Cars & Transportation Is tailgating another car ever justified

Always good to rapidly tap the breaks on and off (but not hard enough for the car to actually slow down), and see the tailgaters **** their pants and back right off.

Just a special breed of w***ers, they are.

It seems to me that GENERALLY those who drive cars which are more on the expensive side (BMW's, Audi's etc), seem to believe they 'own' the roads.

Don't know why anyone would pay so much for a BMW anyway, most of them come with broken indicators.

Ha ha, if you were driving slow on the ring road tonight and you got tailgated by a black Commodore V8 it was probably me, get the **** out my way you slow *****! :thumbsu:

Hahaha commodore V8s, all noise and no go, driven by w***ers across the country. Only 260kW from a 6L engine is pathetic engineering, they get pretty angry when they eventually realise that.

**** off mate, i'll bet you putt along at 60k like an old woman in a hatchback, what a weak ****, grow a pair **** stick!

lol you're a tosser. If you tailgated me I'd slam on the brakes and have you cough up your hard-earned centrelink cheques to pay for the expenses.

So for my drive to work today I went 85 in a 80 zone stayed in the right hand lane ducked into the middle lane to get around the usual 65KPH's in the right hand lane ducked back to the right when I'd passed them and enjoyed my drive to work.

U mad?

So for my drive to work today I went 85 in a 80 zone stayed in the right hand lane ducked into the middle lane to get around the usual 65KPH's in the right hand lane ducked back to the right when I'd passed them and enjoyed my drive to work.

U mad?

Why would anyone be mad? Aside from the fact you broke two different laws.

As did the slowies in the right hand lane, they were not overtaking anyone and they were driving slow enough to be a hazard.

Story: Was driving along 52-53 km/h suburbean area, one of those longass roads. Taxi comes behind me, amazingly close. Any closer and woulda smacked into me. So naturally I slow down. To 40. Flashes me with his lights, he then ate 30 km/h. Tried to overtake, and I simply gunned it until he had to pull back (due to island in the road). Lights turned yellow just as I was about to get there, slowed down, then gunned it and made the light before it turned red. Taxi left behind. Great victory. Best thing, those lights are seriously gay and take forever to change back to green. :thumbsu:

LOL at the lack of rage people have for this story, they are raging on tailgaters and have let this one through to the keeper. This is the most dangerous thing thats been mentioned on this thread.

Slowies in the right hand lane don't break their rules first = me not having to break laws myself.

You're challenging Veasley for the biggest ******** in this thread. What is it with you two, is this topic your only excuse for attention in life? We get it, you live in the fast lane, you're not be wreckoned with, you'll risk your life as well as others for this worthy cause.

Anyway, I don't endorse people slamming on their breaks either. Any deliberate dangerous act on the road epitomises selfishness. You risk the lives of others and your own leaving your families devastated.

Sorry Nicky, just trolling a bit on a Friday arvo being bored at work, with your experiences probably not a cool thing to troll about so apologies.

Puts serious cap on, the thing the strikes me about this thread is just how bad the majority of peoples attitudes are, the tailgaters say get out the way how about you show some patience and wait.

The anti tailgaters say well I'm just going to hit the brakes which is just as dangerous and can cause just a serious an accident.

Everyone on the roads just needs to chill out a bit.

Oops sorry for jumping down your neck Punchy, i got a bit ahead of myself there as i didn't realise you were trolling.

I completely agree with your post. Neither position is perfect, drivers shouldn't sit in the right lane, fasties should chill out when it happens rather than tailgate and slowies should probably get out of the way of tailgaters rather than causing an accident to prove a point. :thumbsu:

LOL at the lack of rage people have for this story, they are raging on tailgaters and have let this one through to the keeper. This is the most dangerous thing thats been mentioned on this thread.
Its a disgrace, probably mentioned it earlier but I have had a couple of instances where people who were going slow so I moved up close, not tailgating or anything, then as an opportunity arose moved out only for them to speed up, one time ended up nearly 40ks over the limit to pass the bastard that had been sitting 10ks under untill I came up behind him

