May 18, 2005
Gday guys how are we....

Myself and a few mates arre coming over to adelaide to see a game of footy and need some help.

What exactly is the rule at aami stadium regarding drinking in seats? are there any seats u can purchase that allow beers to be taken into??

also where are the best places for a group of 5 guys up to no good to party at eg nightclubs etc... we are staying in glenelg :)

many thanks in advance

What exactly is the rule at aami stadium regarding drinking in seats? are there any seats u can purchase that allow beers to be taken into??

Last season they conducted a trial allowing people to drink beers in their seats in the Northern Grandstand, and northern end of the Members' Reserve. I've not seen anything about how the trial went, whether the trial will continue, or whether the whole ground will become wet or reverrt to the usual dry.

As for the night life, in Glenelg you can try the Marina Pier at Holdfast shores, or Jetty Rd Glenelg. Failing that, there's always Hindley St/Rundle St in the city, the tram runs from Glenelg all the way up to and past where Hindley and Rundle turn into each other either side of King William Rd.

For clubs you'll have to ask someone else, really not my scene. The internet tells me this replaced Heaven and Heaven II, the only club(s) in Adelaide I have ever known by name.

Of course, the wonderful Tram and Train lines have their last runs of the night starting in the city at midnight, which is a truely useful and cosmopolitan time to stop our major public transport. If you're out on a Saturday night, Adelaide Metro After Midnight bus services run until 4:30am on the N262 route to Glenelg from roughly the same spot as the Trams.

Failing that, you're down to a Subcontinental gentleman with a taxi and a street directory.

also where are the best places for a group of 5 guys up to no good to party at eg nightclubs etc... we are staying in glenelg :)

Well if you're at Glenelg there's the Grand on Sunday night, but as NTRabbit said, you can catch the tram into town on Saturday night perhaps.

Dog and Ducks is pretty good, otherwise if dance music is more your scene try Red Square or Electric Circus, but I prefer D and D.

Theres a place on Gouger St called the Mars Bar where five guys should be able to have a great night, with plenty of "talent" on show.

Word to the wise jimmy, if Geoffa & his 'mates' don't show you a good time, you'll probably get shot by a bikie in Gouger St...

Stick to the Bay, plenty to see & do. :thumbsu:

Failing that, 5 guys who get up to no good usually end up at an equestrian club somewhere in Hindley St...

Last season they conducted a trial allowing people to drink beers in their seats in the Northern Grandstand, and northern end of the Members' Reserve. I've not seen anything about how the trial went, whether the trial will continue, or whether the whole ground will become wet or reverrt to the usual dry.

I'm travelling with jimmy so thanks for the tips guys... noone knows any further bout the wet or dry... how do you guys do it.. no beer + footy :mad: makes me angry lol.. spose good way to save cash..

$30 basic spirits sound cheap :p..... also thanks for the directions to either a gay bar or brothel... muchly appreciated but probs wont need it lol

I'm travelling with jimmy so thanks for the tips guys... noone knows any further bout the wet or dry... how do you guys do it.. no beer + footy :mad: makes me angry lol.. spose good way to save cash..

$30 basic spirits sound cheap :p..... also thanks for the directions to either a gay bar or brothel... muchly appreciated but probs wont need it lol
Our midstrengths are rubbish too.

We need full strength wet areas!

If it's round 1 against our mob you can drink in bays 114 through to 118 I think it is (that's from the members to the goals at the northern end), or anywhere up in the northern grand stand.

Well if you're at Glenelg there's the Grand on Sunday night, but as NTRabbit said, you can catch the tram into town on Saturday night perhaps.

Dog and Ducks is pretty good, otherwise if dance music is more your scene try Red Square or Electric Circus, but I prefer D and D.

If the drug sniffer dog walked past the Red Square line up, I think it would probably die in a fit. Same could probably be said about the EC.

The Dog and Duck is sweet. Ive probably spent half my pay at that joint. Its good because its full of young people. Loose young people.

Now I am a poor uni student I think my ridiculously loose nights at the dog way have to be wound down a little.

yeah you'll probably enjoy dock & duck if you haven't been before but if you've been a few times it gets boring as batshit. Plenty of beers on tap though, plenty.

The Elephant is always fun for some drinks and a dance, as is the Stag.

I'd suggest going to town rather than staying at the bay on saturday, more places to go, more people in town. But head to the Grand at Glenelg on sunday night.

Not that you'd probably bother going there anyway, but I strongly suggest to stay away from the Ramsgate at Henley Beach. Bunch of ferals who think they're all heros. Bigger scum than you'll see out at Elizabeth.

As for clubs, try HQ on west terrace or Electric.

All the best :thumbsu:

The Elephant is always fun for some drinks and a dance, as is the Stag.

The Elephant & Wheelbarrow? Bar most likely to bounce you at the entrance for "wearing the wrong shoes" after any women you're with have already gotten inside and out of ear shot. It's happened to me 4 out of the 5 times I've been there.

I'd rather go to the Cranker than the Elephant, and given that I call Metal "noise with screaming" that's saying something.

Coopers Ale House (Earl of Aberdeen) is pretty good, as is The Stag, and the Austral is not bad either if you like backpackers ;)

The Elephant & Wheelbarrow? Bar most likely to bounce you at the entrance for "wearing the wrong shoes" after any women you're with have already gotten inside and out of ear shot. It's happened to me 4 out of the 5 times I've been there.

Agree! Sometimes there are a few decent bouncers there who let you in but I agree other times I've come across w***er bouncers that haven't let me in because the bottom of my jeans was ripped, yet there were girls with ripped jeans and thongs being let in .. they also seem to kick out guys that show the slightest sign of drunkeness, whereas a girl could be vomitting all over the dancefloor and the bouncer would let her stay.

I'd rather go to the Cranker than the Elephant, and given that I call Metal "noise with screaming" that's saying something.

Coopers Ale House (Earl of Aberdeen) is pretty good, as is The Stag, and the Austral is not bad either if you like backpackers ;)

Not a fan of the cranker .. too many freaks go there. Coopers Ale House is a good place to go for a meal and a drink but wouldn't go there to party.

Agree! Sometimes there are a few decent bouncers there who let you in but I agree other times I've come across w***er bouncers that haven't let me in because the bottom of my jeans was ripped, yet there were girls with ripped jeans and thongs being let in .. they also seem to kick out guys that show the slightest sign of drunkeness, whereas a girl could be vomitting all over the dancefloor and the bouncer would let her stay.

Not a fan of the cranker .. too many freaks go there. Coopers Ale House is a good place to go for a meal and a drink but wouldn't go there to party.
Played a gig at Cranker...seemed OK. Although our definition of freak may be different.
Played at Rhino room....that was just wierd.

If it's round 1 against our mob you can drink in bays 114 through to 118 I think it is (that's from the members to the goals at the northern end), or anywhere up in the northern grand stand.

yeah it is for that game... probably should of posted in the port board lol.... can u get reserved seats in those areas or gen admin... cheers mate

I'm not a fan of the Cranker either, which further amplifies how much I dislike the Elephant.

You're right, Ale House is good for a drink and a feed, but not to party. Good place to start maybe.

The East End Exchange is supposed to be the hip place to be at the moment, or so I've heard. Not been there since Uni pub crawls though.

Oh, and if you like risque art work and funk music, there is a bar in behind the courts that is also good, but the name escapes me.

yeah it is for that game... probably should of posted in the port board lol.... can u get reserved seats in those areas or gen admin... cheers mate

Yeah it's all reserved seating bar the members at AAMI. Here's a map showing the designated drinking bays.

Interstate traveller