Interesting Stats

• Thread starter Thread starter MileHigh

I like the odd ones that seem to keep ringing true, like there is some trend that a team just can't seem to break.

Like Carlton has never won an interstate final, ever.

Who even counts stats? I've always wondered that.

Champion Data do it officially for the AFL. I believe they have a guy with binoculars who calls out the statistics live which is transcribed into numbers by a team of people with computers. I assume they also review the tapes of each game afterwards to make sure they didn't miss anything, or clarify rulings on things like tackles and so on. There's also statisticians for each club and they all have heaps of technology now to show information, all different types of statistics and metrics on performance, heat maps, GPS data, speed information and so on. It's one of the fatest growing aspects of AFL besides Sports Science/Medicine investment etc.

The other interesting thing is that Champion Data were founded by Ted Hopkins, a Carlton player famous for his legendary second half in the 1970 grand final in which he kicked 4 goals and help Carlton overcome a 44 point half-time defecit to win the flag against the filthy Pies.

Can we talk about what it is that Cam has been offering these past 4 matches that perhaps Warnock wasnt.

Over their past 4 games in the seniors -

Cam Wood - 15 marks, 29 kicks, 13 handballs, 95 hitouts, 9 I50s, 1 goal.
Robbie Warnock - 3 marks, 13 kicks, 10 handballs, 135 hitouts, 6 I50s, 1 goal.

These are primative stats and i dont have access to gps data, spoils, pressure acts etc and if anyone can supply let me know.

I know someone posted a month or so back that MM at a dinner said Warnock was not taking any marks and Cam Wood (from memory) came in the very next week. Certainly the number of marks taken and kicks is in Cam's favour. Wanorck clearly leads the hitouts, but obviously Mick is of the impression we are better advantaged losing a few hitouts to have someone who can cover the field, take marks and contribute to the structure/game plan as well as cut off/intercept mark.

When the best ruckmen in the league average around 30% of hit outs to advantage, that means Cam Woods making around (based on 30%) 28-29 hitouts to advantage vs Warnocks 40-41 per game. Thats 2.5 less hitouts to advantage per game we are losing to gain 5x the number of marks and 3x the number of kicks.

I am sure that Warnock due to his height is probably averaging more hitouts to advantage, but at least from a simplistic standpoint you can see the trade off here.

Are average rucks (inean on a statistical quota) overrated?there have been many games where the winning ruckman (statistically) is on losing team. I understand there are many variables like mids and forwards but yeah unless they are a grade consistent 1 goal every 1-2 games
Can we talk about what it is that Cam has been offering these past 4 matches that perhaps Warnock wasnt.

Over their past 4 games in the seniors -

Cam Wood - 15 marks, 29 kicks, 13 handballs, 95 hitouts, 9 I50s, 1 goal.
Robbie Warnock - 3 marks, 13 kicks, 10 handballs, 135 hitouts, 6 I50s, 1 goal.

These are primative stats and i dont have access to gps data, spoils, pressure acts etc and if anyone can supply let me know.

I know someone posted a month or so back that MM at a dinner said Warnock was not taking any marks and Cam Wood (from memory) came in the very next week. Certainly the number of marks taken and kicks is in Cam's favour. Wanorck clearly leads the hitouts, but obviously Mick is of the impression we are better advantaged losing a few hitouts to have someone who can cover the field, take marks and contribute to the structure/game plan as well as cut off/intercept mark.

When the best ruckmen in the league average around 30% of hit outs to advantage, that means Cam Woods making around (based on 30%) 28-29 hitouts to advantage vs Warnocks 40-41 per game. Thats 2.5 less hitouts to advantage per game we are losing to gain 5x the number of marks and 3x the number of kicks.

I am sue Warnock due to his height is probably averaging more hitouts to advantage, but at least from a simplistic standpoint you can see the trade off here.

From his 4 games this year, here are his averages:

Disposal Efficiency: 68.32%
Clearances:2.25
Rebound 50:0.75
One Percenters: 3.75
TOG:78.25

And game by game break down.

R18 v North: 90% DE, 2 Clearances, R50: 2, 1%ers:1, TOG: 77%
R19 v Freo: 53.8% DE, 3 Clearances, R50:1, 1%ers:6, TOG: 76%
R20 v GC: 54.5% DE, 2 Clearances, R50:0, 1%ers:1, TOG: 78%
R21 v Gee: 75% DE, 2 Clearances, R50:0, 1%ers: 7, TOG:82%

Compare that the Warnocks averages in the same stats:

Disposal Efficiency: 57.60%
Clearances:3.40
Rebound 50:0.90
One Percenters: 3.50
TOG:82

Bruce muttered how many games we've played last and the total of hundred point losses. It didn't ring true for me. Who knows the answer? I'll send it to Bruce.

I thought Bruce mentioned played somewhere over 2400 games and lost 11 by 100 or more points. I may have misheard but seems about right. Are you thinking more or less big losses Robbo's my hero ?

77' we copped a pounding at VFL Park v the Pies, '83 North beat us senseless at Arden St, 84/85 Essendon knocked the snot out of us at Windy Hill, and they broke Rod Ashmans jaw.

Pagan owns most.

Before last night we had only lost 11 games by 100 points or more. Only 4 of those were pre 2002. So 7 between 2002 and 2007. Last night was our 9th biggest loss.

from round 1 96 - round 22 2014 (434 games) we have 8 100 points or more loses and only 4 wins by 100 or more. During the same period we have won 39 games by 10 goals or more and lost 46 by 10 goals or more.

from round 1 2002 - round 22 2014 (291 games) we have 8 100 points or more loses and only wins 2 by 100 or more. we have also won 20 games by 10 goals or more and lost 38 by 10 goals or more.

Not directly related to your question as i didn't hear what Bruce said. So i just chose to do it from our last flag and then our first spoon.

Thanks to all. It didn't ring true because I don't think I've missed any of these and I started going to the footy in 1964.

I remember the pummelling at VFL Park, I was at Arden Street (and the return match in '84 when we slaughtered them at VFL Park), the Windy Hill clash - I think it was 'she'll be right, mate Terry Daniher who fixed up Rod Ashman and earned me a life ban from a members' area at Windy Hill when I vociferously attacked TD for the dog act, it's ok now the drugs have helped.

What became a blur was the dark era of the Pagan years. I always said he was the dumbest Premiership coach in history and was lucky he had Wayne Carey. I wasn't thrilled with his appointment because I didn't rate him.

Gees the 'Salary Cap' saga killed our proud history. I'm feeling a little sad and reflective now.:(