Analysis Is Leppa the Right Man for the Job?

2 Years in, Is Leppa the Right Man for the Job?

now the cleanup begins. Time to cut out all the cancer and burn the dead wood. Let's hoping the new coach we bring in is given a 5 year contract straight up and an open cheque book to bring in who ever he feels is necessary. Good to see 3 crap coaches get the chop but I'm hoping more to come and I want Leppa to be on board to single out the crap players who played for themselves and I want Leppa to sign their delistment papers as punishment.

I'm sure the likes of Clarke, Barrett and Hutchinson would really appreciate the wider AFL community reveling in their public sacking, yet here these pricks are getting off at a legitimate footy person that have bled on and off the field losing their livelihoods and ability to support their families.

Absolute capaigners the lot of em and I'll be one that will take great delight when these pricks that spruik nothing but garbage finally are given the arse.
Couldn't agree more mate. I remember mick Malthouses wife coming out to the media telling them to leave him alone.... A lot of people gave mick and his wife for this but bloody hell I can understand the frustration they would face day in day out. They are vultures and I would have no people fly kicking any of the names you just mentioned :)

Throw everything at Bomber.

Is he a risk though? From the outside looking in he doesn't look fully committed to a top job especially at somewhere like the Lions. Good coach no doubt but.......

Roo's was my first pick but Melbourne's thrashing makes me doubt that now........let's face it a dream anyway. Aloha.

Ratts for me. Not sure his family would move from Vic but you don't know. His the one for me. He was stiff to get the boot from Carlton and has spent the following years at the coaches factory.

Is there any possibility you can say things in a NICE way. TBH, the way you post just pisses me off! Have some respect.
Happy to see the back of him.Never agreed with his appointment. Never agreed with his game plan, man management or rated his ability to coach if you don't like it bad luck.Have a lovely day.

At no time did I say you could not have a different opinion, or did I pull you up on your opinion.

What I pulled you up on was your post/posts and what you say. There are far better ways to say you want him gone. Your posts often come across as just straight out nasty and spiteful....surely you can do better than that.

Leppa and all he has given of himself and his family to this club, deserve a show of respect at the very least.

Ok. After three years is anyone any closer to working out Leppa's game plan and did anyone ever witness a Plan B? Thanks for putting your hand up Leppa. Good luck in future ventures.

Explain Geelong's.

Hmm as TBD touched on last week I was hoping this wouldn't get messy either but I guess these things are never nice and clearly Leppa is having a whack at certain people here.

http://m.afl.com.au/news/2016-08-28/no-gut-feel-for-leppa-as-job-fate-looms
yep, i watched the presser and he is clearly pissed off that they changed KPIs a few weeks ago, i don't blame him if that is the case.

as he said they would have went harder for more experienced players if he knew, actually mentioned Suckling and not going for future picks in the Aish trade. you have to feel for him but it sounded like he has already seen the writing on the wall.

The Suckling thing doesn't make sense. Why would you chase a player hard initially and then drop off them because they don't fit your long term plans? If they didn't fit your long term plans, why were you chasing them in the first place?

And suggesting that wins and losses aren't a factor. Surely one way of measuring development is your win record. Obviously, it isn't the only measure but stagnating or going backwards on the ladder, year on year, has to put you at a disadvantage when you are trying to prove that you've done your job in developing the list.

I've never been out for Leppa's head but I think the right decision is to move him on now. I get that he's bitter but this is generally what happens when you have two awful years in a row.

I wouldn't think it is parting shots, but probably shows he has the feeling he is gone. Wonder how the timing of 3 weeks matches up to the bomber rumour / saying he is ready to coach.
3 weeks ago to the day, Sharpless changed the club's narrative of being on the right path to "Leppitsch's job will be reviewed", following our thumping in Adelaide.
Thompson made the news 6 weeks ago.
As I've said a few times, we can believe in the long term as much as we like, but sooner or later, commercial realities take over. I guess the Adelaide loss and associated media and anger from membership base made that reality more important.

And just thinking about what Simon Black said our club using too many excuses. Not sure he's taking aim at anyone in particular, rather the whole club. But if we apply it to this situation: "rebuilding" and "being young" should not be a free licence to be completely uncompetitive in most games.

I am actually quite surprised at our terrible defence system, as Leppitsch was a defence coach and has stated his coaching philosophy is defensive in nature.

Pretty flat really. A flogging which gave up over 150 yet no spoon is the yin and yan of blah. I never want to win a spoon but this was the worst way to avoid it in a way.

Thanks Leppa. You tried your hardest and your passion for the club is unrelenting as a player and now a coach. But if they changed the rules it is to create the reason to move you on. Sad but the results show there is not much defence apart from you are resilient and you have had a under resourced coaching department. But results eventually get you in the end.

I wish those that want him gone with a passion can remember he only wants the best for the club as you do so be respectful to a great of our club that has tried his best to give us success.

Big month in front of us all no doubt... And then trade week. OMG

The Suckling thing doesn't make sense. Why would you chase a player hard initially and then drop off them because they don't fit your long term plans? If they didn't fit your long term plans, why were you chasing them in the first place?

And suggesting that wins and losses aren't a factor. Surely one way of measuring development is your win record. Obviously, it isn't the only measure but stagnating or going backwards on the ladder, year on year, has to put you at a disadvantage when you are trying to prove that you've done your job in developing the list.

I've never been out for Leppa's head but I think the right decision is to move him on now. I get that he's bitter but this is generally what happens when you have two awful years in a row.
How long term can you be. .Suckling had at .least 3 years in him,and actually wanted to play for us !

JUSTIN Leppitsch is unsure whether he will see out his contract as Brisbane Lions coach but claims the criteria he's being judged on "shifted" three weeks ago from long-term development to his win-loss ratio... After leading the Lions to finishes of 15th, 17th and 17th in that time with just 14 wins from 66 matches, the three-time premiership defender is highly unlikely to continue next year despite being contracted.
Somebody needs to tell Leppitsch that the word "development" implies actually heading in the right direction and "long term development" is the sum of a series of gains over time, primarily judged by on-field performances. Leppitsch has had three full seasons and while he has picked up a couple of great to good experienced players like Beams, Robinson and Walker and some promising kids, the club has the look and feel of an outfit going backwards. Finishes of 15th, 17th and 17th are just not good enough. Leppitsch can't really expect the Club, supporters and the AFL to simply trust that he will eventually get it right. His argument for keeping his job would no doubt be the same at the end of next year if we had another year of largely rubbish results, but in his heart I'm sure he realises that he has not delivered. In "Leppitsch World" how long is "long term?" How many more years should we wait? Five, six, seven? With Leppitsch as Senior Coach throughout?

Time to walk away Leppitsch and as I said earlier, good luck with all future endeavours.

Is it going to get messy?
“I suppose the messaging throughout the year has been long-term from the footy club, apart from three weeks ago.
“Every moment before that to me hasn’t been a win-loss ratio component to me keeping my job.
“But obviously things have shifted the last couple of weeks so I’m uncertain of what has transpired, that’s for sure.
“As a coach all you are asking for is what are you being assessed on, that’s it. If it was win-loss this year, I would (have) traded probably the first pick ... you’d do other things, wouldn’t you?

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...a/news-story/fedb2f3c405c08db468648df4a1c1819