Is Sam Newman a wanka?

• Thread starter Thread starter hawkfan5

No, Sam is not a wanka(sic), he is a highly articulate and intelligent individual whose subtle humour is totally wasted on that large majority of the football public who are devoid of any serious degree of education. The more intelligent among us can recognise Sam's humour for what it is and laugh along with him.
I don't watch the footy show either, but because of Eddie the conflict of interest king, not because of Sam.

He's a highly intelligent articulate and humourous 'wanka'. We don't a poll to ask if he's a 'wanka', I thought it was scientifically proven.

I have no doubt about his intelligence, but having a high IQ doesn't preclude people from being 'wankas' at times.

Usually he has something interesting to say, his problem is he doesn't know when to stop.

every guy in here is a wanka, and dont deny it coz u all know youve spanked the monkey more than once in your life ;)

Originally posted by Blues_Brat

I have no doubt about his intelligence, but having a high IQ doesn't preclude people from being 'wankas' at times.

Actually, I think you just proved my case for me. You see, Sam is having a lend of us all - all the time - and he doesn't give a rat's about what we all think. He's not a w***er, he is a clever student of the human psyche, and he knows how to press people's buttons.

Sam can be an idiot - but at least he isnt afraid to say what he thinks even if people wont necessarily agree with him. I still think he is the only reason the footy show is succesful - if you disagree tell me who else makes it such a unique show?

Eddie - has probably made it boring over the years, especially with his position now he just says whatever people expect him to say, never controversial, never sounds like he is giving his fair dinkum opinion. The panel of players are usually boring, then again they are footy players so what do we expect? (how the hell does Glen Manton keep getting on? he cant play footy, only getting a game because of Carlton's lack of height down back, isnt funny, and he thinks he is Eddie Murphy!) Trev isnt that funny for a comedian, he can pop up with the odd good one tho.

Sam's the only one that makes me laugh, even tho sometimes I shake my head wondering what the hell made him say that!

Sam also tries to get more out of guests than the usual reporters or interviewers. He knows when people are sitting on the fence or giving cliche answers, and always tries to ask questions that may get an interesting answer.

i dont think he is a w***er...
he is paid to be contraversial, and he does his job well...
he is a character in the media, and what would it be without him? people take what he says seriously, and its not meant for that...

as for not watching the footy show because of him.. well i cant believe that... sook comes to mind...

Re: Of course he is

Originally posted by hawkfan5
He is a wanka, he should grow up and act mature like Eddie.

Rob's Hawthorn Hawks

Eddie is the most mature guy going around, especially when someone has a bad word to say about Collingwood, cant take criticsm, lokos like he is going to cry everytime someone bags them, even when they are joking

The 8 people who voted no

The 8 people who voted no to Sam being a wanka are seriously stupid. Yet I spose it would be hard to be a wanka, when you have nothing there, lol.

im one of the 8 that voted no so far...

you under estimate his intelligence...

im with you aswell corey is king, exactly what i think!

I voted 'no' BTW.

If I ever find out that what he did to Schwarz wasnt a set up then my opinion would probably change.

But I reckon it was all staged....

Sam is the footy show

If it wasn't for Sam, then i may aswell be watching that crap Channel 7 offers. I dont even know the names, and i dont think i want too.

Sam is not a w***er. He is a very smart man and can be very serious. I met him when he came up to Darwin, for the V8 supercars a couple of years ago and he seems like a nice man.

Sometimes he does carry on too far, like when he did last year (i think) witht eh whole racism issue, which i thought should have just been forgotten.

The pie throwing was just humour. I dont think it was staged though, but Sam still got his. The poor old man probably broke his hip
:D

Had to laugh though when he got up, "Get me my bubble!"

hahaha

Originally posted by Carey_is_King

Actually, I think you just proved my case for me. You see, Sam is having a lend of us all - all the time - and he doesn't give a rat's about what we all think. He's not a w***er, he is a clever student of the human psyche, and he knows how to press people's buttons.

But how much does not 'giving a rat's' excuse?? What a fantastic disclaimer. Can I use it??

Be like the boy! Be like the boy!

Bill Brownless

Actually, seriously, I can compare Sam Newman and Bill Brownless. Like Bill, Sam has a very good footballing brain but in a bid to gain the support of the crowd seems to act stupidly to get laughed at. They are both very smart guys when you listen to them commentate and comment during the games.

Rob's Hawthorn Hawks

Athough I think that he is a private school ponce who just wants to big-note himself by being snide and controversial. But he has a part to play and he does is well even though I would rather file my tax returns than to watch the Footy Show.

Originally posted by Wayde Petersen
Athough I think that he is a private school ponce who just wants to big-note himself by being snide and controversial. But he has a part to play and he does is well even though I would rather file my tax returns than to watch the Footy Show.

u must have a fun life then :)

I agree with CiK - Newman is a smart operator who acts like a clown because that is what he is paid to do.

In actual fact the guy is very perceptive of the human condition and knows how to manipulate people and situations like a true master statesman.

I respect his footy knowledge - in actual fact Newman knows more about the game and how it is played far more than that preening ****head in love with his own voice known as Dermott Brereton.

Also - love ya house Sammy !

and when he starts ripping into his old club, well, I just stand and give the guy a standing ovation really.

If Geelong had more of the 'John of Brighton' attitude they would have won heaps of flags over the last few years - truly.

cheers

PS - I don't like the Footy Show and don't watch