International Rules - Game 1

319655_10150507876044622_554214621_11376807_535845516_n.jpg

Went to the game and snapped this beauty of brad green copping a puch in the face for his country.

Great snap BTW Mars!

I reckon Harry would go alright in IR. Has the right mentality for it. Loves to run. Anyone feel like having a dip at a real side? How many on the field in IR?

Hopefully have the positions right. Don't have the numbers for starting on the field. Pretty sure it's teams of 23. This could be an example of a competitive IRS team.
You'd really look at a big focus on speed + skill level and those likely to be able to adapt to the round ball. So the likes of Didak, Green and Stevey J would be obvious candidates on that basis.
Also probably don't need a team quite as tall, flexibility is probably more important and you'd look to have allot more offensive runners in the back half with the high skill level types up forward and the stars rotating through the midfield as usual.

F: Cyril Rioli Lance Franklin Mark LeCras
HF: Steve Johnson Travis Cloke Alan Didak
CEN: Adam Goodes Chris Judd Gary Ablett
HB: Brett Deledio Luke Hodge Brendan Goddard
B: Corey Enright Matthew Scarlett Bryce Gibbs
GK: Dustin Fletcher
BENCH: Scott Pendlebury Brad Green Dane Swan Matthew Pavlich Dale Thomas Marc Murphy Joel Selwood

Others I'd consider: Ben Reid Chris Yarran Stephen Hill Nat Fyfe Jeff Garlett Harry O'Brien Dustin Martin Paul Chapman Jonathan Brown Nick Riewoldt Daniel Rich

Does anyone know what the quality of the Irish team was like? Was it in the same vein as our C grade side?

Honestly in my opinion it was probably the best Irish International Rules team we ever put out. Particularly taking into account the four quality AFL players we had along with some vastly experienced IR players like McDonnell, Donaghy, Glynn, Murphy etc. We were missing some top stars but it was still a quality side.

In a way its a pity that the team the Aussies sent over last year didn't play because it would have made for a good game. The extra class of Goodes, Swan etc was badly missed by your boys today.

I really hope it doesn't die off because it combines two of my favourite sports but I suppose I'm a fairly unique case :D

I don't think Collingwood would have allowed Cloke to play, which is probably why he wasn't asked.

And this is why the International Rules is, like someone said, going to die a slow death. Why not put the best out there? Kevin Sheehan said that Cyril 'Junior Boy' Rioli played a junior game of international rules, Sheehan said he struggled early but his class showed through and he picked it up easily.. Pretty sure most top end AFL players could pick up the game easily enough.

It is a crap squad though. Monfries at least was clean with his kicking, nearly all the rest were crap and weren't even running/playing on their man. You could tell the intensity wasn't there either.

You can kick the ball, but if your not quick (Monfries isnt), agile (Monfries isnt), he just looked like he was struggling. Like you said, crap squad, crap game, outplayed and (can't believe im saying this about the Irish) outmuscled.

Wouldn't even make the top 8..

Stephen Milne Brad Green Angus Monfries Robbie Gray Mitch Robinson Ben McGlynn Liam Shiels Bernie Vince Trent McKenzie Richard Douglas Matt Suckling James Kelly Easton Wood James Frawley David Wojcinski Zac Smith Andrew Swallow Callan Ward Jack Trengove Robin Nahas Shaun Grigg Jake King Mark Nicoski

Would back any of Collingwood, Geelong, Hawthorn, St Kilda, West Coast and Carlton to beat this team comfortably.

With the lack of any KPPs probably a couple of others would show this team up also.

Yeah, crap squad, bold players shouldnt play Game 2.

Other then his junk time over, did Milne get a stat.:eek:

We shouldn't be surprised.:eek:

I would have thought Marty Clarke would be in the best Irish team. We tagged him with Picken last year.

Anyway, I'm glad the Irish won.

Players like Robinson and King are rubbish players and it's a disgrace and demeaning to any Australian representative that these 2 untalented hacks got to pull on an Australian jumper.

Don't get me started on Suckling and his garden gloves. Seriously, he looked like a cartoon figure. You know...the ones with the big hands/gloves. Was he playing baseball out there.

images

It was farcical watching the team that was selected to represent our country.

Seriously, they were all second rate footballers (outside of a handful).

This is where the AFL industry as a whole doesn't understand the honour that is bestowed upon everyone involved who gets the opportunity to represent their country in any sport. It should be a dream come true.

It's sad that the event has become a mickey mouse exhibition match. It needs to have meaning, prestige and be glorified to an extent. It's a disgrace to the jumper really. We may as well cancel the series in its entirety if we are going to treat it as a couple of scratch matches.

I was surprised to see how small the Aussies were when they shook hands with the Irish before the start of the match. The selectors definitely got it all wrong - although I realise that heaps of players were unavailable...

They needed leaders in there. Players who have pride in their performance. Instead, they had a lot of headless chooks.

And they gave them 3 days to get ready. Absolutely ridiculous and an insult to the Irish.

Unfortunately, the games in Australia just don't match the ones in Ireland. I went to see one in Perth a couple of years ago when Sheedy took the reins and it was a lot of fun. Great atmosphere....but there is a sheetload of Irishman in perth and half the state are pommies so it wasnt surprising that a big crown turned up....

but the AFL has treated this series very badly - as if they want to kill it. I hope it's still going in Ireland next time...

as for the game.....absolute waste of time. It was terrible. I went to bed

Watching it was so shit and boring. I was thinking the squad was shit, slow and there was zero presence in our team.

Was wondering which kind of players I'd have in the team, players I could see livening up the game and playing well.

Off the top of my head: Goodes, Darling, Pav, Goddard, Dangerfield. That kind of power athlete with size, speed, stamina and presence would excel with all the mismatches they'd cause. But I suppose you've got to be asked and want to play as well. But shit the game was a waste of every-bodies time imo.

Dane Swan won the Jim Synes medal for BoG in the series last year... yet he doesnt play this year? (oh and its not due to injury). That alone speaks wonders about how seriouslly the series is taken, either the selectors are not competent or Swan/Collingwood said no thx not worth it

Personally i really enjoyed having no collingwood players out there, a lot less stressful to worry about injuries! (king and 2 others)

well...went with the kids!!!!!!
and that's 100 bucks and 2 hours of my life I'll never get back!!!!
What a piece of shite!!!! We were more entertained by the mexican wave and people getting saturated when others threw their drinks up...won't be doing that again!!

International Rules - Game 1