Dimitri_Mishkin

Sep 2, 2008
Gday all,

A mate of mine recently bought an iphone, and seems pretty stoked with it, so I was thinking of getting one myself.

I heard that there is a new model to be released soon, and I was wondering if anyone had any thoughts on this...is it worth waiting for this new model? How long until it is available in Australia? Are people enjoying their iphones?

Gday all,

A mate of mine recently bought an iphone, and seems pretty stoked with it, so I was thinking of getting one myself.

I heard that there is a new model to be released soon, and I was wondering if anyone had any thoughts on this...is it worth waiting for this new model? How long until it is available in Australia? Are people enjoying their iphones?

there is new firmware coming OS 3.0

http://www.techknowl.com/2009/03/apple-iphone-os30-firmware-features.html

no new h/w as far as i recall, just better use of the exisitng platform

no new hardware has been announced but when 2.0 came out it coincided with the new iphone 3g..

so id say theres a good chance there is a new one coming out but we won't know about it til shortly before its actually here..

no new hardware has been announced but when 2.0 came out it coincided with the new iphone 3g..

so id say theres a good chance there is a new one coming out but we won't know about it til shortly before its actually here..

yeah, Id hate to buy one, only to see a newer model come out weeks later :p

Here's the iPhone3:

new_iPhone_concept_3.jpg

Or not!

there is very little gossip on an upgrade.

what gossip there is is mostly about a slightly better camera, 32Gb of space and a faster processor. the form factor, battery and software will remain the same.

that gossip is very limtied tho, from a random source

check macrumors.com

Quite possibly as early as June.

http://http://www.techtree.com/India/News/Bigger_Better_iPhone_Coming/551-101871-615.html

New iPhone: 32GB Storage, More Features?
Techtree News Staff, May 12, 2009 1143 hrs IST
Faster CPU, FM radio and much more
E-MailPrint

Apple's Worldwide Developers Conference is just three weeks away and the images as well as details about next iPhone are being churned by the rumor mills. A Chinese forum Weiphone, has been teasing the rumor mongers with screen shot of the next generation iPhone since a while.

Consumers have laid high expectation on the new iPhone this year after the images of next big launch's back panel had leaked out in February. Taiwanese manufacturers who shipped parts to Apple have also given cues about the two iPhones that will be launched in Apple's major event (WWDC) in June.
As per the rumours, one of those two will be a 'Pro' version sporting a 5-megapixel auto focus camera with high-end features. While the other upgrade will have 3.2-megapixel camera, video recording, digital compass and Wi-Fi 802.11n support. Now as per the specifications listed at the Weiphone forums, the specifications match the 'normal version' of next gen iPhone......

New iphone within 2 months is what i have read.

I might be interested in having a look, otherwise i will check out an Android device.

Used to have Palm, now Windows Mobile, but I need to move on.

Maybe i'll go iphone for a couple years before I settle on Android.

There have been some 'leaked' images. Although very unlikely to be true.

Official Leaked Photo Album :p

The unibody- I think it is supposed to have no physical button...the home button is now a touch screen button. Looks pretty nice.

3527213917_0e0f8c1bf3_b.jpg

The mini's
3527491673_68d709df8d_b.jpg

Very colourful

The screen being shown though created doubt because the 'SMS" icon used in the picture is no longer in use with OS 3.0, and these should be preloaded with this :rolleyes:

I heard early June when a new model will be announced, as to when it will be released is another issue.

If you can wait. I was going to buy the HTC TOUCH HD however the screen size has put me off it a little, its massive.

I assume with the new Apple you can edit excel and word on it ?????

Nah only quick office and it's limited to what it can edit.
Thought there would be more. O well

QuicKOffice will get better with 3.0 due to copy and paste and the new stuff.

Thought there would be more. O well

QuicKOffice will get better with 3.0 due to copy and paste and the new stuff.

There is talk of Microsoft bringing office to the IPhone. You can get mobile office however you need a phone/pda with windows mobile OS to run it.

Has iPhone always been available on the Optus $49 cap plan, or only just dropped down to it?

If it's a recent drop, that would suggest a new model isnt far off wouldnt it?

Can anyone give a rough idea of how far 250Mb per month of data allowance would go?
More than enough. I reckon if you tried, you could only use 300mb max.

i've had mine since december, and i've used 2.0GB.. so thats around 330mb/month.. but i'd consider myself a heavy user...
Yeah, you must go hard out

On the page it says you can download OS 3,
Can you, or just got to wait for it to pop up in Itunes?
I think because it is still in beta, you have to elect to download...otherwise thousands of unknowing people will download it...and then complain about bugs

I would like to see what the new iphone is like, but I might go for the Palm Pre.

Yeah I thought the Pre looked stunning when it was announced at the start of the year and nothing has changed my mind about it since. It's launched in the US next week and in Australia not long after that.

iphones are awesome but Apple are a little too control freaky for me.