus is back there.

Don't get me wrong I still rate Primus highly, there is no better club man and you know if theres a hard ball to get, Primus will be the first to go and get it.

Melbourne will struggle without a fit Jeff White. This is shown by 1999. He did not have a good year, the team didn't.
Another I wouldn't want to lose is David Neitz.

------------------
The Melbourne Football Club: Tradition, Heritage, Excitement

I reckon Luke Darcy would be the biggest injury nightmare for the Bulldogs. Now that Wynd has retired there is no experienced ruckmen at the club other than Darc. Scott West would come 2nd IMHO because he is so important to our midfield.

------------------
aka HahnPremium37
<A HREF="http://www.geocities.com/isdogisgood" TARGET=_blank>
http://www.geocities.com/isdogisgood
</A>

Originally posted by carb70:
I think our defense has more confidence when Lade is playing as a lose man back there than when Primus is back there.

Don't get me wrong I still rate Primus highly, there is no better club man and you know if theres a hard ball to get, Primus will be the first to go and get it.

Carb , you Port supporters see more of your team and your player capabilities so ill accept that you are right, but it does surprise me 'cause i always rated Primus and when we were looking to replace Salmon i was hoping we could somehow attract the big man across. Maybe he keeps his best for Hawthorn games.

I sit with you Bubba....

it comes down to winning the flag....

North might still be competitive without Carey, they may have good fill ins....but the ain't gonna wint the flag, and that is what it is all about.

I also agree about Primus...whatever chance Port would have of winning the flag would probably go without him (and Gav. for that matter).

ptw

Injury nightmares