Is GWS's premiership window about to close?

GC2015

May 27, 2013
Gold Coast
I posed the exact same question to the BF public on the eve of GWS's preliminary final victory over the Pies last year (click here to see that thread) and the notion was quickly shot down as rubbish with the thread getting locked pretty quickly. Now it's time to revisit the question. Two pretty questionable losses to North and the Dogs in the last two rounds has led to the Giants currently sitting 12th on the ladder with a record of 1-2 and a very difficult fixture against the in form Magpies coming this Friday night. The Giants could very well find themselves with a record of 1-3 after 4 rounds and possibly fall into the 14-16 range on the ladder if results don't go their way. Following the Collingwood game, the Giants face Hawthorn at home and Port Adelaide away. There are also growing rumours about significant GWS players like Jeremy Cameron potentially exploring their free agency options at the end of this year.

So, let's try this again. Is GWS's premiership window on the verge of closing?

No, premiership windows aren't really a thing.

There's teams that aren't good enough or experienced enough but other than that it's pretty much a load of crap.

I think we can say the superteam that many predicted with the draft concessions will not materialise but a flag is certainly possible in the next few years.

No, premiership windows aren't really a thing.

There's teams that aren't good enough or experienced enough but other than that it's pretty much a load of crap.

I think we can say the superteam that many predicted with the draft concessions will not materialise but a flag is certainly possible in the next few years.
Define the term premiership window? lol

I know its funny saying this as I am a dockers fan. lol

Now.... lets be realistic, teams rise, teams fall, then rise again, then fall again.

With the equalization of the AFL, Your typical side goes through a 3-6 year period of not making finals and get a couple of top 5 picks to recruit elite players to go back up the ladder. They then spend 3-6 years of playing finals and a possible shot or 2 to get a flag in that period.

If you know your team is going to spend 4-5 years outside the top 8, you usually try and build from the bottom. The 1st year is vital. Common sense is to get a bunch of KPPs in the 1st year of the rebuild. so 3-5 years down the track the KPPs are developed. Then in the 2nd year, you get mids and another KPP or 2 to fill up your KPP stocks.

Freos 1st round picks from 2007-14 havent been too inspiring. Their 1st rounders from 2016 onwards, have been better.

Saying that. I look at Brisbane. They eventually recovered after the end of 2013 once they sacked Voss as coach and guys like Yeo, Polec. docherty and Karazenis etc were traded.

Usually if you get 5-7 players that are 18-20 years old in your 1st year of your rebuild. Then in 5 years time they will be 23-25 year olds with 60-100 games under the belt.

Cameron 27, Greene 26, Coniglio 26, Whitfield 25, Kelly 25.

Reckon they’ll still be in a window of opportunity while these guys are still playing top level footy, another 5 years.

Just need the right supporting cast around them.

They are going to have depth issues and so will Gold Coast in the future. Having heaps of high picks impacts player retention and therefore impedes development of fringe players.

No. All our elite talent has re-signed and is around for a considerable time. Those Year 1 players are 26 this year. (Whitfield 1 year year younger, Kelly 2)
We have 8 players picked inside pick 28 over the last 3 years.
the draft before is Tim Taranto & Perryman (They are 22 this year)

That is 10 under 22 players with excellent pedigree.

Of which Taranto, Taylor, Ash and Green are projecting as A grade or near A grade players.

I also rate Brent Daniels as in that class and Perryman not far behind it, not many neutrals would.

Caldwell, Hately and Hill all look promising.

That young quality depth would normally be associated with a developing list.

talent wise no. culture wise, theres clearly something going on. could just be a lack of hard work, getting ahead of themselves, doubting themselves on field, front runner attitude, who knows. they just dont seem to stand up when things arent going exactly right. that could be more linked to cameron than the players, a new coach with new support or motivational methods could see them explode. or even just a new gameplan, do they even have a set gameplan other than trying to be skillful? all it took for us to go from meh to the best was a revision of the gameplan and internal culture, it could easily happen at the giants. they certainly haven't made the most of their talent and dont look like doing so in the near future without something changing.

They have played in the last 4 finals series, 3 prelims and a GF, with horrific injuries every year but the first one.
They lose 2 games under exceptional circumstances and they are all of a sudden there is cultural issues.
As a reminder for the Pre-lim these were some of the outs.
Whitfield
Ward
Cognilo
Greene
Delidio
Patton

Plus a few lesser players.

And Phil Davis was injured during the game.

A bit of adversity they handled that night.

They need an elite ruckman

If only there was a bloke from Collingwood that they passed on about 8 times...

Still is one of the worst howlers they have made. Could well already have won a flag