Driving today, going 115 km/h in the right lane, waiting behind another car as we were overtaking a car in the left lane. Guy comes up behind me and starts tailgating. I couldn't see his bonnet at all, that's how close he was. I slowed down to about 100 for safety/making him annoyed, but this produced a gap between me and the car in front of me, as well as the car we were overtaking. The ****ing bastard ducked inside me, hit the pedal and got in front of me. My little Toyota sedan couldn't quite close him down, though I tried. Just didn't have the acceleration. :(

I was seething for about half an hour, and was actually going at 130 km/h for a few minutes to keep up with him. I wanted to tailgate in retaliation (hell, I wanted to drive him off the road), but I managed to control myself. The idea that he got away from me, that I failed in teaching him a lesson in safety and manners, just ****ing tears at me, even now. Smug bastard. :mad:

Driving today, going 115 km/h in the right lane, waiting behind another car as we were overtaking a car in the left lane. Guy comes up behind me and starts tailgating. I couldn't see his bonnet at all, that's how close he was. I slowed down to about 100 for safety/making him annoyed, but this produced a gap between me and the car in front of me, as well as the car we were overtaking. The ****ing bastard ducked inside me, hit the pedal and got in front of me. My little Toyota sedan couldn't quite close him down, though I tried. Just didn't have the acceleration. :(

I was seething for about half an hour, and was actually going at 130 km/h for a few minutes to keep up with him. I wanted to tailgate in retaliation (hell, I wanted to drive him off the road), but I managed to control myself. The idea that he got away from me, that I failed in teaching him a lesson in safety and manners, just ****ing tears at me, even now. Smug bastard. :mad:
If you're going to do the slowing down trick then you must downshift beforehand so you can accelerate on cue.

Well mate if you hadn't have been sitting in the right hand lane this wouldn't have happened, get out of the way of us good drivers and piss off to the left hand lanes! :thumbsu:

I was overtaking. I was already sitting 5 km/h above the limit, there was a car in front of me, and I was overtaking. I had every right to be in the right lane, and had I gone into the left lane, this ******** tailgater would have been stuck behind the car in front of me, which was also overtaking.

If you were a "good driver", you'd know that.

This attitude is almost as bad as the tailgaters attitude. You're not a driving instructor, it's not up to you teach anyone a 'lesson'. This kind of ego trip added with the unnecessary anger only makes an already dangerous situation even worse.

I had every right to be in the right line, and had I gone into the left lane, this ******** tailgater would have been stuck behind the car in front of me, which was also overtaking.

Agree that you had every right to be there, but safety should ideally come before 'road rights'. If you had decelerated and moved back left, the tailgater would have passed you and become the problem of the person in front. Once he had passed, you move back into the overtaking lane and carry on with your journey without needing to become angry :).

I was overtaking. I was already sitting 5 km/h above the limit, there was a car in front of me, and I was overtaking. I had every right to be in the right line, and had I gone into the left lane, this ******** tailgater would have been stuck behind the car in front of me, which was also overtaking.

If you were a "good driver", you'd know that.

You what? Mate i'm trying to have a proper discussion with you here and you aren't making sense!

And if you were a good driver you'd know that 5 km/h over the limit is speeding, wipe off 5!

This attitude is almost as bad as the tailgaters attitude. You're not a driving instructor, it's not up to you teach anyone a 'lesson'. This kind of ego trip added with the unnecessary anger only makes an already dangerous situation even worse.

Disagree. I had every right to think he was a ******** and wish he had learned a lesson.

Agree that you had every right to be there, but safety should ideally come before 'road rights'. If you had decelerated and moved back left, the tailgater would have passed you and become the problem of the person in front. Once he had passed, you move back into the overtaking lane and carry on with your journey without needing to become angry :).

I don't see how this would have changed anything. I decelerated because he was an unsafe distance behind me (but the fact that it pissed him off was a welcome bonus). I didn't decelerate to teach him a lesson, I was just annoyed that he managed to benefit from driving unsafely.

You what? Mate i'm trying to have a proper discussion with you here and you aren't making sense!

Obviously a typo. Nice deflection though.

And if you were a good driver you'd know that 5 km/h over the limit is speeding, wipe off 5!

And yet you apparently think I should be in the left lane at that speed....