Ins & Outs V Richmond

• Thread starter Thread starter E Shed

Correct me if i'm wrong but wasnt Steven Dodd on Embley for atleast the 1st half?
If it was MC Hammer then maybe he should stay as he is a very very good tagger but hes hopeless when he gets the pill.

Who did Matt get against Hawthorn does anyone remember? Mitchell, Hodge??

I agree with Harvey`s comments about team selection over the last coupla weeks.
He wants the team to settle as much as possible so the structures have more time to develop etc, team stability, don`t drop or promote players just for the hell of it. Only when necessary

On that note I think
- M. Carr plays a team role tagging his man, disposal is dodgy but I think improved in the derby compared to previous 2 weeks
- Peake hasn`t been in great form since, well, 2006, but he improves the look of the side, breaks the lines a bit and has a tonne of upside, needs another chance to find some form

So, In - Solly, in our top 5 players IMO

Out - Spud

Matt Carr spent more time on embley than dodd did. although there may have been occasions when changes were made. im no matt carr lover, but i reckon he should take the credit for that one,

anyway maybe you are right, maybe crowley can do carr's job but i like the way crowley was attacking on the weekend, he gives us another optiona nd i wouldnt want to take away from that.

ive been thinking though, who would matt carr tag this weekend? the only players you would tag would be foley, deledio or nathan brown (who has been in ordinary form) i would think hayden could take brown, and foley and deledio would be too quick for matt carr, so maybe there isnt a position for him this week, but i reckon in general he is a worthy spot winner

Would like to see Hinkley Foster and Obrien in this week. All played good in WAFL. Give them an opportunity now its only Richmond and we play at home as well. Mcpharlin in as well Out:???????? Let you guys decide

Matt Carr only spent something like 53% of the game on the ground, hopefully this is an indication that the match committee are losing faith in him.

Would like to see Hinkley Foster and Obrien in this week. All played good in WAFL. Give them an opportunity now its only Richmond and we play at home as well. Mcpharlin in as well Out:???????? Let you guys decide

And Solomon so that is 5 changes. :eek:

Apparently Foster played in the reserves. There's no way known he'll play this week, that was his first game for the year. At least a month in the WAFL is needed.

I think Tarrant will definitely come in for Murphy. Lock it in.

Solomon needs to come back in as well. I would drop M. Carr for him. But we all know M. Carr is a 'protected species,' so perhaps Grover will go out with his injury.

McPharlin must come in. I would drop Peake, to send a message to him that he MUST improve his disposal. He has tailed off dramatically since his high point during our 9 game winning streak in 2006.

IN: Tarrant, Solomon, McPharlin

OUT: Murphy (form/inj), Peake, Grover/M.Carr

I think we will make Richmond piss on Sunday. They were weak in the first half against Collingwood, and average thereafter. Those girls Simmonds and Polak should be reminded of their mercenary ways.

I think Tarrant will definitely come in for Murphy. Lock it in.

Solomon needs to come back in as well. I would drop M. Carr for him. But we all know M. Carr is a 'protected species,' so perhaps Grover will go out with his injury.

McPharlin must come in. I would drop Peake, to send a message to him that he MUST improve his disposal. He has tailed off dramatically since his high point during our 9 game winning streak in 2006.

IN: Tarrant, Solomon, McPharlin

OUT: Murphy (form/inj), Peake, Grover/M.Carr

I think we will make Richmond piss on Sunday. They were weak in the first half against Collingwood, and average thereafter. Those girls Simmonds and Polak should be reminded of their mercenary ways.

Grover??? Why???

Matt Carr smashed Embley in the Derby.Peake i thought was pretty good.

I would love to see just one change this week.

McPharlin in for Murphy.

Thought everyone played pretty well in the derby. In the firing line is the obvious guy duffman but i still think he doesnt deserve to be dropped. No one should be a walk up starter, spots should be earned. Maybe solly will be unlucky this week. Although Black wasnt at his best, still giving away 50's

M Carr played abit on Fletcher aswell who also did nothing. I think he does his job well but we have better players missing out. He most prob go good against Tigers.

Foster cant come in after playing WAFL 2's as how is that sending the right msg to others.
A Browne had a pretty big game and has pace he also could be in contention.
Ibbo only had 16 touches, dont think that warrants selection when Browne had 28 i think.
J Head has played a couple of good solid games in a row, he also would be putting some pressure on.
Brock had a very good game but think he needs atleast another week.

Ins-Mcpharlin, Solly and Tarrant

Outs-M Carr, Peake, Gilmore

Please people can we not say its only the Tigers, last time i looked they have the same # of wins as us. With complacency like that no wonder we lose games. You need to treat every team as the #1 rated team so you give them enuff respect to be able to put in a decent effort and win.

M Carr played abit on Fletcher aswell who also did nothing. I think he does his job well but we have better players missing out. He most prob go good against Tigers.

