Is the AFL getting TOO big??

Yup course Footy is dead!

Footy died when Fitzroy had to merge with Brisbane!
frown.gif

Not yet but it looks like it will turn into the NFL all over again.

I'll warn you ahead of time - this is a pretty cynical post.

I think more of the traditional clubs will die or relocate somewhere else with alarming frequency that it will be hard to keep track. More venues will fall under the naming rights burden. Say hello to Telstra Cricket Ground. New expansion teams with hideous concept names (ooo here come the Townsville Gravity!) and colour schemes (can you say pewter and burnt orange?) will arrive, signaling the beginning of an era where marketable merchandise becomes too important.

I wouldn't be surprised if the AFL was a 24 team league by 2020, with at least four Victorian sides ceasing to exist in their current form.

Well...okay, maybe things won't be THIS bad, but you have to wonder.

Football is finished RIP

It was once a game that was loved by all people,regardless of where you stood socially

It was the peoples game,it was a great game
football is now 'soft'an indication that we do live in a piss weak society.a 'dobbers'
society,we live in a society where men are no longer men.we live in a society dominated by the dreaded womans liberation movement,football is a reflection of this,it has now been hijacked by the rich,the dirty stinken rich bastards!!We now have footballers that look and speak like girls(they would of been slaughterd in the footy paddocks 20 years ago)We now have retired footballers in the media who think they know everything but actually know jack shit,they motivate rule changes to accomaodate there own ego's.We now have buisiness people from other states running this once great game,what the thuck wouuld these people really know or care.The ordinary supporter does not fit into the equation any more,footy clubs suck up to him they tell him how important he is, all just to get his yearly membership money and then he is just forgotten like a dirty piece of dogshit out on the front lawn.Welcome to todays football
where it is an offence to barrack for your club(they want us to become penquin clappers)
welcome to todays football where only money can get you the best seats and the best food.
welcome to todays football people, where people like you and myself who would die for our club are just being snickered at by those dirty capitolist corporates.those filthy piss weak yuppies who are still being breast fed by there mothers,those dirty up them selves yuppie bastards who only know how to fight in a court room.Just have a look at the temple these rich bastards have built for them selves they call it colonial
stadium,if you have never seen a place where class segregation reigns supreme,well take a look at this shithole.When do we the supporter have a right to decide where this game is going.as i said RIP football.

------------------
There are only two kinds of people in this world-COLLINGWOOD SUPPORTERS,and those who wish they were!
SHITE here comes COLLINGWOOD to kick your ass forever BLACK AND WHITE,ha ha ha jealousy will be the death of you,SHITE!!!!!

Hmm Magpiejoffa. I agree the passion needs to be kept. But I suppose i've got other ideas about how footy should proceed as per my post on the health of Football thread.

I reckon wide cushy seats and corporate boxes aren't where the money should go. Get more into the grounds with some standing room and more normal seats. Zoning should come back and tie the AFL clubs to the teams in their area - to preserve links, community passion and help grass roots development.

I don't think footy will survive just by keeping blood and guts element. Player numbers at school and amateur will drift to less bruising games....as they are drifting away from the two Rugby codes and American Football around the world (even though crowds still flock to see the big boys fight it out).
Footy's future is as an athletic game of skill and speed but not as a training ground for orthopaedic surgeons.... yes the world's becoming soft.

Magpie_Joffa.......

That sounds exactly like a post from a South Australian explaining what has occurred to SANFL football, by the AFL. ! ! ! ! ! !

Joffa.....Your expression is heartfelt. and it is a puritans insight into the reality of world championship football... AFL the WWF of Australian rules.

Football....I mean real Football is dead..........

This sputam served up by the AFL, full of canary haired ******s is new age sensitivity at its fanatical extreme..

Stealth bomber........ Your comment about "townsville gravity" with Pewter and Burnt Orange.......

Look what my beloved Port Adelaide had to do to get into the AFL.....My dear Lord, they had to add Teal and Silver ( pewter ) to their once formidable uniform and to
show some leadership in the merchandising stakes ,changed their nickname from The Magpies...to " Power ", pardon me while I vomit...... then to add insult to injury they came up with the most numbing logo in Football History.

A clenched fist holding a lightning bolt....it looks like a phallic symbol....

But wait theirs more........

The club unable to work the merchandising to kids over the last 4 years have made a new mascot who's head is the shape of a thunderbolt !!!!

His ( her ) name is......Thunda Power......... guess what ..the kids almost piss themselves with laughter and embarrasement when he appears prior to a game...

127 years of tradition gone ... for what....Joffa put it right..........

Dogs Vomit Money and the corporate world !!!!!!!!

The most embarrasing part is... South Australia has privatized its Power supply and their are endless " Power " shortages rolling suburb blackouts..only when the power is needed most. i.e. when the mercury hits 110 F or above 38 c.

No such problems whilst it was state run....

and to top it off !!! the Power companies have put up billboards around Adelaide asking us to turn off our appliances when it gets hot.....Not turn them on !!!!!

Can you believe it !!!!

Joffa you got me started !

PA1870

PORT ADELAIDE 1870

thanks mate.

------------------
There are only two kinds of people in this world-COLLINGWOOD SUPPORTERS,and those who wish they were!
SHITE here comes COLLINGWOOD to kick your ass forever BLACK AND WHITE,ha ha ha jealousy will be the death of you,SHITE!!!!!

Originally posted by Mags:
Yup course Footy is dead!

Footy died when Fitzroy had to merge with Brisbane!
frown.gif

Mags, the way I see it is that most of the tradition of football died with Fitzroy. The game certainly became about money from that time on. Look at the GF - I mean, ya really gotta be someone rich or know the right people to get in, it's been like that for WAY too long. But sadly, I doubt that it's ever gonna change.

------------------
*the one and only lioness*

LIONESS 22
You are spot on,if only we all could of seen the bigger picture at that time,The removal of the fitzroy football club will allways be something that will ache my heart for ever.What a great old club with plenty of history to boot.No one has the right to destroy a football club like the AFL did to fitzroy.And it is equally important that the memory of the fitzroy football club must never be forgotten,My heart goes out to the fitzroy player long ago who was prepared to kill for the jumper,My heart goes out even more to the fitzroy supporter who went week after week and never tasted much success.

I have a confession to make and im not ashamed to tell, i was at the MCG on that last ever game to say good bye to fitzroy
and yes i cried with you fitzroy supporters
you see sometimes i think you all misjudge the collingwood supporter but thats another issue.

Well i must get on to supporting the one and only club in the competition,THE GREAT COLLINGWOOD FOOTBALL CLUB.

I just thought i would come by and let you old fitzoy supporters know that you are not and never will be forgotten
joffa

------------------

If the game today is all about money its only us supporters to blame for it. If the demand was not out their then these football clubs wouldn't be atracting the big TV deals and sponorships from big companies. You people have to understand the AFL is now becoming a professional sporting league, its not the suburban VFL league we grew up with. Of course these clubs will try and get every dollar they can get, there in it to make a profit otherwise they die, just lke Fitzroy, as the saying goes only the strong survive.

But to say the game is dead is a stupid statement. Just because these clubs are making big dollars it doesn't mean the players are not out there busting their guts each week for their team. Every players dream is still to play in a premiership.

If you think the AFL is not for the people then you can always go and watch the VFL,SANFL or WAFL they are traditional suburban leagues.

Stealth Bomber you really have something against the NFL. I love watching every week and when it comes down to it you watch it to see athletes at their best, playing the game they love, not to see which player is getting paid the most and as far as the color pewter I'm a Tampa fan and adding pewter to their uniform improved it 100%. You have to remember when they entered the NFL in 1976 orange was a popular color but in the 90s its not so. Just like my team Port Adelaide wore pink & white in the late 1800s they wouldn't be seen dead in those colors today.

Is the AFL getting TOO big??