Is Perrie Right?

• Thread starter Thread starter - PC -

You can't say that fans watch more footy than Perrie or any footy player. With video analysis and the like, I'd be more willing to bet it was the other way than anything.

We all get frustrated at Perrie clangers and he does commit more than his fair share. Those criticisms are warranted and it doesn't take anyone special to notice that he should've held that chest mark, but that's not what I'm talking about. People questioning his value on the team based entirely on his clangers is the problem. A lot of people don't see past the skill errors. With Perrie you have to take the bad with the good, but his good goes unnoticed by many.

I'm certainly not saying that all people who think Perrie shouldn't be in our side don't know what they're talking about. There is a legitimate case for Perrie not being in the team. Personally, I value his work rate and ability to act as a foil. Besides, his skills aren't always that bad.

I also never said that people who haven't played the game can't have valid opinions. I just said that there's a higher likelihood that they'd be uninformed. I've never played footy, let alone at a high level and I like to think I have an above average understanding of the game (noting that the average understanding of the game is quite low). But understanding team sports in general does go a long way towards understanding the role that Perrie plays in our forward line structure - some people just happen to understand that from first hand experience in team sport.

spot on mate

Sarge is my 2nd favourite player (behind Stiffy), and i think as someone else has also stated that he is one of the more important players in the side.
Although most players do play with some injury, i do believe that Sarge has also been playing under severe duress with his knee and thats a great credit to him that he can still perform as well as he has.

i dont think that any player is immune to criticism, however, i find it abhorrent and disgraceful to be booed by some of your own "supporters".
I do not believe that any player deserves that treatment unless he has not tried.
I'm absolutely sick of those around me that continually bag the Sarge at every slight error (and in many cases non-errors) and i swear i'm going to deck one of these people even a lady by the end of the season. :)

Surely every supporter has a right to express their opinions, however some do go over the top. But that is the system we have, a democratic society.

I do honestly believe the Sarge is one of the hardest working players on our list and when all are available, he is still in the top 18 IMO but as a 3rd tall.

One thing I do disagree with his article is asking those who critisize should have some background in team sport or at least played football. Does that mean everyone who praises him should also.

I don't think so Ian. :(

He is an honest trier and probably cops a bit too much flak. He chips in with at least a goal or 2 every match but never kicks a bag. Will never be a star, just an honest trier. He gives 100% every match thought which is all you can ask for from him.

"I guess my frustration comes from the fact that some people who criticise have never played football, they don't know about team sports, the pressure involved or what it takes to get out there week-in, week-out."

Ian, you earn roughly five times the average wage, maybe more. You make that money because the rest of us plough our hard earned dosh into the game, be it by attending matches, pay-TV, merchandise and the rest.

That entitles us to an opinion, as is the norm in the western world.
What has his wage got to do with anything. Quite simply he is performing what his bosses ask him to do so really it means sweet **** all what the uneducated fools think of his performance. Sarge is spot on in that those that generally bag him do not have the understanding of what is asked of him. What they are asking of his is completely different to what coaches are asking for him.

Just because you might pay the membership and susequently pay a very little percetage of his wage (if any for that matter) it doesn't give you or anyone else the right to crusify the player that gives his absolute best and does everything that the coaches ask of him.

I am sick and tired of all those idiots bagging players like Perrie, Shirley and Bode and asking for their head when in actual fact all 3 are VERY important players for our team. They might not be the most skilled, or most polished but they have an exceptionally important role to play in the side and all 3 do it to perfection of their job description. Its is no coincidence that these 3 players generally rank hihgly in Coaches' Awards, Best Team Man and they also poll well in B&Fs. That tells me they are doing their job regardless of what some drongos would think.

Not going to comment on the whole article but was interested in this part...

2 things came to mind. How many on here DONT/NEVER played football or a team sport?

Do we then have a right to criticise?

I have played team sports, in football I have helped a side win a flag. Have played cricket and captained sides to finals. I understand Ian has a role to play and feel I have been supportive of his role within the team. I was surprised at his lack of fitness in Round 1 but have not had anything bad to say about him in the remaining rounds.

So is he right?

do you even need to ask?

of course he's right. that's not even debatable.

nothing easier than sitting in your arm chair, and demanding people do things you're not prepared to do, or capable of.

Look. I'm sure we'd all do that if we could, but until such time as evolutionary extra vertebrae or biting the bullet and getting that rib removal we're going to have to continue to make do with the kindness of others, NOW dammit.

There is a legitimate case for Perrie not being in the team.

actually there isn't. and that's the problem.

people can say, "blah blah blah" and rely on the right to an opinion to say it, not rely on whether their opinion is right.

by ALL statistical analysis perrie is one of the best players of his type in the league. when backed up with the faith and support of the coaching staff, then actually there isn't a legitimate case for perrie not being in the team.

unless arseclown-itis is a legitimate case. :D

Whether on the field or off Pez certainly manages to polarise opinions.

