Ins and Outs Round 2 vs Essendon

• Thread starter Thread starter YelloMit

I thought he was too, but I havn't tuned into 6PR this W/E.

I also thought Des was pretty good. He at least tried to move the ball a bit faster and sent a few long kicks into the forward line.

Duffield is great so long as we don't have any issues with the ball being handed directly to the opposition on a regular basis. It's not good enough to carry players like that anymore. If we are going to challenge for a flag we need players who can hit a target more often than not.

duffield was one of our best i thought he should keep his spot Headland should be dropped he gets alot of the ball but does nothing with it.

Im assuming you didnt watch the game if you think Duffield was one of our best players yesterday. Was good for Port i suppose.

I also thought Des was pretty good. He at least tried to move the ball a bit faster and sent a few long kicks into the forward line.

Duffield is great so long as we don't have any issues with the ball being handed directly to the opposition on a regular basis. It's not good enough to carry players like that anymore. If we are going to challenge for a flag we need players who can hit a target more often than not.

I agree , but I reckon Duff should get another run. The pace of the game was probably a bit of an eye opener for him and He will probably adapt.
It appears to me He is more better across half forward than half back.

Most of his clangers came when in defence.

He did do some excellent things amonst all the clangers.

I agree. No question about keeping Des in. At least he can deliver a decent ball to the forward line.

I agree Ripper (which I don't think has happened after a loss before :D ). Duffman's skills have been his greatest asset in his previous games, hopefully his poor kicking yesterday was a one off. We may see Duffield at half back again next week though, Davey and Jetta looked dangerous today, and there is also Lovett and Lovett-Murray to cover. Their group of small forwards will guarantee that Walker stays in the side too.

should be a interesting game i guys, will be interesting to see soloman Vs lovett murry, McPhee, Mcveigh and welsh :)

Campbell in for sure.

Duffield I am willin to give another chance to, and J-Lo I still believe adds something.

I pray we dont get desperate and include bloody Gilmore.

Geez some of you are harsh on Duff. I thought he was one of our best too. His disposal's never been a problem before so he'll bounce back.

Watched the Dons game and they've got some real pace around the ground. Guys like Walker and Hayden are going to be very important to quell some of their speedsters. We're really going to have to win the ball out of the centre or we're going to be chasing tail all day.

I haven't heard how I guys went in the WAFL yet but Dunn seems the likeliest to come in. Murphy out with JLo spending more time up forward maybe. CC will probably want Carr straight back in though. Knowing our luck we may need him to replace Crowley once the tribunal's finished with us.

Essendon now have 3 pretty dangerous small forwards with Jetta, Davey, and midfielder/forward Lovett. We struggled to contend with ports small forwards, in particular Walker struggled on Rodan in the air when it mattered. i think we need 1 extra small defender, and also to possibly replace Walker. In the intraclub Dunn played on Farmer with some success, but Jeff may not have been trying very hard. So maybe Dunn in, Walker out. Also Campbell in, Murphy out. And Carr in for Crowley or Bell if required. I reckon stick with Duffield for a few games at least, I think he will adapt and be quality

I'm not too sure about Duff. I can't fault his determination or ability to win the ball, but to me his disposal in a lot of the pre-season games was way below par as well. I'd give him one more chance at best. If he has a high clanger count against Essendon, send him back to the WAFL until he sorts it out. We've got players like Drum who deserve a go and definitely don't have issues with their disposal. I just don't think we can afford to carry someone with such poor skills.

After seeing todays game, I think Freo need to field their quickest practical side. I wouldnt be dropping Crowley. I haven't seen the incident or even know why Pav was reported, but he will be a huge blow for you if he is suspended. With Pav, Taz and Solly, Freo might just have the firepower to compete with Essendon's defence, which absolutely fired today.

Crowley laid a bump with some contact to the head and that is why he may be missing, there is no chance of him being dropped.

The game will be won and lost out of the middle.

Crowley laid a bump with some contact to the head and that is why he may be missing, there is no chance of him being dropped.

The game will be won and lost out of the middle.

I didn't think he was in that bad form that's why it surprised me when people were talking of him being missing.

The thing that may save him is that he was coming in from the side when he laid the bump - there was no front-on contact.

Johnno seemed to come in from the side too...

I'm pretty pessimistic about this, I reckon he'll be offered a week or two. Mind you I've been wrong about almost every decision handed down this year. The chaos theory probably has a better chance of predicting tribunal outcomes.

duffield was one of our best i thought he should keep his spot Headland should be dropped he gets alot of the ball but does nothing with it.

????

This comment bears no resemblance to the game that was actually played on the weekend. Duffield made quite a few skill errors, but from where I sat still seemed reasonable, and as a developing player should keep his spot. Headland had a good game. There is no way that he would be dropped, and I would be very curious who you would be bringing in for him? M Carr? Our other tall running midfielders?

how did cook go in the WAFL?

Surprisingly, he did not line up for Perth on Saturday. His ankle must not have been up to it yet. Perth have the bye next week so he will have to play for the WP ressies if he wants match time (sacriledge!). I imagine he will do some damage to the opposition in that game :)

For what it's worth I thought Duffield showed some promising signs on Saturday. Made some skill errors, yet funnily enough at other times I was impressed with his composure for a young bloke.

I'd be more worried about an experienced player like McManus' skill errors than a young bloke who showed a real willingness to find the footy.

Realistically 7 clangers for Duffield from 22 possies, no worse really than 4 from Mundy from only 11, hell even Pavlich made 5 from 18. I think he'll be OK.

Oh, and for what it's worth...if Pavlich goes I'll be as p!ssed as you blokes (and ladies)....would be a sad indictment on where footy is in 2007.

Agree BK, Duff showed promise. He was getting plenty of it which is a great sign, but I got a bit of a Bandy flashback when he kept taking on the tackler. Hopefully he will learn from this... unlike Bandy.

For what it's worth I thought Duffield showed some promising signs on Saturday. Made some skill errors, yet funnily enough at other times I was impressed with his composure for a young bloke.

I'd be more worried about an experienced player like McManus' skill errors than a young bloke who showed a real willingness to find the footy.

Realistically 7 clangers for Duffield from 22 possies, no worse really than 4 from Mundy from only 11, hell even Pavlich made 5 from 18. I think he'll be OK.

Oh, and for what it's worth...if Pavlich goes I'll be as p!ssed as you blokes (and ladies)....would be a sad indictment on where footy is in 2007.

Off the top of my head I think, Macca only made three clangers from 28 possies. Not too bad. Unfairly targetted imo.

Agree BK, Duff showed promise. He was getting plenty of it which is a great sign, but I got a bit of a Bandy flashback when he kept taking on the tackler. Hopefully he will learn from this... unlike Bandy.

Fair go ...Pav has sconned someone in the face in a marking contest whilst running the same way as the ball. I don't believe it was malicious but it was reckless. With any luck he will be given a week and downgraded to a reprimand with a guilty plea. Its not reasonable to suggest he should get off because he is Pav though.