Foster cant come in after playing WAFL 2's as how is that sending the right msg to others.
A Browne had a pretty big game and has pace he also could be in contention.
Ibbo only had 16 touches, dont think that warrants selection when Browne had 28 i think.
J Head has played a couple of good solid games in a row, he also would be putting some pressure on.
Brock had a very good game but think he needs atleast another week.

Ins-Mcpharlin, Solly and Tarrant

Outs-M Carr, Peake, Gilmore

Please people can we not say its only the Tigers, last time i looked they have the same # of wins as us. With complacency like that no wonder we lose games. You need to treat every team as the #1 rated team so you give them enuff respect to be able to put in a decent effort and win.

Haha you want the 'right message sent to others' but want to retain Murphy and drop Gilmore. Please explain how that works? Surely if you think tarrant is a starter, Murphy would be the one to go.

After a win, everyone looks good. But IMO only MCarr, Murph and Peake look really shaky. And even though Johnno played his best game of the year, McKinley still looked their best option going forward.:eek:

It all depends on fitness. In all reality, at this point in time, Solly is the only automatic inclusion. Is Elvis right to play? Is Roger's knee ok? Is Taz up to it?

It's harsh to drop players (especially after a win,) but seriously, we're gonna have to drop one or 2 unlucky blokes every now and then to squeeze in our definites.

Assuming Elvis and Rog are fine, my changes would be thus:
INS: McPharlin, Solomon
OUTS: Peake, MCarr

Richmond has no obvious match-up for Matty, and either of Solly or Crowley can do that stopping job anyway. If Taz is ok to go, Murph makes way.

M Carr played abit on Fletcher aswell who also did nothing. I think he does his job well but we have better players missing out.

the most interesting thing on footy classified is the coach's votes it clearly shows that alot of the times players are doing a job that he's been asked and maybe mcarr is doinging that, having said that would still like to see him more effective ,also he didn't actually get votes so maybe that theorys out the window:rolleyes:

Please people can we not say its only the Tigers,

i agree complacancy can creep into a team when there playing a so called "struggling team" but i've always felt that we have a bad habit of if not losing only winning by 15 -25 pts and this after having a 30odd pt lead half way through when we should be going on and winning well and at the risk of getting ahead of myself we should win well this week if we are going to be a strong team!!!!

Agree that we shouldn't be complacent against Richmond, as so many posters on here seem to be.

Of course we will most likely win but you pick the best possible (fit) team each week.

Solomon, McPharlin (if fit) and Tarrant are all instant inclusions, as much as that frustrates me on Tarrant not working hard for his spot.

IN: Solomon, McPharlin, Tarrant
Out: Murphy, Peake, Matt Carr

I think this is the most likely scenario, the 3 in's are all obvious but who will miss out isn't so certain, except for probably Murph.

We should pick a team of all rookies and leave our highest paid players out because we can see players that are earning their keep that way. After all I would rather watch a cheaper player get 10 disposals, than a proven player get 13 disposals because that resembles more value.

Alternatively we should just pick local players regardless of key positions or game requirements because it is just nice to see those local boys in purple.

It is only Richmond after all... :rolleyes:

i agree complacancy can creep into a team when there playing a so called "struggling team" but i've always felt that we have a bad habit of if not losing only winning by 15 -25 pts and this after having a 30odd pt lead half way through when we should be going on and winning well and at the risk of getting ahead of myself we should win well this week if we are going to be a strong team!!!!

I agree - we rarely - if ever "put teams away". i can't remember the last game we won by over 70 points. The collingwood game here in like 2005 is the only one i can think of.

Or possibly better when Murphy is in?

or just a thought here, but could it be that we happened to play a fairly average oufit last game compared to games one and two.

I seem to remember Pavlich having one of his best years last year with Tarrant in the side.

I don't think that Solly shoul dget a walk up start (slthough he will cos of his relationship with Harvs) but I just reckon that it would be a good message to send in that if you get suspended then your place might not be there when you return, this would be especially important to players like Black and Solly.

Also, even though Peake didn't have a great game last week, I do belive that we need someone fast who has the ability to tag to match up ont he richmond speedster Jake King, who has shown that he is up to AFL standards and is going to cause us a few headaches, so if Peak has that job then we need another fast player in thwe likes of Ibbo and palmer to do the running for us. Sorry solly, your not too fast and we are at home so i'm afraid there's no room for you......please don't kill me

I don't think that Solly shoul dget a walk up start (slthough he will cos of his relationship with Harvs) but I just reckon that it would be a good message to send in that if you get suspended then your place might not be there when you return, this would be especially important to players like Black and Solly.

Where do people come up with carp like this? It's like people sit at home thinking up conspiracy theories that are the root of all evil at Freo. Connollys gone so we can't blame him anymore and Schwabs on his way out so it can't be his fault, oh look, there's Harvs, let's have a crack at him :rolleyes: Think back to round 22 last year Emo. Did Harvs let Solly off because he was his mate then? :thumbsd: