Analysis Is Rocky the Right Man for the Job?

Is Rocky the Right Man for the Job?

• Yes

Votes: 68 28.3%
  • No

Votes: 139 57.9%
  • I'm not sure...

Votes: 33 13.8%

If Rich is worth 5 yrs $3 million then what is Rockliff worth?
Surely the captain should get more. Lot more roles in the group and heaps more pressure.

Did we pay overs for rich? And if we did it just means we set the pay scale incorrectly but it is still the current situation pay scale.

He is the right man for the job until there is a better option, and right now there is no way there is a better option in our squad.

I am certainly not saying he is a bad captain at all, but not every captain can be a M.Voss or J.Brown.

What about the possibility of co-captains? Eases some of the responsibility on Rocky and gives another voice at the club. Rocky and Beams/Robinson?

Surely the captain should get more. Lot more roles in the group and heaps more pressure.

Did we pay overs for rich? And if we did it just means we set the pay scale incorrectly but it is still the current situation pay scale.
I think we have always overpaid Rich. I know he got a fairly large second contract based off his first season... every contract extension is an increase on that. Rich should be on about 450k on current output yet he is almost on double that. Laughable really and you wonder why blokes like Rocky want more than Rich on current output but the fact is we can't afford it without jeopardizing our younger talent that will hopefully be on larger contracts than they are on now in the next few years.

Love Robinson to be captain. No idea what his leadership skills are like but the way he extracts every ounce of his talent and his attack on the ball are great traits for a leader.

E
I'm sure redden would be in his ear as well. Telling him how it feels to win occasionally and train in a functional facility.
eagles facilities are pretty crappy too, though I believe the plans for their new one has been approved

Can't imagine one club in the competition paying Rocky $800k for one season let alone 5! If that's what he thinks he is worth/can get, he would be mad not to leave and we would be madder to entertain it. A line in the sand has to be drawn for those praying on the GH5 scare factor. IF any of the media reports are true, then Taylor, Green (who both appear to have made outlandish claims)and Rocky have their toes right on that line. Hopefully they don't cross over it. If they do, time to go.

That's the problem. Rewarding someone for staying even if they're not giving everything that we need them to is a recipe for disaster. It breeds contempt and encourages laziness. At the end of your career and want to make a few more quick $$$? Play for the Lions!
That's not loyalty. That's trading for players. I'm talking players that have stuck it out for the long run. In 3-4 years I hope we're playing finals and if rocky is still playing and leading us to that he deserves as much as 800k a year if not more. That's rewarding loyalty.

When Jed was captain everyone was on here saying Rocky should be captain and he is made for the job. Now all of a sudden he isn't good enough. The guy is out there playing at 70% doing his best with the youngest side in the comp.

No - actually, he is letting down Leppa and he is a big part of the reason Leppa has failed as coach. Apparently.

I think we have always overpaid Rich. I know he got a fairly large second contract based off his first season... every contract extension is an increase on that. Rich should be on about 450k on current output yet he is almost on double that. Laughable really and you wonder why blokes like Rocky want more than Rich on current output but the fact is we can't afford it without jeopardizing our younger talent that will hopefully be on larger contracts than they are on now in the next few years.

Not saying that we don't overpay Rich, but all things being equal with no injuries etc, in an open market I reckon Rich would be of greater interest & value to almost every club compared to Rocky, and have a higher market value. Other teams could probably get more for their buck too by protecting him a little better than we do. Pretty sure all these things will work themselves out over the coming months. A few of the players are posturing, trying to get the best deal possible which is understandable, but I'm confident the board has a plan in action. The problem for all the guys who haven't signed is it's hard to see any club paying more or even the same for you than what the Lions do.

Love Robinson to be captain. No idea what his leadership skills are like but the way he extracts every ounce of his talent and his attack on the ball are great traits for a leader.

Rocky puts his 100% in every match as well, just not as explosive as robbo in 50/50 contests. Would also know what mitch is like on field, watching on tv you don't see much away from the ball. Dayne Beams comes across as a shy fella on field, once again if anyone has an opinion what he is like off ball etc. Zorko is to easily provoked and can be a loose cannon during a match I don't think he is the right Choice. Dan Rich is to quiet and Pearce is not a good leader. Our next skipper is still to young. Harris Andrews or Benny Keays will lead the club down the track, Benny seems a good fit.

I wouldn't touch the captaincy unless rocky parts way with the club which I don't think will happen.

Leadership isn't a random art anymore - there are research journals full of how to identify and train leaders. I am sure that the club would have done due diligence before appointing rocky and w know he has put work into seeking out mentors and developing these talents.

I am sure that his injuries and not actually getting onto the field with the team regularly have frustrated him. This situation added to the current team performance pressure could easily have him at breaking point. Not sure anyone in that situation would be looking great right now.