At the end of the day Pez gets a lot of criticism because every week he is asked to do a job that is beyond his ability. The fact is that if we had a player capable of kicking 100 goals standing at full forward and Pez could play further up the ground where he is much more naturally suited he would never get discussed.

The fact is that if we had a player capable of kicking 100 goals standing at full forward and Pez could play further up the ground where he is much more naturally suited he would never get discussed.

And if we had a Chris Judd we wouldn't be stressing about Ricciuto's fitness so much.

Our lot is our lot.

Those who persistently bag Pez or consistently try to justify his exclusion from the side seem to peddle a helluva lot of ifs, buts and maybes.

Good article with Perrie.

He frustrates the hell out of me, but I don't even yell abuse or anything at him.

I think the reason he frustrates me is part of what he sees as a strength, he does make almost every contest, and makes it a contest.

I just wish he'd mark the ball more often.

I think Perrie is an honest hard working footy player and obviously more talented than any of us posting here, I think he polarises people's opinions because when he has a shocker it really sticks in the brain. I think his 2006 finals campaign is an example of this where he was not 100% fit and was just lost. He has had plenty of beauties though and he will always be remembered as an excellent contributor. After reading the article it seems evident that he really struggles with confidence, and at times this ruins his games, last week you could see he just didn't want to kick and from memory at half time his handball count was 6 and his kick stat was 2. He doesn't come across as an arrogant, full of himself type footballer and perhaps that could be a fault if possible. He seems to need to have someone continually telling him he is a GOOD AFL footballer and that he does belong and that he can kick the ball well!! I think he has looked good this year although due to the lack of confidence he seems to freak at times, hopefully his run into September will continue to build his confidence and his best will be seen in our 2007 finals campaign!!

Bah. If we're so unqualified to have an opinion then I assume that we shouldn't be giving out praise either. Take down the banners, get rid of the flags, stop cheering... unless you've played AFL football that is. The Crows players can't have it both ways.

Everyone knows Perrie tries his arse off. No one is denying that he does his best week-in-week-out to create a contest. Or that he is a better option as a key forward than Stevens or McGregor. Even his critics (I am one) know that he should be in our starting 18 each week. We are not completely deluded.

The criticism stems because we want our team to win a premiership, the same as every single supporter in the competition. So we measure every area of our club against the best the opposition will provide. I think with regards to the coaching group, the training facilities and administration we wouldn't have too many worries. On field, our backline and midfield stacks up very, very well. Outstanding actually. Our rucks have been a pleasant surprise. With the injuries to Ricciuto and Hentschel our forward line looks like our weakness.

I don't think this is a ridiculous, unwarranted criticism from an ill-informed observer. There is no doubt that Perrie (or Welsh for that matter) will do their best. There is some doubt that their best will ultimately be good enough. There is further doubt that we have immediate, suitable replacements. So critics like me suck it up, hope that we will be good enough, but are watching the development of blokes like Sellar and Griffin very, very closely...

No - but I think it is a throw away line.

The way I see it, most Crows supporters understand and appreciate that he busts his guts week in week out and that he has his limitations. However that does'nt stop people wanting the complete package.

No - but I think it is a throw away line.

The way I see it, most Crows supporters understand and appreciate that he busts his guts week in week out and that he has his limitations. However that does'nt stop people wanting the complete package.
Wanting a complete package and bagging a player because he is not one are 2 very very different things.

If you are driving a go go mobile that serves you well and gets you from A to B do you then bag it every times a Ferarri drives past you because you would like one of those?

People should realise that Perrie is a player that has got the absolute best out of his ability but he gets bagged because he is not as naturally gifted as some other running around.

Wanting a complete package and bagging a player because he is not one are 2 very very different things.

If you are driving a go go mobile that serves you well and gets you from A to B do you then bag it every times a Ferarri drives past you because you would like one of those?

People should realise that Perrie is a player that has got the absolute best out of his ability but he gets bagged because he is not as naturally gifted as some other running around.
go go mobile > Ferrari :)

I am disgusted at the amount of criticism that Ian Perrie cops every week from Adelaide supporters. One can only imagine how he must of felt when he was being boo'd by the supposed home crowd at AAMI stadium back in round one. The one person that gets to judge whether Ian is up to scratch and deserves his spot in the team is Neil Craig. If he was not sticking to team structure, doing his individual role and was causing the team to lose games he would be dropped straight away. There are some great points in this article. Perrie admits that his problem is a mindset thing when kicking for goal. It just goes to show that he is a confidence player and we need to give him as much support as possible. He shouldn't be worrying about all the criticism he is getting which must put extra pressure on him every week. Even I get frustrated watching him, but there are times when he plays well which far too often seem to go un noticed. Sarge works his but off every week and I admire him for it.

