Is Kozzi Pickett a top 10 player

When was the last time Kozzy finished top 25 in either the Brownlow or Coaches Award, or top 2 in his club Best and Fairest?
Dunno but I was replying to the flog claiming he needed 29 and 4 every single week just to be top 20 which is clearly absolutely ridiculous.

29 and 4 every weeks makes you the best player ever above Leigh Matthews.

I don't think it matters whether you think he's top 5, 10, or 20. It's all subjective and will change on a weekly basis.

He's one of the few genuine match winners and can do some things most other players simply can't.

Last year he had 3 games where he had 20+ disposals and kicked 5 goals. How many players in the competition have done that once let alone 3 times in the one season ?

For example, I wouldn't trade him for Butters. Butters is a fantastic player but he doesn't kick goals. He'll never have 29 and 4.

Posters can talk Pickett down. I have no problem with that. But if I try and think who I'd trade him for it's an exceptionally short list.

Top 5?
Daicos, Bont, Butters, Heeney, Gawn, Petracca, Grundy? Who’s he ahead of here

Amazing game last night against Richmond but I think people are knee jerking a bit
This is exactly what happened last year. He was BOG against Richmond. And he was BOG against Carlton. Do people seriously think there's no way Daicos could kick four against that Richmond lineup?

Apart from that, he's polled a 6 vote game and a 1 vote game this year. Daicos has polled votes from both coaches in every game he's played in 2026. Has Pickett ever polled coaches votes for 3-4 weeks straight?

Honestly, people need to keep it in their pants when Pickett has a blinder. He was a deserved All Australian last year, but he's way too up and down for top 10 in my opinion. He was a distant third to Gawn in Melbourne's B&F last year.

He's tracking in the right direction, after an interrupted start to his season. He's strung together an excellent 5-6 weeks. He's looking on track for another AA. Unsurprisingly, given the departures from last year, he's getting much more of the ball while still hitting the scoreboard (though before last night, it was more like a goal per game, instead of the two a game he was going at last year). His last month and a half is simply what the very cream of the crop do week after week, year after year.

I'll give it another month to see if his kept up the current production before hopping on this bandwagon.

Dunno but I was replying to the flog claiming he needed 29 and 4 every single week just to be top 20 which is clearly absolutely ridiculous.

29 and 4 every weeks makes you the best player ever above Leigh Matthews.
I mean just perform every week mate. He is inconsistent vs many other players around the league. It's an honest assessment, no need to get snarky.

5 straight weeks of domination. Dont think thats inconsistent. Think it might be the opposite.

And its only his first season as a full time mid too. Scary thought.

Pickett’s best and fairest result last year was significantly due to being suspended in the first 3 weeks.
Yes, Melbourne's very flawed voting system is heavily reliant on games played. It's why Viney won in 2024 when Gawn clearly had the superior year. But Gawn missed 2 games.

Pickett would have finished second last year under a better model.

Do you reckon he will this year?
This is exactly what happened last year. He was BOG against Richmond. And he was BOG against Carlton. Do people seriously think there's no way Daicos could kick four against that Richmond lineup?

Apart from that, he's polled a 6 vote game and a 1 vote game this year. Daicos has polled votes from both coaches in every game he's played in 2026. Has Pickett ever polled coaches votes for 3-4 weeks straight?

Honestly, people need to keep it in their pants when Pickett has a blinder. He was a deserved All Australian last year, but he's way too up and down for top 10 in my opinion. He was a distant third to Gawn in Melbourne's B&F last year.

He's tracking in the right direction, after an interrupted start to his season. He's strung together an excellent 5-6 weeks. He's looking on track for another AA. Unsurprisingly, given the departures from last year, he's getting much more of the ball while still hitting the scoreboard (though before last night, it was more like a goal per game, instead of the two a game he was going at last year). His last month and a half is simply what the very cream of the crop do week after week, year after year.

I'll give it another month to see if his kept up the current production before hopping on this bandwagon.
This.

Arguably the most spectacular? Sure.

Take into account the opposition and you'll quickly notice he's been so-so against quality teams so far.

Fremantle = Poor
Brisbane = Average
Gold Coast = Good
St Kilda = Average
Carlton = Brilliant
Essendon = Brilliant
Richmond = Brilliant

Next week against Sydney will be a close watch. Can he hit the scoreboard multiple times and influence the game against another good team?

He is top 5 of players you go to the footy to watch.

He isn't top 5 in the league though.

Not yet anyway, he is getting better and better and who knows where he will be in a year or two.
He is comfortably top 15 though.