Injury Injury update thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Apex36

Update: Monday 15/6

Grundy: Injured his neck at training last Friday, required to spend two weeks in a neck brace. May or may not return for the Freo game after the bye, but the club is, as usual, taking a conservative approach, so more likely to miss than not imo.

Blair: has recovered well and will be available for the Freo game.

Gault: Missed VFL this week with concussion. Will be available to play after the bye.

Sinclair: Running well and has turned a corner with his lengthy hamstring layoff. Regarded as short term, 1-2 weeks away from returning through the VFL.

Freeman: Has recovered well from surgery, currently running well at training. Short term, 1-2 weeks.

Ramsay: Getting some miles back into his legs, the concern being that coming back too soon without that running could cause a recurrence. Still regarded as medium term.

Macaffer: Still medium to long term, but there's no rush from the clubs point of view.

All of Reid, Greenwood, Moore and Young got through their VFL game unscathed.

Once again, we have a reasonably healthy list, which bodes well for us heading in to the second half of the season. A welcome relief from the horrors of 2012-14 :rainbow:

Surprised but happy to hear about Freeman. Can't wait to see him tearing up the grass and hopefully see some egg on the McCarthy lovers. Although im aware the egg will most likely be on mine

Awesome that Freeman is only a couple of weeks away. Hopefully they've fixed the issue that was inhibiting his return from his hamstring issues and we'll start to see what he can do in the VFL with his body right.

Sinclair back soon is good too, but think he'd be (welcome) depth now.

Very happy for them to be ultra conservative with Grundy.

Poor old Ramsay got injured at the wrong time :(
Shaz coming back, Ox stepping up, Sinclair will somehow get a game.
Was starting to play good footy!

Poor old Ramsay got injured at the wrong time :(
Shaz coming back, Ox stepping up, Sinclair will somehow get a game.
Was starting to play good footy!
Yeah, I liked what I was seeing from him in the last few games - hopefully he'll get back amongst them in the last six weeks or so.

So if Freeman gets back in the next couple of weeks, does that mean it's been 15-16 months to fully recover from that hamstring strain at Geelong in the NAB Challenge last year? o_O

He's probably a bit pissed off with out medical department!

Yeah, I liked what I was seeing from him in the last few games - hopefully he'll get back amongst them in the last six weeks or so.

Reckon he's a Bucks favourite... he'll get back in

So if Freeman gets back in the next couple of weeks, does that mean it's been 15-16 months to fully recover from that hamstring strain at Geelong in the NAB Challenge last year? o_O

He's probably a bit pissed off with out medical department!
Think it was slightly more than a strain...

Exactly. Has he been mis-managed?

I'd be a bit shitty if I was Freeman
Doubtful. Tendon damage can be notoriously difficult to deal with in rehab, and the club was likely being conservative to try and avoid recurring issues like Rioli has had through his career. As for his recent surgery? Scar tissue attached to his hamstring. Not much they can do to avoid that happening unfortunately, and the fact that they were on top of it so quickly is a credit to our fitness dept.

It's easy to label a long term injury as mismanagement from the safety of your couch...

No mention of De Goey's hand...

Probably a good thing. A dislocated finger is usually not major enough to require a week off, although I can understand him being subbed if he was in discomfort.

I'd say with the bye, he's not even worth rating a mention in the injury report.

Let that be a lesson for you kids. Don't play for free kicks

^
Really poor comments re Thomas. Shit news. I wanted him to get back to his best, don't think he'll even get back to his 2012 form now.

^
Really poor comments re Thomas. Shit news. I wanted him to get back to his best, don't think he'll even get back to his 2012 form now.

He was a campaigner in the normal world people don't feel sorry for campaigners

^

He acted like a toss bag when he left us. **** him. I couldn't care less that he's a premiership player. Same as that flog up Brisbane way.