Interstate Trips - knowledge sharing

Currently on the AFL site checking out fares/hotel/ticket for Adelaide game.

For those of you that have made the trip, is it better to go through the AFL site or Collingwood Travel? Thanks!

I’ve used the AFL Events office for an interstate game at Metricon a few years ago - didn’t take the airfare option as this was more expensive than booking the airfare separately. Accommodation was good value and it came with a free shuttle bus service to and from the stadium so that was handy, and the seats for the match were good. In terms of getting tickets, the AFL Events option is good and the added bonus is that you are primarily sitting within a block of Pies supporters, especially at hugely parochial, one sided venue. We are considering going over to Adelaide for this match too as we haven’t been to a game at Adelaide Oval as yet and it is very close/handy to the CBD, so getting there isn’t a big deal.

Great if you are going, must catch up. Didn't realise that you could book accommodation and ticket only. Must re-read.

I am now weighing whether to drive and catch the wineries on the way there and way back. Make a looong week-end out of it as it is a Friday night game.

Great if you are going, must catch up. Didn't realise that you could book accommodation and ticket only. Must re-read.

I am now weighing whether to drive and catch the wineries on the way there and way back. Make a looong week-end out of it as it is a Friday night game.

Haven’t checked out the website myself as yet but previous years you could most definitely opt out (or in) with the airfares - packages of just accommodation and match tickets were available, with varying levels of hotels : 3 star, 4 star, etc to suit your budget.

Currently on the AFL site checking out fares/hotel/ticket for Adelaide game.

For those of you that have made the trip, is it better to go through the AFL site or Collingwood Travel? Thanks!
Went to Crows v Pies in 2016 I rang the club first to enquire about tickets but they only guaranteed tickets for the cheer squad. So to lock in tickets went thru AFL Travel.
AFL Travel offer ticket/hotel/airfare.
You don't have to purchase all 3, just ticket and one of the others. We found they were charging exorbitant prices for the Virgin Flight so we got cheaper flights on Qantas. You can choose from a variety of accommodation. When u book they ask u who u support and if ur team loses they give u a $50 voucher to use on a game in the next 12 months. Honestly that's the only reason we used them again this year to redeem the $300 for the six of us to go to Sydney. The tickets on both occasions were in the nosebleeds and they charged a premium.
Won't b using them this year as Pies won.
I'd only use them if u fear u won't get a ticket. We wanted to lock in trip before tickets went on sale which is why we went down that route.
Hope that helps Maggie.
Edit. We found Pies travel more expensive but may have changed.

Hey guys if you are coming to Sydney I can provide you discounted accommodation. It's listed on airbnb but come direct.

Bedroom / billiard room (Dylan in the grey is a long-term tenant but don't worry he is very quiet)

Kitchen / bathroom / dining room (can stock with provisions for small mark-up)

You can also rent my people mover: fits 6 comfortably in the back

upload_2017-11-1_21-52-10.png

My pit bull Samantha will guard your things while you are out (she likes being tickled, usually)

Stuff AFL Travel and stay with a BF buddy!

Hey guys if you are coming to Sydney I can provide you discounted accommodation. It's listed on airbnb but come direct.

Bedroom / billiard room (Dylan in the grey is a long-term tenant but don't worry he is very quiet)

View attachment 433789

My pit bull Samantha will guard your things while you are out (she likes being tickled, usually)

Does it include breakfast? If so, I might just pass, thanks anyway.;)

View attachment 433789

like the ute and dog...lol...and im not joking

Am thinking of taking the grandkids to the Gold Coast game, has anyone been there?
Any suggestions where to stay? Is it easy to get to Metricon Stadium?
Been to the stadium, a few years ago very much enioyed it. Unfortunately it was the first time we lost to them. We came from the Sunshine Coast for the match. Where to stay near sorry. Don’t know. We got the train from Brisbane to the station before then they bused us there. Train/ bus to the game was free at the time, l think it still is.

Am thinking of taking the grandkids to the Gold Coast game, has anyone been there?
Any suggestions where to stay? Is it easy to get to Metricon Stadium?
Very easy to get to by bus.
We stayed at Mantra Broadbeach from memory.
Buses galore after the game too.

Anyone planning to go to this game? I am planning to go witj family and it will be my first watching the Pies at the Gabba. Any advice on which area to buy tickets? Would love to be in a group of Magpie fans

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

I'll be there. Think my tickets are section 66. I like the vantage point from the top tier on wing. Also, we still have a high chance of rain right up into May in Brisbane, so the shelter is good. Not sure where most Pies fans are seated though, but if you can hold your tongue most lions supporters will be fairly reserved as they don't understand the game yet ;)

There used to be pregame stuff happening for Collingwood supporters at the Pineapple hotel just up the road. Not sure if that happens anymore but it was always pretty good fun. Was mostly the traveling members of the cheer squad. :thumbsu:

Anyone planning to go to this game? I am planning to go witj family and it will be my first watching the Pies at the Gabba. Any advice on which area to buy tickets? Would love to be in a group of Magpie fans
I've been there a few times and you probably don't even need to book a ticket.
That said our supporters are usually up the end to the left of the TV screen, which I believe is the Wellington St end of the ground.

