Ins and Outs V Carlton

Lockyer24 said:
Thats what Id like to see, but I think it will just be Dutchy in for Davies
did clokey really have that good a game? coz if he did then maybe he should be replacing his brother. i just feel that trav needs to find abit of confidence in the 2's! Last time richards spot came under fire, i thought he responded well with a good display in the ruck! i dont know i just think that he has missed alot of footy and that he will need time to recover

I agree if he did play well replace Travis he's a weak link atm. He has to be in the ruch thou he's too slow to play anywhere else on the ground.

While we are winning we can afford to carry Richards and T Cloke. They are the future of the club and need every opportunity to string a lot of games together.

SlyDer said:
I agree if he did play well replace Travis he's a weak link atm. He has to be in the ruch thou he's too slow to play anywhere else on the ground.

Have you been to a game this year or know anything about footy?

Travis Cloke might not be taking 15 marks, having 15 possessions and kicking two or three goals every week, that is not his job! He is important to the structure of the forward line. We are the highest scoring team in the competition, because our forward line is open and we are moving the ball from defence, through the midfield and to our two key targets in Rocca and Tarrant QUICKLY! T3 is pushing up the ground providing an option for our defenders to kick too, providing a contest EVERY time. This creates SPACE behind him. Forcing his opponent to go with him, therefore not zoning back waiting for the ball to be delivered further up the ground.

Its about STRUCTURE and the PROCESSES Mick has the Magpies following, so T3 doesn't have to dominate to fulfil his role in the forward line.

I might add he could be a genuine CHB later on in his career.

Davies is nothing more than an honest battler with average skills. Players like that don't deliver you premierships - you can carry one or two perhaps, but we already have a few other players that whilst they play important roles, have deficiencies in their games. Better sides will expose us if we have too many of these battler types.

I think selection will be as simple as:

In: Dutchy
Out: Davies

I would like to see Pendles come in, but I can't see who else looks likely to be dropped. Stretch perhaps, but that leaves us short on talls, and we'd prefer to keep Pebbles up forward rather than having him help out Rogan in the ruck in the absence of Stretch.

Coming back from such a serious injury, I see no sense in bringing in Rhyce so soon with a tough road trip coming up against the Eagles soon. Ease him back into it after that match and he should be hitting his straps later in the season, which might be a good thing if some of our other young midfielders are starting to drop off as the seasons wears on.

The other option might be to give the likes of Sparky, Heater and Trav a week off at some stage - not drop them to Willi, but a week off just to refresh them. I think that will become a more common tactic by all clubs in the future - a rest/rotation policy amongst younger players to prevent them being burnt out by the time the business end of the season comes around.

All you Davis loving peeps....if he strings 3 or 4 games in a row where he gathers 20 possessions or so and uses it, I'll be the first to say play him every week.

Until then he is, and I believe will always be, a 1 game in 6 enigma.

hotpie said:
While we are winning we can afford to carry Richards and T Cloke. They are the future of the club and need every opportunity to string a lot of games together.
Travis I wholeheartedly agree with. Richards is another matter. We have to make a call on his future. I don’t think he’s the answer at this point so I think we need to look for answers elsewhere while sending Richards back to see how he handles VFL level. Unfortunately our alternatives are not great. We probably have only 1. Give Cameron Cloke a change to ruck the first bounce and tag with Fraser. If Cameron can’t cut it he probably gets chopped at years end of maybe after 1 more year. Ditto Richards. There are only so many list spots and we currently tie too many up with non effective ruckmen.

MarkT said:
Richards is another matter. We have to make a call on his future. .

Best way to make a call is to give him at least half a season on the ones. He is a genuine ruckman - the only one we have - and they take time. C-Clo has hardly set the world on fire in the seconds, up one week down the next.

Agree Cam has not set the world on fire but we really need a bigger framed ruckman. Josh and Richards have the same weakness against bigger bodies. I don’t think you should really play 2 similar ruckman at the best of times.

MarkT said:
Travis I wholeheartedly agree with. Richards is another matter. We have to make a call on his future. I don’t think he’s the answer at this point so I think we need to look for answers elsewhere while sending Richards back to see how he handles VFL level. Unfortunately our alternatives are not great. We probably have only 1. Give Cameron Cloke a change to ruck the first bounce and tag with Fraser. If Cameron can’t cut it he probably gets chopped at years end of maybe after 1 more year. Ditto Richards. There are only so many list spots and we currently tie too many up with non effective ruckmen.

Richards when you boil it down next to Josh is our only real effective ruckman! open your eyes|! He provides a good contest and when he get an effective tap ( usually 50% of the time it is to our advantage and we get the clearance and usually results in a goal. It's been years since I could say that. He is a beam pole and does not look supreme but does his job. I like Cameron but he is not as effective as Richards and would not win enough ball for the moment (lets not forget Cam is a little over 20). Lets see what happens against a top side like the Eagles before we start chopping up this line up that has looked pretty good of late.

