Is Shaun Rehn worth more than draft pick no 12?

Aug 27, 2000
vic
The trade of Shaun Rehn to Hawthorn for only one draft pick is a done deal, I feel the crows are the big losers again in the trade stakes, is it fair that a player can leave the club that has supported him so well over the years at a loss?

Thats exactly what i thought when i saw the deal first off.
I'm not sure whoever does the recruting in Adelaide, but i dont think he will be getting a Christmas Bonus this year, while Hawthorn's management will be getting a nice pay packet.
Shaun Rehn, although i feel he is slightly overrated, is still a very good footballer, and to let him go for the number 12 draft pick is redicolous. How could anyone with half-a-brain agree with that.
Yes, Rehn is 29 for almost all of next year, and only has 2 years maximum in him. But he is still worth more than the number 12 pick.

------------------
For all your footballing needs be sure to visit my AFL web-site at http://www.geocities.com/eastsydney5/index.html

Rodman,

I wrote about that a few hours ago.

Adelaide were in the unenviable position of knowing that if they did not agree to a trade, Rehn would be picked up by a St Kilda or Collingwood in the pre-season draft for nothing.

Rehn is worth more, the crows just had to make sure they got something for Rehn. By the way, there is nothing wrong with a first round draft pick but a champion player like him was worth a bit more than that.

Considering they let Modra go for draft picks something like 29 and 40 two years ago, maybe they think they've done well with Rehn. I think they stuffed up with Rehn's departure, but after reading between the lines and absorbing some of the rumours here, I think they might not be so upset that he's going. He's been pretty grumpy this year, and this could have had a huge effect on the rest of the players.

WCE2000

I disagree with you on Rehn only have a maximum of two years left in him. If his knees don't go again (a bit "if", I know), then he could go on until he's 33 or 34. Plenty of ruckmen in the past have done so. Clubs are used to nursing their ruckmen throughout the season (especially Hawthorn with Salmon and the Doggies with Wynd), so Rehn has a good chance of being around a lot longer than you expect. The other thing is that Rehn is a very smart ruckmen...I think the Hawks have made a reasonably good deal for themselves.

Also -

changes to the centre circle markings and the reform of the rule at centre bounces means that potentially all ruckman will be spared having to crash into each other (especially their knees and shins) all the time.

this will help people like Rehn especially.

It would go some way in recompense for Darren Jarman who basically won you 2 premierships

i think that hawthorn has done a good job with recruiting Rehn. well done to the hawthorn management i think they made a wise trade.

Based on these replies, I think I'll cop it for this...

I would rather a round 12 pick than Rehn.

Analyse the 2
Rd 12 pick - A Ramanauskas was taken then.
Basically, most top 20's will be young (under 20), and likely to play a lot of good footy for the club for the next 10 years.

Rehn is an old, very slow (since his knees) ruckman with dodgy knees.
He probably has 2-3 years in him max, and he really hasn't produced good footy for a few seasons.

I think Adelaide should count there blessings. They get a great young player, and Rehn is no longer there to hold Biglands back... Clarke can provide a backup for the first few initial years...

Hawthorn have made a fatal erro in my opinion.

Matt

I am sort of hapy the ugly bastard has left, if he doesnt want to play for us, good, 12th pick could be valuable in getting Molloy or Mcrae, now that the lanky bastard is gone, Marsh, Bigghlands and Clarke have more responsibility in ruck, so they should lift

I suspect Rehn clashed more with Blighty than Ayres could be for a few reasons:

While Blighty was there Rehn was passionate and cared about his club and his teammates.

The rumourmill says he doesnt like Ayres so he probably avoided contact with him anyway.

We had a shocking start to the year and he may have lost interest thinking season 2000 was already over.

Pick 12 was probably the best we could hope for in the situation. The recruiting staff at the Crows has been pretty stable over the career of the club and given that we have one two premierships in 10 years you would have to say that their strike rate isnt bad. I think they did the best that could be done given the circumstances.

While having buckets of promise, Hawthorn are not yet a great 'footy smart' side. This is where Salmon is a great loss and Hopefully Rehn can replace some of that

Servo

2 premierships in 10 years is ok. (when compared to other clubs) We want to be better than other clubs though.

3 finals appearances in 10 years is NOT!!!!

