DMan 11

Just a heads up folks, game 1 is being shown on 7mate in 10 mins ( 3:40pm WST )

No dockers players representing but no doubt worth a look all the same

Can only hope this is the death knell for the series, I appreciate the skill of the Irish but the Aussies just don't give a **** and their skills are appalling. I don't even know half of these guys, Shaun Edwards? Ellis-Yolman? Jetta/Armstrong/NLM? Ash Mcgrath goal keeper? I can only assume the AFL must make a princely sum from the series.

Irish crowd completely unenthused as well.

I'm kinda happy we loss. If we're going to do this, we may as well send players who want to play and who deserve to be in the team, not just players based on their race/heritage. I mean come on, we got that quince Sharrod Wellingham representing our country, get stuffed, that's embarrassing.

The problem last series is that we fielded a side so poor Jake King got a game.

Unfortunately he'd be one of the better players in the lineup this morning so the problem wasn't really rectified. It's a shame because the games were pretty good fun to watch. Still remember Campbell Brown ironing out some poor Irish bloke, getting sent off and getting a standing ovation from the crowd on the Subiaco wing :D

i don't think it's segregation. it's no different to the indigenous side that plays richmond each preseason. those guys have a lot of pride in playing together.

Can only hope this is the death knell for the series, I appreciate the skill of the Irish but the Aussies just don't give a **** and their skills are appalling. I don't even know half of these guys, Shaun Edwards? Ellis-Yolman? Jetta/Armstrong/NLM? Ash Mcgrath goal keeper? I can only assume the AFL must make a princely sum from the series.

Irish crowd completely unenthused as well.

The players get a free holiday and so too do those pricks in the AFL and GAA. That's the only reason it exists.

The fact they played the first test in a town of about 5,000 people shows how shit the whole thing is.

get campbell brown, matt deboer, and some other rough and tough blokes, and just bash the poor guys i say ;p. Show em how to tackle properly. No disrespect to the indegenous intended but in general i'd say they're quick and flashy but not that great tacklers (arent going to hurt you - GENERALLY!!!) to me this gets rid of the only part of 'our game's' advantage, however i do think it's great that they get to represent our country. Just think it should be a mix, must have half and half in squad. Kepp your quick forward pockets and throw in some enforcers and we scare the shit outta them.

Yeah Troy Cook was soft and a terrible tackler.

hes the one i thought of when i said Generally. Im not trying to be racist or anything but you look at ours eg.
you got
1) Walters
2) Hill
3) Pearce
4) Johnson
5) Griffin
6) Simpson

You can surely see that majority of these guys are lightning and have incredible skills, but arent exactly the biggest (Muscle) or most agressive blokes on the field.

What about Pickett, Grover and a heap of other players.

im not saying its ALWAYS the case. But look at the side today. Jetta, Neade, even Wells, WELLLINGHAM, betts.
It's a huge generalisation i know, but atm playing in the afl i can;t think of one guy to the aggressive standard you have named. THEY'RE GREAT PLAYERS but use their natural pace to full advantage - as they should. Slower guys have to do the hard agressive tackles To get a game - as they should. Players play to their strengths and i think the fact that the indigenous are blessed with incredible pace and agility GENERALLY means they play a slightly more outside based game.

I know you can name heaps of tough ones, generally slower there. Just my opinion on it.

May not be a popular thought, but the whole idea (IMO) is offensive and patronising to our indigenous players. The fat controller and his cohorts at AFL House just saying "how can we find a way to try to make these players feel good about themselves as well as making us look like bloody good blokes? Ooh I know - let's just send them on a junket trip wearing the southern cross and to hell with whether they're all up to the standard of representing Australia as would normally befit a national team!"
I know we've sent some average teams previously. But at least it was the best available to be selected from 700+ players (after clubs send their stars for mysterious operations etc.) without any reference to race. Double standards just create yet more division.
Anyway, I will still watch the matches. But there's a bad taste in my mouth on this one nevertheless.

it's farcical from both sides as gaelic footy is currently going through its finals series, so the Irish can't field all their stars either.

May not be a popular thought, but the whole idea (IMO) is offensive and patronising to our indigenous players. The fat controller and his cohorts at AFL House just saying "how can we find a way to try to make these players feel good about themselves as well as making us look like bloody good blokes? Ooh I know - let's just send them on a junket trip wearing the southern cross and to hell with whether they're all up to the standard of representing Australia as would normally befit a national team!"
I know we've sent some average teams previously. But at least it was the best available to be selected from 700+ players (after clubs send their stars for mysterious operations etc.) without any reference to race. Double standards just create yet more division.
Anyway, I will still watch the matches. But there's a bad taste in my mouth on this one nevertheless.
weird how this argument keeps popping up on BF, and yet we're yet to hear it from anyone indigenous.

Well at first I was ok with the idea given we are represented by mediocre teams each year. The list looked quite good in the intial 30 odd available for selection but by the end the list looked ridiculously poor.

Jetta (the one not from Sydney)
Lovett-Murray
And a few names I can't remember.

In the end it is just gifting games to players based on race who are simply not any good for 'international' standard.

I am presuming the Freo players were not available for selection due to holiday or something because some of the best indigenous talent is in the Freo side. But it is injuries those players are not risking so that's all good. But honestly the team that played Ireland was seriously weak so its very hard for me to take it seriously. I can only see them getting flogged next game; esp with Buddy pulling out.

Never been a fan. Their field, their ball and their whinging anytime someone lays a hand on them.

Lets make it interesting and use our fields and our ball for a change. At least it would give me a giggle anytime one of the Irish tried to have a shot on goal.

Never been a fan. Their field, their ball and their whinging anytime someone lays a hand on them.

Lets make it interesting and use our fields and our ball for a change. At least it would give me a giggle anytime one of the Irish tried to have a shot on goal.

If it was our ball it would be a massacre, I don't like the series but this is probably the best possible compromise for it.

Indigenous, white, Asian, who cares? It's a joke of a series anyway.

If the Indigenous boys enjoy it good on them. If every player is going to pull out anyway might as well try add a different flavour to it somehow. Still wasn't enough to get me to bother to watch though.

I bet all the mouth breathers on the main board getting upset about 'racism' are the same rednecks who felt 'Straya pride' when our hardened professionals courageously beat up a bunch of part time farmers and shop assistants.

If it was our ball it would be a massacre, I don't like the series but this is probably the best possible compromise for it.

I don't have an issue with that.:D