Strength Irritating people/things that annoy you in the gym III

Welp. My shortlived old man footy comeback is over before it began.

Ruptured my achillies last night in a scratchy. Season and career almost certainly done
ouch

Welp. My shortlived old man footy comeback is over before it began.

Ruptured my achillies last night in a scratchy. Season and career almost certainly done
Bloke I know is still going this year at 40.

**** that, 30+ is even too much I reckon.

Early 30s I actually thought about going down to my old club way back from colts just to some training to keep fit instead of just road running on my own, maybe offer help and meet people for something to do.

But thought nup, even though I'm not that good still way too young to get roped into playing 2nds if they are short and **** that.

Sometimes learning to do less can gain you much more.

I learnt that with CrossFit. The first few years I hated missing a session and went 6 times a week. However I've lately been going only 4 times a week and progressing more because I'm able to put more into each workout and allowing myself time to recover.

I swam the slowest at the end of this summer for a couple of years but I'd had the least amount of days off from swimming ever, the last back in January..

A week after our pool closing pretty confident if I went to Perth after the rest from the water I'd swim faster than ever before.

FFS Im so sorry to hear that. Thats really just plan bad unlucky. Kinda scary, it shoots up into a ball in the calf?

Surgery I presume?

Better to have tried and failed, then to have never have tried at all.
So did it thursday, got a referal to a surgeon for yesterday and got rushed into surgery today due to the damage and a hematoma in the area (which increases the risk of clotting apparently).

Under the knife at 7.30am this morning and in hospital tonight.

When they got in there the damage was worse than the scans showed so they had to open the incision up further. Overall just real s**t.

Rehab and recovery is long too so I’ll be rehabbing the legs and gymbroing the upper body for about 6-12 months.

So did it thursday, got a referal to a surgeon for yesterday and got rushed into surgery today due to the damage and a hematoma in the area (which increases the risk of clotting apparently).

Under the knife at 7.30am this morning and in hospital tonight.

When they got in there the damage was worse than the scans showed so they had to open the incision up further. Overall just real s**t.

Rehab and recovery is long too so I’ll be rehabbing the legs and gymbroing the upper body for about 6-12 months.
Sorry to hear about your predicament. At least the road to recovery has begun and while it is a long path, take it one week at time.

In regards to gymbroing your upper body, you will get huge gains due to the frequency, let alone the weight increase. You see lots of players who have done ACL, come back with huge upper frames.

Sorry to hear about your predicament. At least the road to recovery has begun and while it is a long path, take it one week at time.

In regards to gymbroing your upper body, you will get huge gains due to the frequency, let alone the weight increase. You see lots of players who have done ACL, come back with huge upper frames.
This is the silver lining.

Thanks mate

Dozens of people in the gym during my session this morning - as per normal, the only person who doesn't put anything back is the PT.
Not from his clients either, from his own mini-sessions in between clients.

So im back in the gym (following clearance from the surgeon) home gym has never come in more handy as its alot easier to modify and access the gym now than it would be at a standard gym.
How you getting by. Hobbling around the set-up?

Dozens of people in the gym during my session this morning - as per normal, the only person who doesn't put anything back is the PT.
Not from his clients either, from his own mini-sessions in between clients.
I dont respect PT, for one of many reasons, this one in particular.

Dont get me started on how they like to set up a mini circuit in the weights area, dont put away anything, dont wipe down either. Not to mention if they are engaged in conversation with a gym member its almost most likely they are trying to drum up business.

I had one PT who was a legend.
He cleaned up after other people as well as himself, but he was only doing it for money while studying at Uni to be a rehab specialist, so once he finished his studies he left to go help people recovering from injury/illness/surgery in hospital rehab facilities

so not your average 8 week short course gym bro

I had one PT who was a legend.
He cleaned up after other people as well as himself, but he was only doing it for money while studying at Uni to be a rehab specialist, so once he finished his studies he left to go help people recovering from injury/illness/surgery in hospital rehab facilities

so not your average 8 week short course gym bro
Yeah there are some like that, had a couple of good ones over the 10+ years at my old gym.
One left to become a firefighter, the other would actually go around with a spray bottle and wipes to clean the gym if there was nothing to put away. VFL umpire too so we got to talk footy between sets.

i should have gone before work.. have a feeling i cbf'd later today
Friday FFS.

You probably wont. It can be mentally challenging after the work week.

Mind you I will definitely go on Saturday or Sunday, hopefully both.

Like me you have the weekend to make it up.

PTs are only doing it for money. Faux interest in their client. It's all about the benjamins

Pay Me Kim Kardashian GIF by GQ

PTs are only doing it for money. Faux interest in their client. It's all about the benjamins

Pay Me Kim Kardashian GIF by GQ
There is one female PT that after the session is over, she will help her male clients, "stretch". Very touchy.

Its why probably a lot of older guys do see her and continue to do so.

With so much info out there online, sure if youre a novice, a PT has a benefit. However if you have any form of experience in a gym, you really dont need a PT.

There is one female PT that after the session is over, she will help her male clients, "stretch". Very touchy.

Its why probably a lot of older guys do see her and continue to do so.

With so much info out there online, sure if youre a novice, a PT has a benefit. However if you have any form of experience in a gym, you really dont need a PT.
interesting. one day one of the clients may perceive it as behaviour unbecoming.