W desperately need some wins to reset everything. I agree with Browny- the afl provided a disgusting draw that had pushed everyone to breaking point. A couple of wins early while our confidence was up and players healthy would have made a world of difference. Instead the arseh***s have us the toughest first part of the season which increased the likelihood of us going into the second half carrying lots of injuries (bodies getting very tired from constantly pushing against the best are more likely to get injured). It makes every role from player on field roles, leadership, coaching and player welfare harder and subject to greater scrutiny. Which creates more pressure. Which feeds the downward spiral.

How can w send a message to the afl without screwing up our own team?

Pretty sure it's a popularity vote?
Odd that this person who we think might exhibit great leadership couldn't get along with Voss (suck it up princess), had a blue with Lambert (no doubt Lambert was the one who resolved), shamed out a young gun (Matho) and couldn't keep the bromance alive with Redden (if you can't sell it (the future of the club) to your best mate, are you really best mates?).

I don't know what the solution is. If JClarke were playing, I'd suggest him, I think!?

Solution: buy in a captain?
Get a leadership coach? I'm not sure that the Lions would be spending money on mentoring etc the way Rockliff wet his pants sitting next to old mate on the plane?

Pretty sure it's a popularity vote?
Odd that this person who we think might exhibit great leadership couldn't get along with Voss (suck it up princess), had a blue with Lambert (no doubt Lambert was the one who resolved), shamed out a young gun (Matho) and couldn't keep the bromance alive with Redden (if you can't sell it (the future of the club) to your best mate, are you really best mates?).

I don't know what the solution is. If JClarke were playing, I'd suggest him, I think!?

Solution: buy in a captain?
Get a leadership coach? I'm not sure that the Lions would be spending money on mentoring etc the way Rockliff wet his pants sitting next to old mate on the plane?
What's the plane issue?

Barring injury, there would be teams out there that might be willing to pay that price for Rocky. That's what determines his price, if not - he won't get that at the Lions or elsewhere. Simple formula, nothing to do with 'being reasonable' or 'considering circumstances'.

Any way - he took the offer off the table, so maybe it is an acknowledgement of, 'we are not in the same position as we were when I drafted this offer, so lets walk away for a few months and see where we are at at season end', he hasn't ruled out re-signing or said there's a stalemate or he is 'dis-gruntled'.

Can't believe how much credence this Hammo article has been given, as it implicates a negative sentiment toward Rocky.

Our club is playing hardball but also throwing huge money around at the same time, and bragging about cap space, I do not blame an All Australian calibre (albeit recently injured) player, and our loyal captain, seeking or expecting a good offer from the Club. If they choose not to, so be it.

Not saying that we don't overpay Rich, but all things being equal with no injuries etc, in an open market I reckon Rich would be of greater interest & value to almost every club compared to Rocky, and have a higher market value. Other teams could probably get more for their buck too by protecting him a little better than we do. Pretty sure all these things will work themselves out over the coming months. A few of the players are posturing, trying to get the best deal possible which is understandable, but I'm confident the board has a plan in action. The problem for all the guys who haven't signed is it's hard to see any club paying more or even the same for you than what the Lions do.
I was told by a someone that Rich was tabled 4 offers from clubs. WCE, Hawks and Lions and I wasn't told the last club. All ranged from 400-500k range. We paid quiet a bit more than those other clubs were willing to offer. Fact is we overpay no matter which way you look at it.

Quite perversely I'd kind of like to see Rich in another jumper just to see how he'd go.

from my superficial view rocky is a very good player and captain. if the club decides to go another way my choice would be dayne beams, an elite player and at his best a top 20 player in the competition IMO, comes across as an easy going sort of character but underneath there must be a steely resolve to succeed to get to where he is. i have no doubt he would step up and welcome the challenge if the captaincy was offered.

Hey guys was shocked when I saw this, surely the club is balking at the 5 year part of the deal. If Rockliff was to come out with a 750,000 over 3 year deal the club would negotiate yeah ?

No comment on Robbo's rumour in regards to Rocky supposedly angling for a trade on AFL 360 tonight. Said he was told 5 weeks ago that Rocky would look for a trade at the end of the season. He didn't believe it then, but now...

People just conveniently breezing over this quote..

“We couldn’t come to an agreement on numbers and years, I was injured for a while then also and couldn’t play the sort of footy I knew I was capable of, I just thought it was the best thing,’’

It's not as if he has packed up his cricket bat and balls and stormed off, he is (quite rightly) pulling an offer, given injury has not permitted him to play anywhere near his full potential, obviously happy to take a punt on re-capturing his form, like wise, the club is happy to hold off and see.

At the end of 2014 a host of clubs would have looked very closely at him on that sort of money.

No comment on Robbo's rumour in regards to Rocky supposedly angling for a trade on AFL 360 tonight. Said he was told 5 weeks ago that Rocky would look for a trade at the end of the season. He didn't believe it then, but now...

Wow wee.. that would be huge, I have said this earlier though, can't blame anyone wanting to leave, under the current coaching program with where the team is at - no hard feelings from me.