is colonial a temple for the disgusting rich morons

Oct 4, 2000
melb vic aust
What do you all think about footy today
i.e,the corporate dollar,colonial stadium,people wearing suits to football
the closure of waverly,wayne jacksons inability to run the back yard crap house let alone the AFL. football should not be a toy for these overweight pompous disgustingly rich fatcats.Its been a working class game just about all of its history and survived very nicely.Were these fich fat bastards jelous cause we the shit kickers got so much enjoyment out of it!!!!

Would you like to go back to the so-called 'good old days' Joffa ?

get real.

and another thing - Footy never was an exclusively working class sport, thats why it is so-popular because it has a universal appeal that transcends traditional class and /or religious boundaries.

The have been working class (Collingwood, Richmond, Footscray), middle class (Hawthorn, Essendon) and upper class (Melbourne) clubs around since 1859 when the game was first played (between two upper class schools I might add).

Football is not 'owned' by any one group in society - there is place for everybody (yes Joffa even the dreaded 'suits') in Footy - thats why it holds a decisive advantage over Rugby.

yep
give me back the footy from the old days anytime!!it was a mans game as it should be!!
none of this yuppie slinging cowardly insults from behind a computer screen. football has moved with society it is gutless bigotted and very very sad.Football did stem from working class origins oh dont i wish i coulda been around in the 30's and 40's you know if you did not like someone it was so simple you went up a laneway somewhere sorted it out both go to the pub have a drink and be home in time for tea.
any way back to the subject.Football is thucked its not what it was there has been too many changes,colonial is bullshit,the closure of waverly was bullshit,and wayne jackson is a yuppie foureyed bastard who could not run a brothel.

No bullshit

Cast your mind back to 1986 - the last season before the AFL Commission was set up.

Australian Footy was in big, BIG trouble.

The average home crowd was around 17,000, half the clubs were broke, all the old suburban grounds were dilapidated and some were even downright dangerous. Power clubs like Carlton were flashing the chequebook around and the poorer clubs did not even look like being able to field competitive teams.
Canberra had just been lost to the Rugby enemy and really, everywhere you looked footy seemed to be on its knees.

Joffa - if we had gone on the way it used to be we wouldn't be here today talking about it. You may prefer the way it used to be but really the old suburban-based VFL was a hangover from another era that was on borrowed time by the 1980's.

There is alot that is missed about the way footy used to be but there is also alot to like about the game these days, like highly professional players with great skills, big crowds in comfortable venues, TV friendly match schedules, including Friday and Saturday night football, and most importantly the money coming into the game these days has meant that most of the old clubs have survived and prospered, - and that includes Collingwood, because make no mistake mate - if we had continued with the old, narrowly focussed and parochial VFL then there is every chance that half the old clubs would have folded - including Collingwood.

Just look at what happened to Rugby League here in Sydney. The games administrators put off the hard decisions for years and years untill the Super League thing forced their hand - then reform of the game was done on the run and the whole thing now is a shambles - there is only one foundation club left standing (Roosters / Eastern Suburbs) the rest have all merged and become mongrels that nobody likes or they dissappeared alltogether.

If you like old-style football you can always go and watch the VFL.

Its funny how the only people who call people who have worked hard for their money and have attained some form of affluence morons, are those who never get off their arses and work and in the end work on a scummy wage or Centrelink handouts.

Jealousy is a curse.

Cowards and idiots resort to cheap shots when they are unable to talk about the issues (which they raised in the firstplace)

Just go back to good 'ole Victoria Park mate - where the beers are warm, the showers are cold, and you can catch a nasty disease in the Spa.

Hey bloodandshitangel

Yep i would go back to victoria park anyday
to stand with MEN as a youngster was a thril

Smart arses in suits were rightly told to thuck off and while at it shove those evil plastic cards right up yer clacker!!

There's a few on here that would not last 5 seconds at good ole vicky park.

There is nothing like the sound of WHACK and you look around and some yuppie smart arse would be on the deck CRYING......lol

Joffa, you may prefer Sydney and the SCG where if you are a coach you can have it off with your captain's wife and when the captain thumps you you end up in hospital with "gallstones" and Bob Hammond takes over as coach when you resign.

They play toss they keys in every Saturday night and then the boys who miss out go to Oxford Street.

Gee - what witty clever comebacks - NOT

you are a deadset neanderthal Magpie Joffa - no kidding.

Tough guy hey ?

LOL - what a freakking joke - I notice you still don't want to talk about the issue - you just want to take cheap shots and then when it all gets a bit too hard you lapse into gormless threats.

Proof positive I am attempting to communicate with a complete fool.

and don't call me a yuppie - you wouldn't know the meaning of the word sunshine.

i hate COLONIAL,its such a little hole but i'll go there anyway to watch the pies play and the people in that little dinner social room piss me off heaps,having lunch in their shit frikin suits,they are annoying as!!!!

LATERZ

SAV IS SEXY-->36 UNTIL FOREVER-->ROCCA BROS ROCK MY WORLD!!!!!!

Why does everyone hate Colonial.
I've never been there for a football game, but i have been there for a football convention, and the view that the ground gave was awesome. I was right on top of the play (if there was a game) and i can't wait till next seasno because i'll definately be going.

