Interstate hatred

• Thread starter Thread starter jmorg1

Re: Re: Interstate hatred

Originally posted by |D_J^B_J|
South Australia only embraced the State of Origin concept in 1982, when they lost to the Vics by 12 points in Adelaide.

But we still played state football with them non-stop and held it in very high esteem before then... origin or nay.

The state side of 1963 that beat the Vics on the MCG are on the top of the SA football mountain alongside the Crows' 2 AFL Premierships.

Re: Re: Re: Interstate hatred

Originally posted by dyertribe
The state side of 1963 that beat the Vics on the MCG are on the top of the SA football mountain alongside the Crows' 2 AFL Premierships.

It obviously doesn't take much to please you lot if the state side that beat the Vics in an exhibition game is "on top of the SA football mountain." Although, South Australia have historically been the third best performed state in state carnivals and beating the Vics was considered a big achievement by most states in those days, so I guess it comes as no real surprise.

I digress, the point I was trying to make in response to the initial post was that Western Australians have had no reason to hate South Australians. They sometimes enjoy ridiculing the state itself and its teams but there is certainly no hatred involved.

Their true hatred is, and always has been, directed at Victoria. Just ask one of the many Victorians to have played their footy in Western Australia at some stage, such as Kevin Murray, who crossed to East Perth in 1965 and on Fox Footy's 'Grumpy Old Men', said it "took a long time for his own team mates to trust him", simply because he was a Victorian.

Seems im in a minority:

My favorite team is Adelaide, then Collingwood. After that, I couldn't care less. Can't see why everyone hate the pies, apart from their feral supporters.

As for victorians, I do hate them, but I hate tasmanians more :p

Originally posted by vindor
Seems im in a minority:

My favorite team is Adelaide, then Collingwood. After that, I couldn't care less. Can't see why everyone hate the pies, apart from their feral supporters.
You answered your own question about why most of hate the Pies & throw in Eddie for good measure. Says something when I hate them more than Port!

Originally posted by tige19
Im not sure what is with the South Ozz people, from the friends i have over there they seem to be 20cents short of a dollar. I dont like the SA clubs simply because of the run ins we have had over the years with there supporters and plus Its all about state pride :D

cheers

Mate if we are 20 cents short of a dollar, what do you class yourself as??????? Your spelling and grammar is terrible:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Originally posted by sapaul
The fireworks aren't all that great here Marty..:D

Ahhh come on Paul the Whyalla Show goes off:p :rolleyes:

What about the Fireworks they have behind Westlands Shopping Centre........................you know in the middle of summer in the bush and then it sets it alight:rolleyes:

WHYALLA:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Originally posted by yob
Out of all Victorian clubs, I love Richmond the most. My fondest memories, besides our two premiershpis, are belting the living **** out of Richmond. How many coaches have been sacked the week after playing the Crows? :D

The only thing that ****s me about Richmond is that the two times we murdered them at home (93, 97) the very next time they returned to the scene of the crime the cheeky bastards rolled us!

Originally posted by yob
Out of all Victorian clubs, I love Richmond the most. My fondest memories, besides our two premiershpis, are belting the living **** out of Richmond. How many coaches have been sacked the week after playing the Crows? :D
And of course Hawthorn is another team Crows supporters don't mind either. We played our first ever match against them in 1991 and gave them the flogging of a lifetime. We met them again in 1993 in our first ever final and knocked them off at the MCG!

I don't think the Vics in general hate SA or WA. In fact we highly respect those states (along with Tassie) for the great wealth of talent they have poured into Victorian footy.

Of course as the home, origin and highest pinnacle of football, Victoria behaved with some arrogance toward the westerly states. Quite understandably the lesser competitions resented this and have developed a passionate hatred of Victoria, almost without us noticing.

It isn't all one way. Like a lot of Vics I felt some irrational resentment toward interstate sides when they began joining the league from 1982 onward, but that was as much due to the shonky way the AFL created or relocated these entities as much as parochialism. Soon enoughthe Swans, Eagles, Bears, Crows and Dockers became part of the scenery, and we're better for it.

Likewise, while a few trolls denigrate the great wins of 97/98, most people recognise them as an example of inspired footy and winning when it really matters.

I feel the kind of passionate "Kick-a-Vic" sentiment especially true of the Adelaideans is a sign of extreme parochialism, and to their credit most Crows have gotten over it. A few dills like Kerley (when did he split from the other stooges?) still keep it up because they're living in the past, but in the main they have let go.

Nonetheless I'd say the Crows fans are the most narrow-minded unforgiving mob at the actual games I go to. They ain't the rudest, they don't complain the most (that'd have to be us), but they really don't give the opposition anything, they just think its all a conspiracy.

Freo, and to a lesser extent port have a depth of Footy experience and culture behind them. They can take a loss (it seems to me). They don't like it but if they are beaten they understand it was footy, not the CIA.

Of course that's just at the games I go to in Victoria. I guess they might be different on their home turf (although the Crow crowds do look a bit prim and humourless on the telly too).

Originally posted by DaveW
And of course Hawthorn is another team Crows supporters don't mind either. We played our first ever match against them in 1991 and gave them the flogging of a lifetime. We met them again in 1993 in our first ever final and knocked them off at the MCG!

Yeah the only real blemish was when they handed our arse to us on a plate to the tune of 97 points at Footy Park in 1994.

Originally posted by Cyclops
Of course that's just at the games I go to in Victoria. I guess they might be different on their home turf (although the Crow crowds do look a bit prim and humourless on the telly too).

Oh, don't worry. They are very humourless.