injury update

• Thread starter Thread starter Rodan#18.

Heard Dutchy will play in the reserves reserves this week as Coburg has a bye, just to give him some match fitness. IMHO we should lay off Dutchy for about another 5 weeks before he is recalled to the line up, anywhere between round 8 - 10 should be plenty of time for him to hit his straps. By then we will only be 2 or 3 weeks off seeing Ottens returning, Draga should be making an impact either with us or the ressies, and things will be looking sweet :D

Changes this week

In: Richo
Out: King

After that who else do we take out for players like Dutchy, Otto, Krakouer etc? Looks like our depth is really good atm.

Originally posted by Tigerbob

Changes this week

In: Richo
Out: King

After that who else do we take out for players like Dutchy, Otto, Krakouer etc? Looks like our depth is really good atm.

I wouldn't mind seeing Krakka come in for Pettifer! Keen also to see how Fleming goes on a dry day. Just sat down and quickly worked out my dream team for this season. I doubt this team will ever get the chance to line up but here goes:

B. Newman Gaspar Zantuck

H.B. Chaffey Holland A.Kellaway

C. Tivendale Coughlan Fiora

H.F. Bowden Richo Campbell

F. Cameron Otto Krakouer

R. Stafford Johnson Rodan

I/C. Hilton, Hall, Blumfield, ?

Still need a quality crumbing forward to rotate with Rodan. Hopefull when Krakouer is fit he will be rotating up the ground more. Might also be a need for a designated Tagger/Stopper on the bench. Last spot to one of the following who puts there hand up:

Rogers - can't question his endeavour, just his kicking skills. Versatility also his strong point. Can play up forward, down back and also as a tagger (just not on Buckley or Voss pls).

Houlihan - versatility his strong point. Up forward he can do the amazing and also mess up the easy ones. Off halfback he always looks to kick to someone inside and tends to straighten us up. Has the skills and ability, main flaw is probably his lack of intensity/hardness.

Dunc - really struggling with injuries. Time catching up but reluctant to write him off.

Dragga - could be the crumbing forward we need, and if I was Dragga this is the spot I'd be eyeing off, can't see him forcing his way into the midfield till he has alot of serious game time under his belt if at all.

Fleming - definitely put his hand up on the weekend. Need to see more of him but his enthusiasm, hardness and endeavour were tremendous and infectious. Could turn into effective stopper but I would prefer if he was just told to get the ball himself. Apparently he's not the most skilled bloke so hard to see both Fleming and Dunc in same side

Pettifer - Has (wasted) talent however still more interested in staging for free kicks than actually winning the ball legitimately. Probably vying with Houlihan as the most talented of the guys on the fringe.

Reckon the following can only force their way into the team if we suffer some injuries:

Nicholls - has some talent but looks lazy and slow, reckon alot of his injuries come about because he doesn't put in the hard work on the track or in the gym. Spud said they need a couple of mature age recruits with the bodies of men. (i.e Nicholls and Fleming) Nicholls has the frame of a pie eating 16 yo. so doesn't make sense. Will go the same way as Hudson.

Mills - interesting to see if he gets anymore chances, first 2 games for Coburg have been good but can't see where he could force his way into above team

McGrath - has to get a chance soon, can't imagine they'll get rid of him. There could be a spot for him if he shows he can consistently crumb from the talls however if he continues to fly for everything then I don't they'll give him a go. Still learning, still young.

Shultz - If Holland or Otto don't recover fully then hopefully he'll get a chance before Vardy

Sigthorpe - too early to tell, will be there next year however at the moment he's struggling to get game time with Coburg so no chance to play senior footy this year.

Vardy - insurance, if Shultz shows a bit hoping he will get a chance before Vardy. For insurance reasons I wouldn't be surprised if he's still on our list next year

King - might have played his last senior game, should have excelled in the wet conditions last weekend

Hyde - Seeyu

Biddiscombe - Seeyu

hows draga looking any1 know? has he had any game time for coburg yet? i heard a few mnths back his aim was to play 22 games this season whether it be for reserve reserves, reserves or seniors, good luck to him!!! i hope he gets back to what he can become!

one eyed tiger

Originally posted by One-eyed Tiger

All in all..that's a pretty fair analysis there.

Wouldn't kill us to keep Vardy next year.

He's one of 9 talls. We have the least no. of talls in the AFL.

St.k have 10 ...Geel actually have 19. Most have 13-14.

Re: one eyed tiger

Originally posted by Rodan#18.
All in all..that's a pretty fair analysis there.

