Is Cogs Safe ????

Wow everyone on here loves Cogs but Oxx and PLSC what a surprise

so did i back in 2003 but its 2007 now if you havent noticed mate

look at luke ball and luke darcy, both of them are twice the player cogs has ever been and its painful watching them trying to play any half decent footy, cogs has both of those guys injury's (op and 2 knees)

id rather be looking at replacements and if cogs comes back its a bonus rather than the typical richmond mentality of waiting for something that will never happen

Wow everyone on here loves Cogs but Oxx and PLSC what a surprise

Throw me into that mix too... looked a gun early in his career because he managed to stand out in a shit side.

I have no doubt he can play, but l have serious concerns about how high people rate him at Punt Road.

He doesnt damage sides. I've only seen one game where he completely destroyed a team - Carlton a few years back when we kicked 13 goals to sip in the first half. But... again... the side we were playing were ****ing terrible.

Throw me into that mix too... looked a gun early in his career because he managed to stand out in a shit side.

I have no doubt he can play, but l have serious concerns about how high people rate him at Punt Road.

He doesnt damage sides. I've only seen one game where he completely destroyed a team - Carlton a few years back when we kicked 13 goals to sip in the first half. But... again... the side we were playing were ****ing terrible.

i had lost all hope on cogs after his op and thought he was just a plodder getting a game in a shit side until last years game against freo, he nearly got 40 touches and ripped it apart and it was great to see but then he got hurt again a few weeks later

during that game i realised he still had it but 1 more knee later im not so sure

You can't say that because he hasn't had a long enough period of consecutive games to prove he isn't isn't as good as he's been rated :cool:

that's why i CAN say it.

It's a tuff one..his body is rooted and seems to be prone to every injury that can be.

Cogs is safe. He's exactly the sort of midfielder a bunch of you on this site keep crying for.

Add to that - at the aftermatch here post the Freo game he gave a talk and was definitely drummed up as part of the future by both March and Miller. March and Miller were also in deep discussion with Cog's old man for a good part of the get together loking very chummy plus probably trying to drum up some finanacial support (for those who haven't picked up on it Cogs senior is a very succesful business owner in contract mining). It wasn't the sort of get together that happens if the kids going to be got rid of.

So yes he'll still be with the tigers - on field - well thats up to him and how he comes back, for he's a champ and will make a big diff in the centre if he finds his old form (or better!).

He should be right. I hope he stays. Good, tough in and under player but 2 years out of the game will take its toll. If he comes back well next year we will have a great young, fast midfield- Foley, Cogs, Deledio, Tuck, Hyde, Tambling ect. :)

Sure with a good knee.
Reality check: Two knee recos and Coughlan will struggle to get back to playing anywhere near his best football.

Can't help but agree. Except the thing that provides some hope is that Cogs, by all reports, is a true professional and leaves no stone unturned in terms of hard work, preparation, self-improvement, etc.

If he has anything left to offer, you can count on him to extract it out of himself.

Can't help but agree. Except the thing that provides some hope is that Cogs, by all reports, is a true professional and leaves no stone unturned in terms of hard work, preparation, self-improvement, etc.

If he has anything left to offer, you can count on him to extract it out of himself.

I've got no doubt he'll give it everything to get back as I am sure he did the last time.
This is his career after all and a very lucrative one given he would be one of our most highly paid players.

It's tragic for him what's happened but I just want to take the emotion out of it for the betterment of the club.

We would get a very good player on our list with Cogs salary. Very good.

Sure with a good knee.
Reality check: Two knee recos and Coughlan will struggle to get back to playing anywhere near his best football.

Did you read the reast of the post M17 - I did qualify.

And I'd only count it as one reco as the first one was a F... .p by all reports. Still hard to get afeter two years out - but he looked fit and confident at the after match.

