Interstate Members

Yep Channel 7 and The Worst Australian paper which i have not brought for years are sadly biased in regards to the Everything Eagles.Cost of living in WA is ridiculous bloody mining is crazy. Bigfooty is brilliant for me to keep in touch with anything Carlton.
And trying to talk football to a West Aussie is madness. They are so shockingly biased it is unbelievable. They think that the whole competition started in 1987 when the AFL made the e-girls and they discount anything that happened before hand and, at least with my mates, are constantly trying to tell me that they have won more premierships that Carlton.

Yep Mate i am hoping to get some revenge round 4 but have to admit the We Girls will be tough.
PS Have 3 Slabs beer in bets is this now cause for concern or will it bring the game into dispute.;)

Yep Mate i am hoping to get some revenge round 4 but have to admit the We Girls will be tough.
PS Have 3 Slabs beer in bets is this now cause for concern or will it bring the game into dispute.;)
Has anyone associated with the club said anything to you? or have you invited anyone from the e-girls around to yours for a bit of a party before hand?

Has anyone associated with the club said anything to you? or have you invited anyone from the e-girls around to yours for a bit of a party before hand?[/quote
Has anyone associated with the club said anything to you? or have you invited anyone from the e-girls around to yours for a bit of a party before hand?
Bloody spell checker it was supposed to be disrepute i will be at Subiaco revving the Blues up.

Got a problem with West Aussies Dram?

it's like that here with the Crows. God i loathe them. Our main paper is just brutal.

didnt read the whole thread so sorry if its been said already but paying $110 or whatever it is for a long distance membership and still having to pay for a ticket to the game in SA has always been a bugbear of mine. I realise i get 5 games entry in melbourne but i usually only get over once or twice a season.... so maybe a 4 melbourne games and 1 interstate game entry for members living in another state?

I found out what the club thinks of interstate members when they effectively stripped us of voting rights a couple of years back.

I buy the cheapest possible membership now as a result.

Dram is from WA.
Actually, I'm not from WA... I was born in NSW, learnt to play football in Melbourne with Laurie Serafini in west Preston, around the corner from the four square store that Serge owned, then I moved to WA...

But I have spent half my life living there :) so I know the west Aussies quite well :D

Actually, I'm not from WA... I was born in NSW, learnt to play football in Melbourne with Laurie Serafini in west Preston, around the corner from the four square store that Serge owned, then I moved to WA...

But I have spent half my life living there :) so I know the west Aussies quite well :D
In your original post I think you should have stated that talking to a west aussie that follows the eagles and to a lesser extent the dockers is madness.

You don't want to tar us WA Carlton supporters with the same brush do you? ;)

In your original post I think you should have stated that talking to a west aussie that follows the eagles and to a lesser extent the dockers is madness.

You don't want to tar us WA Carlton supporters with the same brush do you? ;)
I thought that it was implied with my mention of the e-girls that I was talking about opposition supporting sandgroupers...

All the Carlton supporters I've met are sophisticated gentry types who cultivate the arts... Well one art really... Baiting opposition supporters :D

But I am looking at making another trip back to oz soon :D around the end of April, beginning of may...

I thought that it was implied with my mention of the e-girls that I was talking about opposition supporting sandgroupers...

All the Carlton supporters I've met are sophisticated gentry types who cultivate the arts... Well one art really... Baiting opposition supporters :D

But I am looking at making another trip back to oz soon :D around the end of April, beginning of may...
No worries Dram I thought as much.

I am lucky enough to work in an office of 12 where not one person follows the eagles or dockers, so footy talk is usually pretty reasonable. There is one essendon supporter but they have been very quiet the last few weeks....not sure why?

After reading the posts in this thread I have been convicted about my non member status. Willing to reallocate family funds to support this club that I love. What I would have like to see as an option for those members who will not be attending games, is a merchandise discount (10% or $50 off when your spend $200) to spend more money in the Shop. I want to wear NAVY BLUE to the office each day (would help if the clothing range included a Casual Corporate selection).

I wonder if the club knows how many interstate members make the trip to Melbourne to see the Blues play during the season.

Personally I get across at least once if not 2 or 3 times depending on work trips and I am sure there are plenty of others that make the trip at least once a season.

I always hop on the number 19 tram up Royal Parade to hopefully catch a training session or even to spend my hard earned in the club shop (the wife doesn't understand why a 33yo needs a new jumper or training singlet every year).

What about if the club got negotiated a deal with Virgin or Qantas and a couple of hotels in the city that would offer decent discounts on flights and accommodation for Carlton members.
The club could arrange tours on a Friday morning at Princes Park which could include a talk from a former player and even arrange access to a pre or post game function. This would all be free as part of your interstate membership.

The club could approach the relevant interstate supporter groups to help promote the idea.

Thoughts?

I wonder if the club knows how many interstate members make the trip to Melbourne to see the Blues play during the season.

Personally I get across at least once if not 2 or 3 times depending on work trips and I am sure there are plenty of others that make the trip at least once a season.

I always hop on the number 19 tram up Royal Parade to hopefully catch a training session or even to spend my hard earned in the club shop (the wife doesn't understand why a 33yo needs a new jumper or training singlet every year).

What about if the club got negotiated a deal with Virgin or Qantas and a couple of hotels in the city that would offer decent discounts on flights and accommodation for Carlton members.
The club could arrange tours on a Friday morning at Princes Park which could include a talk from a former player and even arrange access to a pre or post game function. This would all be free as part of your interstate membership.

The club could approach the relevant interstate supporter groups to help promote the idea.

Thoughts?

I like that idea but doubt it would happen.

I live just outside Canberra and my family (wife & 2 kids) drive down to about 5 games in Melbourne each season. Its a long drive but much cheaper than airfares. Any deals involving accommodation/flights etc...would be worth looking at !