Our recruiting has been ordinary. We consistantly fail to lure top players back to Adelaide ie Kernahan, Bradley, Platten, Ottens, Holland (take your pick as to which one), Darcey etc. In 10 years only Fud & McGuinness have come back as top line players.

The original squad was full of guys who were just too old & seemed to be picked because they stayed loyal to the SANFL or had some VFL experience ie Lindsay, Warhurst, Marshall, Fielke, Abbernathy etc.

Worse of all we continualy pick up crap players. Tongery, passing on Pavlich & taking McGregor etc.

Since we lost our concessions way back when we have picked up 3 players who would get a game anywhere (McLeod, Goodwin & Johnson), some players who have potential (Biglands, Burton, Eccles & Marsh) & a lot of guys who just arn't up to it.

You should be able to pick up a centre half forward after 10 years.

"The original squad was full of guys who were just too old & seemed to be picked because they stayed loyal to the SANFL or had some VFL experience ie Lindsay, Warhurst, Marshall, Fielke, Abbernathy etc."

True. We also had Bickley, Smart, Jameson, Rehn,Liptak and Pittman in the original squad. We added Modra, Hart, Wellman and Riccutio a year later. And some of those veterans in Lee, Maynard, Klug etc were pretty good.

"Since we lost our concessions way back when we have picked up 3 players who would get a game anywhere (McLeod, Goodwin & Johnson), some players who have potential (Biglands, Burton, Eccles & Marsh) & a lot of guys who just arn't up to it."

I think Anderson and Robran were the last 2 we picked up with our concessions in late 92. Since then we have also picked up Edwards, Connell, Bond, Caven, Koster, James. And Darren Jarman.

Really, our best recruiting was under Robert Shaw! We have missed a few though- the Holland boys, Pavlich but think it's improved since 95.

I'm the 1st to agree that our best recruiting was done under Shaw.

As to those other players from the original squad (Bickley etc) with 52 players you would want to get some right!

Don't forget the other duds who came back like Hall.

Lee & Maynard's performances are highly overrated & Klug lasted 2 years.

Thats ancient history anyway. The fact is we have been looking for a tall forward and a tall defender for 10 years & still can't find 1.

Ok

Trading is over.

Adelaide's objective was to get a key tall forward, a key tall defender & 2 wingmen.

Key forwards we chased & didn't get, or were traded to other clubs.
Nick Holland
Ben Holland
Luke Darcey
Brad Ottens
Ryan Fitzgerald
Jarod Molloy
Frazer Gehrig
Mitchel White
Aaron Hamill

No mention of defenders or midfielders.

No matter how you look at it our recruiting dept has failed again!!!

I hope there is some depth in the draft!!!!!

Evan Hewitt. I'm sorry son but there will be some pressure on you.

According to the AFL site we have on traded the no.12 draft pick to the evil ones a cross the lake for Matthew Bode & a 40 something pick.

There's the midfielder.

I don't know if I am too happy about this. Bode came into the comp with some fanfare but hasn't gone on with it, has had injury problems & may be a bit small. Is he worth the No. 12 pick?

What do you think?

Originally posted by Drakey:

There's the midfielder.

I don't know if I am too happy about this. Bode came into the comp with some fanfare but hasn't gone on with it, has had injury problems & may be a bit small. Is he worth the No. 12 pick?

What do you think?

I think it is a good pick up. We have a young, AFL experinced midfielder/forward. I think he is worth the 12 pick. We cant afford to have too many youngsters with no experience, we have too many holes to fill! I spoke to a Port mate of mine when the Bode rumour surfaced last month, and he was not happy with the idea of Bode leaving Port. We still have an early first round pick too...I suspect Port will be hoping to get Didak with the 12 pick.

As for Hewitt, the North fans on here give me the impression that we will be quite good. I agree with your point regarding big key position players, we have been hopeless at spotting them. Marsh and Rehn being the main exceptions, but why was'nt Pavlich on the rookie list? Every big bloke who comes to AFC has pressure on them, I just hope we don't get another Wigney/Ingerson/Chalmers/McCartney type shocker.

Anyway we missed out on Fitzgerald today. Fitzgerald, Pavlich and Holland will all be out of contract next year, so maybe our luck will improve in 2001.

Is Shaun Rehn worth more than draft pick no 12?