Mossi said:
Richards when you boil it down next to Josh is our only real effective ruckman! open your eyes|! He provides a good contest and when he get an effective tap ( usually 50% of the time it is to our advantage and we get the clearance and usually results in a goal. It's been years since I could say that. He is a beam pole and does not look supreme but does his job. I like Cameron but he is not as effective as Richards and would not win enough ball for the moment (lets not forget Cam is a little over 20). Lets see what happens against a top side like the Eagles before we start chopping up this line up that has looked pretty good of late.
I must watch different games to some people. The combined career winning ruck games of our ruckman is about half a dozen.

Richards has been disappointing to date this year. He has been ineffective but what’s worse is he is badly beaten by the same ruckman that beat Josh – the bigger bodied blokes. Up against a Keating type, who shut us out of the 2003 GF from the moment the umpire held the ball aloft the first time, Richards offers nothing after Josh except fresh legs to get beaten. Richards doesn’t offer enough around the ground t justify not winning the ruck. For that reason he has to be well behind Josh.

It seems pointless to me to play two such similar ruckmen unless we think a bit of time will see Richards assume the mantle and allow Josh to play elsewhere. So far I haven’t seen any indication from Richards that he has the ability. We’ve gone on spec and hope while he’s been injured. As for Josh, after 6 years he should be flogging more than half the ruckmen in the comp and he isn’t. He just isn’t a ruckman. He doesn’t have the body or the demeanour for it. Cameron at least ha the demeanour and the body if not the height and athleticism. He at least offers an alternative style to Josh.

Paracetamol Merchant said:
Richards has been fine in the limited game time he's got.

I think some people are just looking for players to pick on.
Mate I’m not looking for players to pick I’m looking for premierships. Not solid efforts but premierships and when we miss we have to look for and eliminate the reasons. That’s what teams that win flags do. It’s not historically what we have done and not what our coach has done since 2002.

MarkT said:
Mate I’m not looking for players to pick I’m looking for premierships. .

Dropping a genuine tap ruckman after five adequate games, with a lot of bench time due to the fact the Josh is back in a big way, is not what I'd call looking for premierships. Looking for premierships involves a bit of faith and a bit of long term planning especially with your talls. Faith has brought us a renewed Dane Swan, and a reinvigorated and dangerous Ryan Lonie. Faith has given Harry O'Brien a run ahead of the superior player in Shane Wakelin. Faith has Thomas in the ones' despite his skinny boned body. And Maxwell's scratchy early season form has been forgiven, because MM has faith in the kid. Not to mention Trav, who is not doing enough to justify his spot, but wont be dropped because he's on a learning curve.

Clark Keating is a good ruckman...I never thought him premiership material but he found himself in the right form at the right place in the right circumstance. So he dominates two grand finals against us and looks likes a champ, which he isnt (he cant stay on the park for one). Josh is our best option...Richards is our second best (besides Anthony). Cant fall into the trap of comparing every ruckman to Cox and Everitt.

I'd give Richards til the mid-season break to improve.

sloth6 said:
Have you been to a game this year or know anything about footy?

Travis Cloke might not be taking 15 marks, having 15 possessions and kicking two or three goals every week, that is not his job! He is important to the structure of the forward line. We are the highest scoring team in the competition, because our forward line is open and we are moving the ball from defence, through the midfield and to our two key targets in Rocca and Tarrant QUICKLY! T3 is pushing up the ground providing an option for our defenders to kick too, providing a contest EVERY time. This creates SPACE behind him. Forcing his opponent to go with him, therefore not zoning back waiting for the ball to be delivered further up the ground.

Its about STRUCTURE and the PROCESSES Mick has the Magpies following, so T3 doesn't have to dominate to fulfil his role in the forward line.

I might add he could be a genuine CHB later on in his career.
exactly! He is not the focal point of our attacks and therefore does not get much of the ball

MarkT said:
Mate I’m not looking for players to pick I’m looking for premierships. Not solid efforts but premierships and when we miss we have to look for and eliminate the reasons. That’s what teams that win flags do. It’s not historically what we have done and not what our coach has done since 2002.

Well you are a fool.

We damn near won a premiership with bloody Steve McKee doing the taps.

But I think the thing you have to look at is, whether or not Richards is as good as other back-up rucks going around.

Who can we think of? Seaby, Blake, Campbell. I don't think he's outclassed in that respect.

Paracetamol Merchant said:
Well you are a fool.

We damn near won a premiership with bloody Steve McKee doing the taps.

That's the problem attitude at our club - too many people that think nearly winning a flag is some sort of achievement - it's not worth a pinch of sh1t.

Instead of marvelling how well we did to get so close with McKee in the ruck, we should be demanding answers as to which bozo is responsible for all our hopes being pinned on such an average ruckman in the biggest game of the year.

Swap McKee with Everitt and the Pies take home the silverware - simple as that.

And Everitt was up for grabs at one stage, make no mistake.

Ins and Outs V Carlton