Only interstate trip was to sydney in 2012. The pre-season games against GWS and Bulldogs in West Sydney. Was....an experience. Paine caused to GWS at the death was most welcome!

Stayed in a hostel with foreigners, and the city was very much like Melbourne (what a surprise since cockroaches arent very original :rolleyes:) but more claustrophobic in a novel sense.

Unfortunately won't be visiting Stadium Australia ever again since the Swans insist on playing on a truncated patch of grass even the NRL ignored, but for all those that went last year for the win, how was it?

I almost went to football park as a young bloke in 2002 for the qualifying final, but the grandfather was too crook. How was it at the Adelaide oval this year for the crow bashing?

I suppose all that would be left is the Gabbatoir and Perth Stadium. Hopefully we can make the latter a home away from home, contrary to our poor record at the WACA and old Subiaco, when we beat the Dockers later in the year! :cool:

Let's worry about the 'G and Anzac Day first. Lest we forget :collingwood:

All the stars have aligned and I have business in Sydney on Friday and... gee... wondering what I should get up to on Friday Night in Sydney? :think:;)

Does anyone have a tip for the best seating for Pies fans (me and a mate) at the SCG? Or does it not really matter?

All the stars have aligned and I have business in Sydney on Friday and... gee... wondering what I should get up to on Friday Night in Sydney? :think:;)

Vivid festival will be on, check it out! :D

Does anyone have a tip for the best seating for Pies fans (me and a mate) at the SCG?

Collingwood members typically get seated at the bottom of the Dally Messenger stand.

Or does it not really matter?

Depends. If you want to pucker up and joyfully participate in kiss-cam, or sing along merrily to ‘Sweet Caroline’, or gleefully clap with excited anticipation whenever the Swans number 23 gets within 20 meters of the footy, or swap knitting tips and thermos flask contents with like-minded folks, then nah, it doesn’t matter, sit anywhere.

If none of that happens to be your thing, then you probably want to sit with your tribe.

Going to the Giants and Adelaide games this year, both times flying back straight after the game.

I know I’m going to be on the same flight home as the players as all business class and Economy X seats (the ones with extra leg room) were all booked out 6 months in advance. Can’t really begrudge the likes of Cox, Grundy and Moore getting those seats.

If I run into the players in the Lounge beforehand again hopefully Bucks brings his kids and I can see if De Goey and Ayce are still inseparable.

As this thread has been bumped and whilst simple and likely well known here are our home and way interstate games for this season.

• Friday night 24/5 at SCG v Sydney (Round 10)
  • Friday night 12/7 at Perth Optus Stadium v West Coast (Round 17)
  • Saturday evening 20/7 at Spotless Stadium v GWS (Round 18)
  • Saturday evening 17/8 at Adelaide Oval v Adelaide (Round 22)

Enjoy folks; always a fun trip.

As this thread has been bumped and whilst simple and likely well known here are our home and way interstate games for this season.

• Friday night 24/5 at SCG v Sydney (Round 10)
  • Friday night 12/7 at Perth Optus Stadium v West Coast (Round 17)
  • Saturday evening 20/7 at Spotless Stadium v GWS (Round 18)
  • Saturday evening 17/8 at Adelaide Oval v Adelaide (Round 22)

Enjoy folks; always a fun trip.

You forgot all the Interstate games at the MCG! ;)

Depends. If you want to pucker up and joyfully participate in kiss-cam, or sing along merrily to ‘Sweet Caroline’, or gleefully clap with excited anticipation whenever the Swans number 23 gets within 20 meters of the footy, or swap knitting tips and thermos flask contents with like-minded folks, then nah, it doesn’t matter, sit anywhere.

If none of that happens to be your thing, then you probably want to sit with your tribe.

Lol from my one SCG experience that encapsulated the experience beautifully...

Nothing beats the MCG with the Collingwood army afraid to say.

Well it turns out I was barely able to get a GA with all the reserved seating pretty much sewn up. Managed to get Churchill Stand 3 row G, and it looks like I'll get a good view of the scoreboard.

I'll be happy to see a good view of us spreading the ground and sharing the goals around. Real shame Varcoe won't make it.

What is the best way to buy tickets to make sure you get good seats in a Collingwood supporting section, specifically at Spotless/Giants stadium?

This is going to be my first interstate game.
You’ll be fine.
They don’t fill their stadium.

What is the best way to buy tickets to make sure you get good seats in a Collingwood supporting section, specifically at Spotless/Giants stadium?

This is going to be my first interstate game.
I had fantastic seats, just booking general admission the week they were released.

Admittedly it wasn’t a Collingwood allocated block but the ground has a pretty welcoming vibe anyway

Interstate Trips - knowledge sharing