Wouldn't kill us to keep Vardy next year.

on that theory rodan old mate trading bourke seems short sighted[pardon the punt].

if we had to rely on vardy then we have huge problems.

cheers!

so does any1 know if draga has had any game time yet?

vardy, bourke, both hacks, waste of space, talbot wouldve been a better short term bet for this season........

one-eyed interesting what u say abt nichols, i was speaking to johnny barker over new years and he says nichols is a gun waiting to go off, hes just been stiff with injuries and always tried to come back too early - too hard on the track and subsequently kept getting re-injured......... by all accounts hes a real fiesty one who is fanatical abt getting stuck into it, hope we get to see what he has to offer pretty soon.........

abt ure dream team, i would rather hilton and blumfield in there above tivendale and krak, rory is looking in good touch and blumfield is just lacking fitnes b/c of Osteitis, he should be right in a mnth although he wont set the competition alight this year after a non-existant pre-season. still its not a bad side talent wise is it? why shouldnt we expect that side to make the 8

Originally posted by tigerT
so does any1 know if draga has had any game time yet?

vardy, bourke, both hacks, waste of space, talbot wouldve been a better short term bet for this season........

one-eyed interesting what u say abt nichols, i was speaking to johnny barker over new years and he says nichols is a gun waiting to go off, hes just been stiff with injuries and always tried to come back too early - too hard on the track and subsequently kept getting re-injured......... by all accounts hes a real fiesty one who is fanatical abt getting stuck into it, hope we get to see what he has to offer pretty soon.........

Haven't sighted Dragga down at Coburg yet.

The only thing keeping Vardy on our list is his height. He'll never be a superstar just an honest toiler. He's not on big bucks ala Biddiscombe, so I can't see any harm in keeping him on as insurance so long as he doesn't stifle the development of someone like Shultz. Would hate to end up in a situation like the Doggies. Once we get rid of a few overpriced hacks at the end of this season we may even be able to have a full list again. Mind you if we picked up another tall in the next draft I would have to rethink my stance.

Regarding Nicholls, I hope you're right, and I agree that he does look both feisty and talented, but for someone who is in his 4th year now (and spent a bit of time on the sidelines with hamstring and groin injuries) he just doesn't look like he's been near the weights room. He's only 183cm and not blessed with pace so I would have thought he might have worked a bit more on his strength. Worrying that he missed some of the preseason with injury also. Fingers crossed that he has an injury free run and shows us all what he is capable of.

I agree with that analysis as well. Found much mirth in the commentary on Billy Nicholls!:D

Just wonder if Rogers problems with kicking are really decision making problems rather than physical flaws. I mean, you don't expect Duncan to hit a target because he doesn't have the kicking co-ordination down pat.

Rogers on the other hand, is a beautiful looking kick, striking it nicely, getting a good low trajectory, plenty of power and range...

... and missing by 10 metres!

(Reminds me of *****e Mikes description of Bowden - a good looking kick as opposed to a good kick!)

Originally posted by One-eyed Tiger
Haven't sighted Dragga down at Coburg yet.

The only thing keeping Vardy on our list is his height. He'll never be a superstar just an honest toiler. He's not on big bucks ala Biddiscombe, so I can't see any harm in keeping him on as insurance so long as he doesn't stifle the development of someone like Shultz. Would hate to end up in a situation like the Doggies. Once we get rid of a few overpriced hacks at the end of this season we may even be able to have a full list again. Mind you if we picked up another tall in the next draft I would have to rethink my stance.

Regarding Nicholls, I hope you're right, and I agree that he does look both feisty and talented, but for someone who is in his 4th year now (and spent a bit of time on the sidelines with hamstring and groin injuries) he just doesn't look like he's been near the weights room. He's only 183cm and not blessed with pace so I would have thought he might have worked a bit more on his strength. Worrying that he missed some of the preseason with injury also. Fingers crossed that he has an injury free run and shows us all what he is capable of.

Ive seen him play (Dragga) and he looked fine. Mind you I only watched the first half.

Just a question, is Dragga a left footer and which knee did he injure?

Originally posted by rfctigerarmy
Ive seen him play (Dragga) and he looked fine. Mind you I only watched the first half.

Just a question, is Dragga a left footer and which knee did he injure?
I'm nearly 100% sure he is a right footer but i don't know which knee he injured. Did he injury the same knee the second time around or was it the other one?

im almost 100% sure hes a right footer, cant remember if hes now done both knees or the same knee twice

Right foot kick!

Busted left knee twice!

Unlike Nicholls Dragga has used his time on the sidelines constructively in the gym to put on a handy 10kg. (Thats when he wasn't watching soapies).:D

Could be our "recruit" of the year. Keen to hear if anyone else has heard how his progress is going?

Re: Re: coburg ressies

Originally posted by Rodan#18.
Dutchy ; dragga ; krak'r all get through the coburg ressies game ok...oh yeah ...and they won.

First win wasnt it this year? I have no idea whats going on. www.coburgtigers.com.au hasnt been updated for months, the vfl site says:

BYE

Springvale
Coburg Tigers Northern Bullants

Any news like who kick the goals or best for Coburg?