Is Cricket 'DEAD' Thread

I'd just like to see them pick a team based on current form. Seems the reward these days for domestic form is a CA contract and a spot in the PM's 11 instead of pressing for a test spot.

There would be more than one change if I was a selector.

Spot on mate :thumbsu:

As far as selectors go....can anyone explain Brad Hodge to me? What was it, a double-century in his last test innings and never seen again in the baggy green?
just like Dizzy Gillespie. his last game he scored 200 runs. possibly the most confusing thing to happen in test history. though Harbhajan Singh's back to back centuries a few days back was pretty bizarre.
but yeah, Brad Hogde's treatment was a farce. must be more going on behind the scenes a la Dean Jones' mysterious non selection. damn anti-Vic conspiracy i tells ya
to answer the OP question, i reckon the forthcoming test World Cup should bring a bit of interest back to the game. though as it stands, Australia ranked #5 wouldn't qualify.

just like Dizzy Gillespie. his last game he scored 200 runs. possibly the most confusing thing to happen in test history. though Harbhajan Singh's back to back centuries a few days back was pretty bizarre.
but yeah, Brad Hogde's treatment was a farce. must be more going on behind the scenes a la Dean Jones' mysterious non selection. damn anti-Vic conspiracy i tells ya
to answer the OP question, i reckon the forthcoming test World Cup should bring a bit of interest back to the game. though as it stands, Australia ranked #5 wouldn't qualify.

No mystery with Brad Hodge at all. The double ton on a Perth featherbed notwithstanding, he looked terrified against some of the Saffer quicks on a couple of sporting decks. One dismissal (?Sydney or Melbourne) was embarrassing.

Oh and a typical Gabba crowd for the meaningless 20/20 on tonight.

No mystery with Brad Hodge at all. The double ton on a Perth featherbed notwithstanding, he looked terrified against some of the Saffer quicks on a couple of sporting decks. One dismissal (?Sydney or Melbourne) was embarrassing.

Oh and a typical Gabba crowd for the meaningless 20/20 on tonight.

That's a bit harsh Messenger. I've seen some of the most celebrated players of the game look awkward and uncomfortable at times.

Ability and temperament had nothing to do with his limited Australian international career.

No anti-Vic conspiracy there either Willie_R

That's a bit harsh Messenger. I've seen some of the most celebrated players of the game look awkward and uncomfortable at times.

Ability and temperament had nothing to do with his limited Australian international career.

No anti-Vic conspiracy there either Willie_R

This was worse than simply uncomfortable.

How do we explain Hodge's career?

Oh, and best of luck to Xavier Doherty this week. Recent treatment of spin bowlers by the selectors is poor (Messrs Casson, Krejza, McGain et al say Hi).

I'm sorry to say that with only two days until the Ashes I really don't care. It pains me to write that, because I've always loved my cricket but I really feel it's lost its way both on and off the field. I'm hoping that some mild interest creeps in over the next 36 hours.

Anyone else feel like our selection policy, coaching and approach just totally sucks and is part of the malaise?

I'm sorry to say that with only two days until the Ashes I really don't care. It pains me to write that, because I've always loved my cricket but I really feel it's lost its way both on and off the field. I'm hoping that some mild interest creeps in over the next 36 hours.

Anyone else feel like our selection policy, coaching and approach just totally sucks and is part of the malaise?

I reckon they nailed it on the Offsiders on Sunday morning. Revolving door policy with the bowlers (esp spinners) yet batsmen are immune from the chop.

Hussey and North simply shouldn't be there. Time to bite the bullet and go for some honest generational change.

Sorry you feel that way Grizz.

I'm the opposite. I'm getting pumped for it. Been trying to work the angles all week on how to watch the opening day but just aint going to happen. Will have to put up with the Cricket Aust Live Scores app instead.

For sure mate. It sucks big time. Everyone can see it except for the three amigos.

Sorry you feel that way Grizz.

I'm the opposite. I'm getting pumped for it. Been trying to work the angles all week on how to watch the opening day but just aint going to happen. Will have to put up with the Cricket Aust Live Scores app instead.

For sure mate. It sucks big time. Everyone can see it except for the three amigos.

Yeah, it saddens me too. Langers (who posted above) can attest to my lifelong cricket mania. This is the first time I've felt like this - disinterested etc. I've watched every ball of Ashes series when played in England and worked the next day. Three hours sleep etc. But not now.

Confirmed!

I'll be paying attention, but certainly won't be doing the all dayers. I'm undecided about my tradition of watching the first over of a series. It saddens me too. I have vivid memories of working at Myer and heading down to the TV department to watch Malcolm Marshall square David Boon up with a ripper first ball.

The way the Poms are playing, we'll be lucky to scrape through with a drawn series. I hope i'm proved wrong.

As much as us Victorians love having Peter Siddle in the side, Damian Martyn made a good point today regarding the non-inclusion of Dougie.

"How can they not pick Bollinger when he is ranked the 7th best bowler in the world!"

As much as us Victorians love having Peter Siddle in the side, Damian Martyn made a good point today regarding the non-inclusion of Dougie.

"How can they not pick Bollinger when he is ranked the 7th best bowler in the world!"

Bollinger has been injured. Siddle is at least match fit.

We simply don't have the depth or right player to take number 3, plus other glaring structural weaknesses in our batting, but I'd love to see Ponting drop down to 5 or 6 'bout now in his career.

Funny you say Myer, Langers, Andrew and I are going to abscond down there for the heck of it tomorrow to watch the first few overs!

Bollinger has been injured. Siddle is at least match fit.

Both are as fit as each other I reckon Mess.

They made their mind up pretty early since Siddle was asked to sit out last weeks game whereis Bollinger played for NSW.

Cricket brother.

Why isn't my third cousin, Shaun TAITA opening the bowling for the test side?

Starts today mate. Best thing about cricket, is that I head to the pub around 11.30 from work and sit at the bar and watch it with a cold pint of carlton draught in hand.

There is a bit of rain around brisbane today and day 1 is a sell out which is good news.

Whats the chance of a betting scandal this summer (is pakistan coming)?

What odds that Ponting wins the toss, bats and we're 4-for inside the first session. History says bat first at the Gabba, but today...

Starts today mate. Best thing about cricket, is that I head to the pub around 11.30 from work and sit at the bar and watch it with a cold pint of carlton draught in hand.

There is a bit of rain around brisbane today and day 1 is a sell out which is good news.

Whats the chance of a betting scandal this summer (is pakistan coming)?

Suprised you would even drop into work today GH.

I heading to a mates place (he doesn't know it yet). He's got this huge projector screen, cold beers in the fridge and lovely plush carpet.

Just have to find a rock out the front so I can let myself in :D