And BP's right - he'll work like buggeryto get back. Browny seems to be doing OK after the best part of two seasons out so no reason cogs can't

wat do u mean safe ?
have u heard something ?
is he in some sort of danger ?
CALL THE POLICE U SICK BASTARD
POSTING ON THE INTERNET ISNT GOING TO HELP HIM NOW IF HIS IN DANGER OH MY GOD WHATS WRONG WITH U ? U SICK F%#$

ohhh u mean his spot on our list
...yes his safe as safe as safe could be

And I'd only count it as one reco as the first one was a F... .p by all reports. Still hard to get afeter two years out - but he looked fit and confident at the after match.

Sorry W just skimmed your post.
Look I loved Cogs the year he won the JDM. I thought he would be our next captain I really did but injuries have cut him down in his prime.
It's sad but it happens.

Of course Wallace and Miller would be encouraging him to get back.
What else are they going to say??

However I doubt any pen will be put to paper for a new contract just yet.
Certainly shouldn't be until his rehab is finished & after Mark's been put through a rigorous physical workout over a sustained period. Coughlan has to prove his two time rebuilt knee can cut the mustard and withstand the strain of another AFL season.
If he can show that he'll get another season in the Y&B, anything else would be neglecting the best interests of the RFC.

This is his career after all and a very lucrative one given he would be one of our most highly paid players.

We would get a very good player on our list with Cogs salary. Very good.

Coughlan signed a deal after his first long bout with OP and is just on an average wage Magic. He went to the negotiation table not really concerned about cash...more about helping the club - it was in the era where everyone was being asked to take pay cuts to get the likes of Brown and Solomon to the club.

He'd be on little more than $300K and min wage these days (with game payments) is about $220K. Krakouer and Schulz wouldn't be far behind the value of his deal. His next one will probably be min wage.

In the end, when your father's rolling in cash there's no need to hold the club to ransom - like Gaspar did. Coughlan would have been very aware of the flak Gaspar copped from supporters (the year prior to Cogs' new deal) and also well aware he was also going to be potentially prone to long periods with injury.

His statements at the time he last signed really impressed me - money was not his focus at all and he valued his worth with possible future injury in mind... rather than 'I'm a top-5 player who deserves X.'

Having said that, not all players have the luxury of being born into a wealthy environment.

At the same time, kudos to Cogs that his comfortable fall back position hasn't affected his attitude or hunger to perform at all.

Do you know him personally Ray ?

Fact is he came very close to retiring after his slip in the shower .

Retain him ? ... for sure , as you said he won`t cost much , but as far as his role for the RFC going to forward , has been reduced to a project player at best

The game has sped up in the last couple of years and, especially after two knee ops, Cogs will struggle a bit with the pace of the game. But he is very good in close around the stoppages. He's also a fairly smart footballer, which sometimes counts for more than a quick but dumb footballer. We've possibly seen the best of him due to injuries, but I think he can still be a valuable footballer for us. He has that bit of G&D that we need.

I think the emergence of Tuck and Foley, along with the improving group of Deledio, Tambling, White, Polo, Jackson and Edwards will help Cogs immensely. Tivendale and a fit (i.e. no broken hand) Kane Johnson are still important too. He won't have to do it all like he was in 2003. He can be played sparingly, in bursts, as an impact player. Our midfield group is getting better and will be competitive with the best over the next few years. By 2009 hopefully Cogs can be one of our frontliners again, with a good 3-5 years left in the game. :thumbsu:

he is safe but its pretty funny everybody talking about him as some sort of saviour when their are massive question marks on him getting back to any decent footy

gotta agree there dude. 2 knees in 2 years is not the recipe for a triumphant return. But the one thing that this guy will do when he gets back is hang it all on the line to get back to decent footy. If he gets back to the form then we are in, if he doesnt, then we have a depth player, or we havent a player. We wont know until we know. When we do know then we can look forward with what we know.
Dont worry about the p-oxx...he doesnt want to look backwards, mainly because he might see himself there. i.e backwards. ;)

Coughlan signed a deal after his first long bout with OP and is just on an average wage Magic. He went to the negotiation table not really concerned about cash...more about helping the club - it was in the era where everyone was being asked to take pay cuts to get the likes of Brown and Solomon to the club.

Interesting post Rayzor.
Cogs the anti-Gaspar hey?

Just went up in my estimations considerably.:thumbsu:

No wonder the club's showing him so much support.