quad

Rookie
Apr 3, 2008
aspendale gardens vic
fitztroy
Hay boys does anyone know if they are playing inter league this year.

If so what would the format be, who would we play, how would we go and who would make the sides. 90% of div I players I would guess only some dingley
Players might get in out of the rest

.:confused::confused::confused::confused:

june 7th.....not sure if it's 100% confirmed but the rumor i heard was the sfl were to play efl....i believe that would be a flogging if it were to go through

the other rumor i heard is that it could be the second time ever that a player from div 3 gets picked ( the other was cassette a few years back)....i was not lucky enough to hear who it is that is in the mix, but i could hazard a guess

june 7th.....not sure if it's 100% confirmed but the rumor i heard was the sfl were to play efl....i believe that would be a flogging if it were to go through

the other rumor i heard is that it could be the second time ever that a player from div 3 gets picked ( the other was cassette a few years back)....i was not lucky enough to hear who it is that is in the mix, but i could hazard a guess
enlighten us... i would guess wilkinson

Fia Tootoo(kangaroos) played in either03 or 04 was best on ground for SFL by a mile in the swirling rain at moorabbin. Alot of big name Div 1 players mainly balwyn failed to get a sniff that night including Sav rocca's launching pad and anzac day specialist Matthew Banks.

I konw we have some good footballers in our league but lets be frank if the league put us up against the EFL we would get smashed and it would be a embarrassment for our league. We can,t help that they have more money and better players and player depth in the EFL.

Should play the MPNFL League we would go well against them i would back us to win.

I konw we have some good footballers in our league but lets be frank if the league put us up against the EFL we would get smashed and it would be a embarrassment for our league. We can,t help that they have more money and better players and player depth in the EFL.

Should play the MPNFL League we would go well against them i would back us to win.

when we used to play the ammos i'm fairly sure we usually came up against a mixture of b and c graders. i would assume of we played efl it would be a mixture of dive 3 & 4 and would be a good game.

are there any dominant ruckmen in divi 1?wilkin clearly stands out in divi 3 and i would assume he'd be one of the better ruckmen in the entire league but just wondering if divi 2 & 1 have any obvious choice ruckmen?

Lets get serious. No one from Div 3 would even get a look in. You have to remember these are the best players in Div 1, not just blokes who are Ok. Im sure that there are Div 3 players that would be serviceable Div 1 players, but there isnt one bloke would who star in Div 1 and thus be considered for interleague. The league is a hell of a lot better now than what it was when interleague was last played.

on_glove, Div 1 is littered with outstanding ruckman. Myles Quinn, Ewen McKenzie, Paul Wineberg, Ash Fernee and even old Matt McKenzie would all wipe the floor with Wilkin.

If we played the MPNFL it would be a very good game. I reckon we would just shade them

Morgan from Dingley would be in the mix and i would say brokes would play as well, both would get a game in any div one side.

morgan would not play ruck tho he would play CHF or CHB havent seen div 1 much but i would assum they would be bigger stonger and better ruckman out there than any div2 or div 3 player. if he was that good in the ruck he would not be playing div 3 ruckman are wonted everywere.

Lets get serious. No one from Div 3 would even get a look in. You have to remember these are the best players in Div 1, not just blokes who are Ok. Im sure that there are Div 3 players that would be serviceable Div 1 players, but there isnt one bloke would who star in Div 1 and thus be considered for interleague. The league is a hell of a lot better now than what it was when interleague was last played.

on_glove, Div 1 is littered with outstanding ruckman. Myles Quinn, Ewen McKenzie, Paul Wineberg, Ash Fernee and even old Matt McKenzie would all wipe the floor with Wilkin.

If we played the MPNFL it would be a very good game. I reckon we would just shade them
Superfreak i was associated with Clayton prior to going to Mt waverley and i can tell you Wilkin is equal of any Ruckman going around he would more than hold his own trust me, as far as playing a higher grade he has been offered plenty to leave but his character and loyalty has kept him at Mount and thats what helps Clubs survive.:thumbsu:

That is good to hear, i can only take your word on that as i have not seen him play.

blokes like that need to get more respect as money is starting to reck local footy, and clubs are loosing respect more and more each year.

This post is good as a talking point, but i don't think there is going to be an interleague game this year. Perhaps someone from the league can confirm.

Superfreak i was associated with Clayton prior to going to Mt waverley and i can tell you Wilkin is equal of any Ruckman going around he would more than hold his own trust me, as far as playing a higher grade he has been offered plenty to leave but his character and loyalty has kept him at Mount and thats what helps Clubs survive.:thumbsu:

Fair enough mate. Good to hear. Still doubt that he is a better ruckman than Quinn (WAFL rep. ruckman two years ago), E.McKenzie (gun), Fernee (on Adelaide's list).... that was the point i was making. Still think that no one from Div 3 would even get close. Dont think that anyone from Div 2 would cut it either. Dingley have some good players but no good enough to be in the Interleague team. Morgan would be emergency at best (plenty of better CHF/CHB's so he wouldnt get a game) and Brookes is a dime a dozen player in Div 1... plenty like him.

