Is De-Listed Essendon Player Mark Alvey an in and under player

gutsy

Mar 15, 2006
There has been great discussion on the Sunraysia Football League Thread about this little guy. After having a good year at the bulldogs he suffered a knee injury before being traded to the bombers where he struggled to recapture his form before his knee injury.

I believe Alvey to be very highly skilled and a talented player but think that his ability to get the ball himself is an area he really struggles in. What does everyone think of Alveys ball getting abilities?

"in and under" and "Mark Alvey" are 5 words that do not belong together.
A talented player when he has the ball, just needs others to get it to him.

gutsy said:
There has been great discussion on the Sunraysia Football League Thread about this little guy. After having a good year at the bulldogs he suffered a knee injury before being traded to the bombers where he struggled to recapture his form before his knee injury.

I believe Alvey to be very highly skilled and a talented player but think that his ability to get the ball himself is an area he really struggles in. What does everyone think of Alveys ball getting abilities?

Poor thread Gutsy:thumbsdown: The arguement wasn't whether he was an "in and under player" but whether he was going to be any good in the SFL.

99 % of people will say he is not an "in and under player" but that won't stop him amassing 30 to 40 touches a game because of his fitness, skills and abilitly to read the play. Throw in 40 to 50 goals and he probably will have McLeod Medal. The last 4 winners of the League medal were not in and under players, so how did they get the ball? Because they were "Highly skilled and talanted players" just like Alvey is.

I'm with you Nifty... Sh_t thread gutsy!!! It doesn't matter if he's an in and under player or not, he still going to be one of the best players (if not the best, time will tell) running around in the SFL, and he's definately going to be able to win a one on one contest, he wouldn't have lasted 5 or 6 years in the AFL if he couldn't... SFL footy is pretty open and free flowing anyway so he'll have no preoblem getting his 30+ everyweek

We can all find something that a player is not. The questions about the best players can go on. Is Jason Bell a fleet footed wingman? Is Ryan O'Callaghan a good tap ruckman? Would Gareth Arentz simply just walk by a buffet? Is Mark Alvey an in and under player? Nifto was right. The question is will he be a good player? No doubt. he will win his own ball. Erase this thread.

Yaaablett said:
We can all find something that a player is not. The questions about the best players can go on. Is Jason Bell a fleet footed wingman? Is Ryan O'Callaghan a good tap ruckman? Would Gareth Arentz simply just walk by a buffet? Is Mark Alvey an in and under player? Nifto was right. The question is will he be a good player? No doubt. he will win his own ball. Erase this thread.

Here, here. Gee gutsy talks a lot of crap, he thinks he's this massive expert on everything but how is anyone supposed to know how Alvey will perform outside AFL level. Being an outside player in the AFL doesn't mean a lot when you're playing in Sunraysia, he will dominate at that level getting the ball for himself or running over the top of every other player in the league. Stop wasting everyones time gutsy!!

trev riordan said:
Here, here. Gee gutsy talks a lot of crap, he thinks he's this massive expert on everything but how is anyone supposed to know how Alvey will perform outside AFL level. Being an outside player in the AFL doesn't mean a lot when you're playing in Sunraysia, he will dominate at that level getting the ball for himself or running over the top of every other player in the league. Stop wasting everyones time gutsy!!

Oh Trev you crying again for someone else again. You want a tissue. I don't think I'm an expert but I am certainly entitled to my opinion whether you agree with it or not. Go back to Nangiloc sook.

Yaaablett said:

There was never ever a mention of Alvey not being a good player, of course he will be. My point is that Alvey will not win a McLeod because unlike the other McLeod medallists of the past 4 years, he does not have the support around him for players to get him the ball. He will gather many a possession out on his own and get heaps of loose ball gets but without players giving him the ball out of packs, he will not be the big impact player all are expecting. Don't get me wrong, he is the best thing in this area for many a year and I hope he does prove me wrong, but I don't think so.

hotdogs17 said:
I'm with you Nifty... Sh_t thread gutsy!!! It doesn't matter if he's an in and under player or not, he still going to be one of the best players (if not the best, time will tell) running around in the SFL, and he's definately going to be able to win a one on one contest, he wouldn't have lasted 5 or 6 years in the AFL if he couldn't... SFL footy is pretty open and free flowing anyway so he'll have no preoblem getting his 30+ everyweek

What was the last game of footy you watched in Mildura Hotdogs, Essendon V Richmond. (They aren't in the SFL) SFL footy is stop start and packs everywhere. It is far from free flowing, hence why they struggle when it comes to Interleague footy where the game is more open and free flowing.

This might change with the influx of quality players this year though. Let us hope so.

where is he actually playin this yr if he didnt get the 2nd chance at essendon a few yrs back he was gunna play at eltham but no idea where he is playin now?

melbdocker said:
where is he actually playin this yr if he didnt get the 2nd chance at essendon a few yrs back he was gunna play at eltham but no idea where he is playin now?

He has returned to his home club of Wentworth. Had signed with Port Adelaide but his love for cricket caused a few dramas and he is waiting on a clearance back to Wenty this year.

gutsy said:
He has returned to his home club of Wentworth. Had signed with Port Adelaide but his love for cricket caused a few dramas and he is waiting on a clearance back to Wenty this year.
Gutsy. What have you done in your football career mate? Its only plastic footy at the moment. Wait till the real stuff starts and I'm sure Mark will give us all a football lesson. Gutsy, I dont know who you are or what you've done in football but it sounds as if you've won 5 brownlow medals? If you dont mind me asking, could you please let me know what you have done in your football career and if you've playes 59 games at the highest level? Please Reply?

Yaaablett said:
I'm with you about Gareth Yaaaablet. He will stop for sure at the buffet.

The Couch said:
Gutsy. What have you done in your football career mate? Its only plastic footy at the moment. Wait till the real stuff starts and I'm sure Mark will give us all a football lesson. Gutsy, I dont know who you are or what you've done in football but it sounds as if you've won 5 brownlow medals? If you dont mind me asking, could you please let me know what you have done in your football career and if you've playes 59 games at the highest level? Please Reply?

With you there Couch. Goutsy you are a disgrace. Its obvious that you are nothing more than a jealous opposition supporter with nothing better to do with your time than try to stir a bit of controversy and maybe put the poor boy off his game. Sorry but its going to take more than the opinion of one toss to upset him. His track record speaks for itself, stop wasting all our time start talking some real footy issues.:thumbsdown:

ITCHY GOOCH said:
With you there Couch. Goutsy you are a disgrace. Its obvious that you are nothing more than a jealous opposition supporter with nothing better to do with your time than try to stir a bit of controversy and maybe put the poor boy off his game. Sorry but its going to take more than the opinion of one toss to upset him. His track record speaks for itself, stop wasting all our time start talking some real footy issues.:thumbsdown:

Hit the nail on the head there Graham.

I'm a little confused with the point of all of this.

If he han't been cleared by Port Adelaide, then he wont even play.

Carts and horses go in a certain order!!

Luckily enough (sadly for wentworth and Alvey him self) Alvey broke his leg in the first game against red cliffs ? stop me if i am wrong. So this thread can be put to an end

Is De-Listed Essendon Player Mark Alvey an in and under player