Inuries and Selections?

Gaz_Brownlow

Right, now to get onto the serious stuff....From all reports last night we have a few small niggles to deal with.

Milburn - Corked Calf
S. Johnson - Shoulder
Mooney - Back
Hunt - Dehydration
Enright - possible ankle??

All should be right to play, but still a few concerns.

The Blake vs. King argument will surface again, i really think the Big King is the man to play, Blake was pretty woeful tonight, can recall some dreadful spilt marks, clumsiness and a bit of panic when given the ball - i think King would not make the same mistakes.

Anyways, what do others think...oh and of course there is Egan!

Enright is fine. He didn't hurt it during the game so I'm assuming you're talking about the rumor that he badly rolled it?
It is BS, otherwise he wouldn't have played last night. We don't risk players like that.

Dasher will be fine.
Mooney came back on and played so I'm pretty sure he'll be fine - might be a bit sore, nothing too bad I reckon.
Hunt should be fine, from experience I can say it only lasts a few days, but it depends how dehydrated he was.
Dog is another one that is fine, they were saying possible AC joint which I doubt. He looked like he just landed on it.

Very light training until the day before the GF, heaps of rest and we should all be fine.
Only one I'm not sure about is Ego.

Enright is fine. He didn't hurt it during the game so I'm assuming you're talking about the rumor that he badly rolled it?
It is BS, otherwise he wouldn't have played last night. We don't risk players like that.

Dasher will be fine.
Mooney came back on and played so I'm pretty sure he'll be fine - might be a bit sore, nothing too bad I reckon.
Hunt should be fine, from experience I can say it only lasts a few days, but it depends how dehydrated he was.
Dog is another one that is fine, they were saying possible AC joint which I doubt. He looked like he just landed on it.

Very light training until the day before the GF, heaps of rest and we should all be fine.
Only one I'm not sure about is Ego.

Yeah am sure they will all be fine too - maybe a bit sore, but should be ok.

Just watched the replay of the game, it was pretty poor and we will definately have to bring the a game against Port. Blake was terrible, which is concerning, i really think that King deserves the shot against Brogan and Lade, Blake just has not got the confidence with his possession and cost us a few turnovers last night.

Egan would be perfect to bring back in and just run with Tredrea all day - this at least allows Scarlett, Harley and Milburn a bit of freedom. I think Egan will be extremely important and hope he gets up.

Whats the news on Michael Wilsons injury for port? That would make a big difference°!

Yet to be confirmed, but I think it's an achilles tendon, out for a long time and it puts his whole career in jeopardy apparently.

Is it more than a 50% chance that Egan returns for the GF??
Yes I reckon he's a 70% chance, unless the rumors are anything to go by then he'd be like a 5% chance to play.

Concerning the Balke v King argument, you would have to see how Steven King goes in the VFL Grand Final tomorrow. If he plays anywhere near how Ottens did last night, we would have to play him next week.

I also think that Blake's kicking is questionable, and he spills marks and you can get killed for that in a Grand Final. So King is the surer bet.

Concerning the Balke v King argument, you would have to see how Steven King goes in the VFL Grand Final tomorrow. If he plays anywhere near how Ottens did last night, we would have to play him next week.

If we were playing North in the GF I think there'd be no doubt that Blake would play, but since it's Port I think if King plays well tomorrow he'll be in.

drop blake .... put in hawkins and play ottens in ruck all day...he is fit enough!
King was rucking all night... Did his hammy, Mooney & H had to share ruck duties... When was that? IIRC THAT LOSS AGAINST SYNDEY IN '05.
We will not win if we only play one ruckman.

trainers were regularly coming up to him, didn't show any sign of pain tho, his goal was fantastic

I hope the trainers where coming up to him every 30 seconds, put that kid in cotton wool until the GF!!! Ablett will be fine, you don't get a near best on ground and kick the winning goal if you are not fit.

Well, if Michael Wilson is out that is a huge advantage for us. I really like the look of our forward line at the moment, although i tip this will be a bit of a shootout!

What about matchups? Would love to see Rooke get the job on Chad Cornes and linga go to either Burgoyne or Kane Cornes? It would be nice if someone could KO Cassisi early on as he will no doubt follow Ablett again.

As for the big King, well, hope he has a cracker against Coburg tomorrow, he should be an automatic as far as i'm concerned.

Regarding selections, this has been said in the Herald Sun...
Hammering at the selection door are Brent Prismall, Kane Tenace and King.
If Kane Tenace gets a game in the grand final I am going to be so pissed off.

Regarding selections, this has been said in the Herald Sun...

If Kane Tenace gets a game in the grand final I am going to be so pissed off.

Seeing as how he hasn't played for several weeks I'd suggest it's highly unlikely, just a little "imaginative" reporting by the Sun methinks.

I also think that Blake's kicking is questionable, and he spills marks and you can get killed for that in a Grand Final. So King is the surer bet.[/quote]

How bad would you feel if you were Blake and you got dropped for King:eek:

Mate, in my opinion Blake has been very very lucky to have kept his spot for so long.. He is a tap ruckmen and that's it, he's useless around the ground, I said this months ago.

There should be two changes -

IN -
King (Proved he is the man today)
Varcoe (Applies the type of attacking tackling pressure that's needed in a clutch final).

Out -
Blake (Useless)
Byrnes (Makes too many bad decisions and skill errors)

interesting that the ABC commentators thought david johnson was a chance??
king looked far more settled than blake, even though they are playing in two different standards of football, king looks to have a much cooler head, much better disposal and has the stronger body.

pretty harsh on young blakey, but, out: blake, in: king

I agree that Byrnes should get dropped. Anyone see him tackle Stokes at one stage on Friday night? :eek:

Bit harsh on Blake, but I agree we do need two bigger bodies in the ruck. I think the last time we played Port, they scored 4 goals in 7 or 8 minutes as soon as Blake went into the ruck in the first quarter.

In: King Varcoe
Out: Blake Byrnes

drop blake .... put in hawkins and play ottens in ruck all day...he is fit enough!

This suggestion is crazy. In the last 1/4 of a grand final you need players with plenty of run and energy left in them. This is especially true for on ballers. The other advantage of ruck support for Ottens is that he could be rested in the forward line and late in a game when players have lost their leap a 202cm player in the forward line does not get any shorter. The game will be won or lost in the centre/ centre bounces.

interesting that the ABC commentators thought david johnson was a chance??
king looked far more settled than blake, even though they are playing in two different standards of football, king looks to have a much cooler head, much better disposal and has the stronger body.

pretty harsh on young blakey, but, out: blake, in: king

Yes, the time has come, King needs to come in...this maybe is his last game in the hoops and i'm sure he will give it everything he is capable of and that is a lot more then what Blake possesses. He is more composed, stronger defensively, CAN take a defensive mark and definately can use the ball a bit better. Not to mention is his leadership influence, i think a few of the senior boys would be pretty happy to have him alongside!

The other change worth considering is Prismall for Byrnes? Would be a big call, but a worthy one at that!

In my mind, there is only one spot up for grabs this week. That is the one currently occupied by Shannon Byrnes. Like it or not, he is our 22nd player picked at the moment and he is a huge risk to carry into such an important game.

Any of the following could come in to replace him:

1. King
16. Gardiner
19. Egan (only if he gets through every training session with the team this week)
32. Prismall