As for you Joffa, your just an idiot. Everyone has this perception that the AFL can't run a chook raffle, and are corrupt. You want to see corrupt - try the IOC (although i love the Olympics, i hate the IOC). Unorganized - the NRL.
The AFL is one of the best run corporations in the world, and does make a few mistakes, and everyone pounces on them. I have a friend who works in the merchandising business, for the AFL, ACB, and the NRL, and he has told me that the AFL are so much more organized than the other 2 its not funny.

I'm not a yuppie, but if your style is to wear suits around everywheere, than whats wrong with that. Maybe they think that people who don't wear suits and go to the boundary screaming there heads off are little poor bustards who they dont wanna know about. Its their lifestyle, and you just have to except that.

BSA i agree with you 100% football had to change and it has done so for the better

the reason Mags wants to go back to the early days is because that when collingwood were winning games and premierships, Mags your said its tough to come on here and give insults behind a computer screen, i would like to remind you who started the insults, oh and ive realised you have removed that signature from the end of your posts.

as for colonial i think its awesome, apart from medalion club it is no more expensive than the mcg, the view is great, i went there for the cricket aswell and i couldnt believe how close you are to the game, its almost unreal

Colonial Stadium is a dud. It represents the AFL's failed vision of the future of football. It is the AFL biggest mistake ever (and they've made plenty).

The first thing I noticed about Colonial, even before they built it, was that it was always going to be too bloody small for a major sporting venue. You can't play a Grand Final there. You can't play an ANZAC Day game there.

Why go to all the trouble to build a supposedly major football stadium and only make it big enough for 52,000 people. That's about as useful as a glass door on a shit-house.

Well, the reason is this. By deliberately building the stadium too small you create an acute shortage of seating. Therefore you can charge vitually whatever you like for reserved seating. Sure, you'll get less people. But you'll make more money by charging an arm and a leg.

Well, that was the AFL's theory, at least. But the AFL fell flat on its arse. It overestimated its ability to control the market. The public simply didn't buy it. They stayed away in their droves.

And the utter incompetence of the ticketing system in the early days, plus other problems such as the problems with the playing surface, created so much bad publicity that they had to actually offer free admission to one particular match. Even then, with two Victorian teams competing, they still couldn't fill the venue. Major embarassment.

And they were forced to back down on their original intention to make it a virtually all-reserved venue. Ha Ha Ha. Serves 'em right.

So we have the absurd situation in which a stadium deliberately built too small in order to maximise revenue is half-empty at most games. Were it not for the fact that its prize tenant was virtually unbeatable during the 2000 season the figures for Colonoscopy Stadium would have been even more embarassing.

Perhaps the most absurd thing about this venue is the way the crowd is distributed. At matches with crowds of around 30,000 you get the bottom level tightly packed. The top level reasonably tightly packed. And then this huge gap in the middle level, where the owners of the best seats in the house haven't bothered to turn up. Nothing illustrates the class divisions in Australian football culture quite like this. Of course the old MCG has its privileged access areas, I know. But because the stadium is so big it only really becomes an issue when the crowd gets above 70 or 80 thousand.

Anyway, that's what I hate about Colonoscopy Stadium.

It's a stadium designed for people with money. And it has also been designed to exclude those with very little money.

But because the public has, so far, rejected it, it is still possible to get general admission seating. I hope the public continues to treat the AFL's vision for the future of football with the contempt that it deserves.

Power to the People.

------------------
**floreat pica**

The AFL one of the best run corporations in the world???? Don't make me laugh WCE2000. Being able to organize the sale of a few scaves and beanies does not make your business case study material of world's best performance at the Harvard MBA course.

On the other hand, Alf's description of Colonial could possibly make it to the course, but only for those taking Marxist economics.

Thanks for the chuckle, weegirl man.

I also agree with the Bloodstained Angels call.(Up to the pont Joffa raised the intellectual level to that of parliamentary question time) Like it or not, if the game didn't go national, it would be finished now.

Agree with Bloodstained Angel? I find it hard to agree with anyone who manages to be so completely contradictory, effectively labelling himself a "coward and idiot".

QUOTE:
Cowards and idiots resort to cheap shots when they are unable to talk about the issues (which they raised in the firstplace)
Just go back to good 'ole Victoria Park mate - where the beers are warm, the showers are cold, and you can catch a nasty disease in the Spa.

If that last sentence isn't a cheap shot, I'll go heave.

I'm nowhere near as opposed to Colonial as I was before the season began. As a venue, it is fantastic for watching footy. HOWEVER, I completely agrtee with Alf's sentiments re: size. It was deliberately made too small for 2 reasons:
1. The more limited the availability of anything (i.e. seats) the more you can charge for them
2. The more people who can't attend a game the more likely they are to want to see it on TV - Pay TV. Basically, Colonila is a huge new TV studio for sports on Pay TV.

Having said that, I hated Waverly and would never want to go back there.

But Vic Park was THE place to feel footy: not just see a game, but be part of the whole footy experience. Upper, middle & working class, all at the Yarra Falls end. not many suits worn, though, hey Joffa.

------------------
Broadie
(Yet another refugee from Nick's BB)

[This message has been edited by Broadie (edited 10 October 2000).]

is colonial a temple for the disgusting rich morons