Is Geelong home games at Etihad the biggest league-endorsed rort of recent times?

Ha.

Melbourne has to play a home game at Etihad this year...against St Kilda.

We have effectively lost a home game.

Uh what?
If you're a rich club (like Geelong) and can afford to spend more on the football department then you pay more equalisation.
Is it that hard?
You jest surely.

We're not a rich club.

Regardless of how much we pay it shouldn't be capped as that just favours the bigger clubs.

You jest surely.

We're not a rich club.

Regardless of how much we pay it shouldn't be capped as that just favours the bigger clubs.

25 straight years of profit tells me otherwise...

But thats what the tax is, and how its calculated...
Dont want to pay it? Sack some water boys.
Its the same for everyone...

25 straight years of profit tells me otherwise...

But thats what the tax is, and how its calculated...
Dont want to pay it? Sack some water boys.
Its the same for everyone...
Or maybe get rid of our Etihad home games so we can get some revenue to pay for it.

Rather than being taxed by taking the Etihad hit that should be North's (so they can make a quick buck in Tassie) and then pay a tax on top of that.

It is simple we should not be playing home games at Etihad.

Or maybe get rid of our Etihad home games so we can get some revenue to pay for it.

Rather than being taxed by taking the Etihad hit that should be North's (so they can make a quick buck in Tassie) and then pay a tax on top of that.

It is simple we should not be playing home games at Etihad.

What you think you dont get anything out of moving your games to ethiad?

You made a loss one year. Only one.

What you think you dont get anything out of moving your games to ethiad?

You made a loss one year. Only one.
Well in recent times those home games at Etihad have been against Essendon and Carlton mostly.

The Carlton games we've made * all on as they've been rubbish for a while, while Essendon has been a little better but nowhere near what we'd get if it were 22-25k at home. That's the problem. The lost revenue.

Then having to pay the same clubs with whom we're bailing out by taking there home games that they sold, by then paying a tax to them as well.

I agree its completely unfair that a majority of clubs are forced to play games at Etihad to pay off the stadium debt while Geelong pull in a stack of clean money off the gate sales at Simonds.

The reason Etihad tenants are selling games where allowed is because of how ridiculously high the crowds need to be to even break even let alone make a $. Geelong have it faaaaaaaaar better than most when it comes to stadium deals, it's not just the "true home ground" advantage. Its money made off of signage, sponsorship, gate sales, food, drink etc at their own stadium.

Its easy to look at figures in that article and think its doom and gloom but it's primarily Geelongs own doing in regard to the redevelopment which has cost them which in the long run will only increase the money they pull in from games.
This is absolute garbage - whose decision was it for North to make Etihad its home ground?

Are you suggesting Geelong should not be based in Geelong? Last time I looked Geelong is not part of Melbourne

Some might say the amount Geelong gets from the Vic government for every game played at Kardinia Park is a rort.
How so, and what money are you talking about? Geelong FC does NOT own Simonds Stadium and never has.

When the redevelopment is completed Geelong FC will be a tenant at Simonds Stadium and a trust will run the facility just as the MCG is run.

Some might say the amount Geelong gets from the Vic government for every game played at Kardinia Park is a rort.
Bit rich coming from a Hawk fan....how much did Hawthorn FC pay to be based at Waverley?

Answer: $1.00

Well in recent times those home games at Etihad have been against Essendon and Carlton mostly.

The Carlton games we've made **** all on as they've been rubbish for a while, while Essendon has been a little better but nowhere near what we'd get if it were 22-25k at home. That's the problem. The lost revenue.

Then having to pay the same clubs with whom we're bailing out by taking there home games that they sold, by then paying a tax to them as well.

How much would you realistically make on a Carlton game at Simmounds? (genuine question)
Couldn't see you getting a massive crowd to that one, given how bad Carlton are.

How much would you realistically make on a Carlton game at Simmounds? (genuine question)
Couldn't see you getting a massive crowd to that one, given how bad Carlton are.
Moot this year given the reduced capacity but at full capacity I reckon 25k would be achievable which would make more money than we do with 35k at Etihad.

The Carlton games we've made **** all on as they've been rubbish for a while, while Essendon has been a little better but nowhere near what we'd get if it were 22-25k at home. That's the problem. The lost revenue.

I guess Hawthorn and Collingwood won't be paying the equalisation tax either then, since both often get forced into games at Etihad.

Bit rich coming from a Hawk fan....how much did Hawthorn FC pay to be based at Waverley?

Answer: $1.00

It's not really at all the same. That is a private company owning land that essentially has no value to them, because it's heritage listed, and thus can't be developed. This deal was first offered to Saint Kilda, who turned it down, but Mirvac realise that having an AFL club there is better for them than having an empty oval with a random grandstand. Obviously it's a nice deal, but it hardly compensates us for having our home ground sold from under us. It's like if Kardinia Park was sold, and then Geelong were allowed to train there, but had to play games elsewhere. You'd much rather have your current arrangement, wouldn't you?

This is absolute garbage - whose decision was it for North to make Etihad its home ground?

Are you suggesting Geelong should not be based in Geelong? Last time I looked Geelong is not part of Melbourne

I think all he is suggesting is that not only do you have a better stadium deal in general, but you also get to put all your own specific advertisements and sponsor messages up all year, whereas at Ethiad you are not only limited on what you can put up, but also the fact that its not there all year round.

So who paid for your stadium?

We complain because we only get given 7-8 home games at HOME which is unfair and then have 3-4 sides listed as exempt from travelling down here. That's unfair.
We pay for the stadium (we being Port and the Crows) to the SMA, basically most of the profit is creamed to pay for game development and the stadium in SA in lieu.

Quotes from this article;

The AFL is tipping in money to this project, as well as the state government. In the long run this will benefit Geelong greatly.

In the short term, Geelong are being asked to make up a shortfall by playing a couple of games at the Dome. It's not like the games against North and Essendon were going to be played at Simmonds anyway - and next year the capacity will be 25% down due to the construction. Is he annoyed they aren't being played at the MCG?
Perhaps West Coast can play home games at Etihad, due to the AFL helping to fund Perth's new stadium

EDIT
Geelong vs Kangaroos - recent attendances.
2015 - Simonds - 23,452 / Etihad - 31,270
2014 - Simonds - 27,402 / Etihad - 32,564
2013 - Etihad* - 34, 152 / Etihad - 33, 584 (*Geelong Home Game)
2012 - Etihad - 29,630

More fans go to see the games at Etihad, even when playing a 'small' club like the Kangaroos and even when it is a home game for Geelong.
Now do the same with money made by the GFC

Geelong should never play a home game in Melbourne. The MCG and Etihad should be off limits to them for home games.

It's not really at all the same.
Yes it is, whether it's government or private concessions. Fact is most clubs have received financial support in one form or another, e.g., Collingwood with its training facility, WCE & Freo with the new football stadium in Perth, Essendon with its training facility at Tullamarine, and yes, Geelong with the redevelopment of Simonds Stadium, a facility that will be managed by an MCC like trust when finished.

Clubs who receive financial support for training bases from governments do so because they are community resources and the community benefits from them. Geelong however profit from the state government funding and they don't allow the public to use it.

Research is a wonderful thing. There are community elements in stages of redevelopment

How does the community benefit from extending the stands and capacity? The Geelong Football Club gets to earn more money as a result of the taxpayer.

In a time where many industries are falling over in Geelong, that money is better spent in other areas.