Just my two cents!!

Fair enough mate. Good to hear. Still doubt that he is a better ruckman than Quinn (WAFL rep. ruckman two years ago), E.McKenzie (gun), Fernee (on Adelaide's list).... that was the point i was making. Still think that no one from Div 3 would even get close. Dont think that anyone from Div 2 would cut it either. Dingley have some good players but no good enough to be in the Interleague team. Morgan would be emergency at best (plenty of better CHF/CHB's so he wouldnt get a game) and Brookes is a dime a dozen player in Div 1... plenty like him.

Just my two cents!!

i understand where you're coming from, I just haven't seen enough divi 1 games to know how he would compare to there ruckmen which is why I asked.

I think it is important to keep in mind that Wilkin is not just a ruckmen. I doubt he couldnt play in any position on the field. He is very mobile, and good below his knees, plus he is a good tackler too. Probably wouldnt dominate div 1 right now but give him a couple of years and i reckon he would be a shoo in for a rep side.

PS. I love you Jaz if you are reading this.

I think it is important to keep in mind that Wilkin is not just a ruckmen. I doubt he couldnt play in any position on the field. He is very mobile, and good below his knees, plus he is a good tackler too. Probably wouldnt dominate div 1 right now but give him a couple of years and i reckon he would be a shoo in for a rep side.

nothing against this wilkin bloke, im sure his a very good player. but the competition he is playing against would make him look much better than what he is. put him in div 1 and he still might be a good player but he wouldnt dominate like he would in div 3.

There are some very good div 3 players around

But i probaly agree, alot of players in div 3 are equal to those in div 1, but wont get a game because they are not playing div 1....... simple

Wilkin is a gun, but a WAFL rep player probaly has him covered

if he played wafl, whats he doing playing SFL???? how old is he??

There are some very good div 3 players around

But i probaly agree, alot of players in div 3 are equal to those in div 1, but wont get a game because they are not playing div 1....... simple

Wilkin is a gun, but a WAFL rep player probaly has him covered

if he played wafl, whats he doing playing SFL???? how old is he??

For the cash Madman!! He is at St Kilda City after all. Don't know how old he is, but Beetlejuice from Mordi (Ex-Moama ruckman) beat him last weekend.

The difference between 1st div and 3rd div is so large that if Wilkin was that good his team would have won the GF last year by 10 goals and he would have won the league b&f medal.

I watched both Div3 and Div1 Grand Finals and nobody in the Div 3 would come close to the two Div1 ruckmen. I doubt more than 2 or 3 would get a game warming the bench in the Div1 GF sides.

Agreed.
Wilkins ruck work isn't the greatest in my opinion. He wins every tap, but needs to hit more targets with them, but that will come with more development. But its his mobility and the work he does around the ground that makes him such a great player. IMO he could hold his own in div 1 at the moment, but wouldn't stand out. Give him a few more years and i think that might change. He has only been playing footy for 2 years, so there's heaps of improvement to come.

The difference between 1st div and 3rd div is so large that if Wilkin was that good his team would have won the GF last year by 10 goals and he would have won the league b&f medal.

I watched both Div3 and Div1 Grand Finals and nobody in the Div 3 would come close to the two Div1 ruckmen. I doubt more than 2 or 3 would get a game warming the bench in the Div1 GF sides.
Your kidding youself champ. You blokes in divvy one aren't the elitist footbalers that you think you are. i have played against Mimo, joyce and McKenzie and i am telling you now wilkinson is every bit as good as them and will only get better not sure if he is even twenty yet. Don't forget one player doesn't make up a team and i am preety sure that not even dean cox would be a ten goal differnece in that G.F result. By the way he came second in the B.F due to being in a good side and players taking votes off him where as jules smith had no competition in his own side. Maybe with mimo gone you blokes should give him a call;)

Who cares about the result lets just have a go and play them.The SFL needs to have respresentative footy on its calender and if players don't get behind it they won't bother in the future.Anyway how would this team go?
B:Cuy(Chelt)Szerzyen(Clay)Hislop(EB)
HB:Bruno(StK)Rajic(Clay)Roberts(Chels)
C:Barnes(StP)Flack(Chels)McIntrye(StP)
HF:Vassallo(Spring)Taranto(Chelt)James(StP)
F:Tasiyan(StK)Cassett(StK)Mark Jamieson(EB)
Foll:Quinn(StK)Ogier(Mordi)Zosens(StK)
Inter:Shalders(Chelt)Horler(Mordi)Fernee(TM)Wells(Springy)Kirkland(Mordi)Gallagher(Clay)Stinear(StK)Quinn(Ding)

Apologies to anyone who was left out but,that team would belt the Ammo's and be competetive against the Eastern.

Inter League