Bah. If we're so unqualified to have an opinion then I assume that we shouldn't be giving out praise either. Take down the banners, get rid of the flags, stop cheering... unless you've played AFL football that is. The Crows players can't have it both ways.

Everyone knows Perrie tries his arse off. No one is denying that he does his best week-in-week-out to create a contest. Or that he is a better option as a key forward than Stevens or McGregor. Even his critics (I am one) know that he should be in our starting 18 each week. We are not completely deluded.

The criticism stems because we want our team to win a premiership, the same as every single supporter in the competition. So we measure every area of our club against the best the opposition will provide. I think with regards to the coaching group, the training facilities and administration we wouldn't have too many worries. On field, our backline and midfield stacks up very, very well. Outstanding actually. Our rucks have been a pleasant surprise. With the injuries to Ricciuto and Hentschel our forward line looks like our weakness.

I don't think this is a ridiculous, unwarranted criticism from an ill-informed observer. There is no doubt that Perrie (or Welsh for that matter) will do their best. There is some doubt that their best will ultimately be good enough. There is further doubt that we have immediate, suitable replacements. So critics like me suck it up, hope that we will be good enough, but are watching the development of blokes like Sellar and Griffin very, very closely...

That pretty much sums it up for me. Good post.

Carl,

I reckon you've missed the point. what makes you think the players give a shit about your (or my) praise? that's an assumption without merit. I am sure they couldn't give a fig if you lived or died (within reason of course).

what he's saying, politely is "who the **** are you, and what do you know?" and frankly it's a fair point. supporters have a right to an opinion, not an opinion that's right.

and this argument about: are they good enough to win a premiership, that is amongst the most empty pieces of rhetoric going around at the moment.

if the player (even played out of position) is the best we have, it's the best we have. however, when judged in their proper context, i.e. Perrie is a complementary forward, 3rd tall; then you can judge them better.

I can tell you, that if we were forced to play Ben Hart & Nigel Smart in the spine (as we often had to in the early years) that no matter how valiently they battled, we wouldn't have won a premiership. It wasn't wasn't Nigel Smart's fault that he couldn't stand Tony Lockett, and it's not Perrie's fault he's forced into being our no.1 marking target in the forward line.

put him in his proper position, and I am not sure there's many better 3rd talls in the league.

I personally think that this mornings article was very insightful. It goes to show how much of an influence the supporters can have on an AFL club not to mention the mind set of a single player.

Imagine this: Ian perrie takes a mark, 1 point behind in the grand final. The final siren goes. He has this kick to win the crows a premiership. As if he is not going to have enough on his mind without worrying about what the CROWS supporters are saying about him. His psychological mindset would play a huge part in whether or not he would kick that goal. If he knew that he had the support of the entire adelaide supporter base i'm sure it would make the kick at goal alot easier. Like he said in the article, at training he would have 20 shots at goal and most likely kick them all, but match day it becomes a different story.

I think that its about time that the crows supporters get behind him and start supporting him rather then boo-ing him when ever he does something "wrong"!! We're supporters people, that generally means you are meant to SUPPORT your team and Ian is part of The Adelaide Football Club Team.

Everyone has a right to their own opinion however i strongly believe this should be left to the boards of bigfooty where it can be discussed and not at a football game.

I am and always be a supporter of Ian Perrie.

This is a tough one - I've read the full article - and I do feel for Pez sometimes.

Sure - I get as frustrated as anyone else and have bagged him for is wastefulness - but never his effort.

Have we got anyone else at the moment ?? - No.

I think it's a bit rich to claim that unless you've actually performed a certain task that you can't have an opinion on it.......otherwise what would be the point in all of us having an opinion on who should be PM.

Pez is what I term an over-achiever. I reckon he has squeezed every single ounce of potential out of himself in his 10 year career. Perhaps at another club with bigger, stronger, more talented forwards - he wouldn't have had the opportunities he's had at the AFC.....but that debate is mute.

While Pez continues to spray 45 metre set shots out on the full, shank 30 metre passes to teamates out of bounds while running uncontested down the wing, and helicopter flat punts at goal from 35 metres out, he is always going to get criticised......and mostly that comes from our frustration at the lack of basics ....rather than anything more sinister (questioning character)....like some Ferretheaded columnists would have you believe.

Everyone has the right to be frustrated at missed opportunities - I'm sure Pez is his harshest critic....so it's a little rich to suggest the rest of us should go easier.....but I'll always support him while he continues to give 100%