Toast Is there a better guernsey?

• Thread starter Thread starter brazilblue

I would agree that the Carlton jumper is one of the best designs going around, but I reckon the Port Adelaide "prison bar" jumper beats it. Not only is it one of the simplest and strongest looking designs but it also symbolises the Port so well. Even though it is commonly known as the prison bars, the design is actually a representation of a wharf and piers which makes it just so perfect for the club and the area. Not to mention all of the history and flags won in the design.

But anyway the Carlton one is definitely up there, and whilst I probably don't share the opinions of most people on this board as to which jumper is the best, I'm sure we all agree on who has the worst design (hint: Brisbane!) :thumbsu:

I like the old one with the latin but whilst I look at the newer version and nibble a couple o m&m's I got to thinkin..this colour or that colour...and...naaaahh..this is the freakin greatest jumper ever invented ...Don't f##k with it.

Is that because I believe Collingwood is a good team? :)

The only reason I am agreeing with you is because on this occasion, you are right about something. A good sporting team song should represent the club and the area they are from.

Being a collingwood supporter is why I dont agree with you the rest of the time. :)

If she is a s hot as you say, what the hell are you doing in this thread?? :eek::D

I think I'll have to take up farming because that pic has given me a couple of ache'rs :o:p

Probably cause I am relatively young and semi retired .... there is only so much time you can spend wit "Brasileiras" before they do your head in completely.

For those not in the know latinas are the most volitile women in the world ... extremely hot where it counts, but murdereously jealous.

They are like dynamite ... they have thier uses but handle with care.

Its been a slow start to summer so BF is eating in on my "scouting" time on the beach.

Saying that I am starved of real footy talk because over here its all about the round ball pansy sport.

Needless to say have converted a number of friends over here to our game ... I have a party at my place when the games are on Sat/Sun arvo at 2 p.m as its 1 a.m the same day over here that time.

Perfect way to sink a few, watch the game, then go clubbing after.

One word of advice bluetongue don´t wish too hard you may end up getting what you want.

I did and its a pandora's box mate.

I wouldn't have picked "Pandora" as a Latin name. :confused:

nah she's Greek and shares a few traits with the latinas, keep away from them as well :D

On a serious note to reinforce the thread ..,.. is it just me or do the new recruits look better simply cause they are wearing our guernsey now?

Our jumper looks heaps better since Nike started making it and slightly redesigned the CFC.

Not much competition in the AFL though. Most jumpers are terrible.

New Freo one is pretty good.

Probably cause I am relatively young and semi retired .... there is only so much time you can spend wit "Brasileiras" before they do your head in completely.

For those not in the know latinas are the most volitile women in the world ... extremely hot where it counts, but murdereously jealous.

They are like dynamite ... they have thier uses but handle with care.

Its been a slow start to summer so BF is eating in on my "scouting" time on the beach.

Saying that I am starved of real footy talk because over here its all about the round ball pansy sport.

Needless to say have converted a number of friends over here to our game ... I have a party at my place when the games are on Sat/Sun arvo at 2 p.m as its 1 a.m the same day over here that time.

Perfect way to sink a few, watch the game, then go clubbing after.

One word of advice bluetongue don´t wish too hard you may end up getting what you want.

I did and its a pandora's box mate.

You started out ordinary and have gone down hill from there. Latin American women have their 'uses'? What is that supposed to mean? Have you any idea how out of touch and neanderthal your sexist ramblings sound? Get over yourself and go away for a while before you embarrass yourself and intelligent, respectful men everywhere.

nah she's Greek and shares a few traits with the latinas, keep away from them as well :D

On a serious note to reinforce the thread ..,.. is it just me or do the new recruits look better simply cause they are wearing our guernsey now?

Excuse me :eek: :mad:

Terrific start by brazilblue..

Our jumper is clearly number 1.

We're probably all biased but every time an argument like this comes up we always seem to come out on top even with the neutrals.

IMO it's

1. Carlton
2. Adelaide
3. Geelong

I think I just love the navy blue

Do you reckon there is any chance they will ever permantly revert back to the older CFC logo for the jumper and the club emblem from the 90's with our latin motto?

Almost as soon as we changed these two things we entered the worst period of our history :eek: and lost some of the greatness about the club! I know Nike can do it as they were our sponsors when we wore it for the PP farewell game and we wore our older logo style jumper in that match.

Where is the petition people????

I've signed... :D

I LOVE THE CFC

But seriously let's get this changed...I'm sure if it went to the members for a vote they'd be in 100% agreeance for both changes, certainly the jumper anyway. Then again who am I kinding our club doesn't listen to it's members so this would be a futile exercise! :rolleyes::(:mad:

sorry, just been 2 pages since someone posted the photo...

paraguay_girl_world_cup.jpg

Maybe not so futile.

It doesn't grate on me one way or the other, but the old logo is certainly miles better than the current one.
As I mentioned earlier, it is even more current than the current one in terms of its overall look and effect.

Fire it up ILT CFC, and you have my signature to get things rolling.

The laurel wreath crest is still the official club emblem, and is used on official documentation such as the annual report.

The new logo (introduced in 2006 during the Collins era) is used for merchandising and marketing purposes. This is an idea I like, the simplicity of merely a CFC and everyone being able to identify it without the need for words. However, the CFC used on the jumper from 1998 to 2005 is the one we should still use, as that is the historical and official CFC monogram.

The stitch-on version used up until 1997 is no longer practical and didn't allow for mass reproduction (which made it all the more sacred on one hand, but very few people had one). The authentic guernsey with the 'raised' CFC is still available from the club only for about $200.

This has been a major debate for years on other Carlton forums. Maybe one day we'll get what we want with the reintroduction of the old style CFC, the one we all fell in love with. I'm fine with ditching the rest of the wreath logo for merchandising though, makes the club easier to identify.

I totally agree with you mate, I have it tattooed on my arm.

The new one is still better than anything by any other club, but as we know it can look so much better. Definitely stronger, demands respect.

I totally agree with you mate, I have it tattooed on my arm.

The new one is still better than anything by any other club, but as we know it can look so much better. Definitely stronger, demands respect.

FdB, how long did the ink take, how much and how happy are you with the result, please? I'm thinking of it but may need more arm. :o

Why the arm? Haven't you a larger appendage to tattoo it onto?

Sure, but I already have my Welsh soccer club there.
FC Llanfairpwllgwngyllgogerychwyrndrobwl.

FdB, how long did the ink take, how much and how happy are you with the result, please? I'm thinking of it but may need more arm. :o

It took about 45 minutes. Just got the old style CFC lettering in navy blue (left shoulder), not the entire wreath.

Cost about $100 - 120 from memory.

Will probably get the latin motto in Olde English lettering somewhere else at some point.

Couldn't be happier with the result. I always wanted it and now it's there for life. :thumbsu:

It took about 45 minutes. Just got the old style CFC lettering in navy blue (left shoulder), not the entire wreath.

Cost about $100 - 120 from memory.

Will probably get the latin motto in Olde English lettering somewhere else at some point.

Couldn't be happier with the result. I always wanted it and now it's there for life. :thumbsu:

Cheers, mate.

Yep very good jumper up there with the collingwood stripes as best design.

The older logo (with the reef and Latin) and the pinched c logo on the jumper looked classier and more feared IMO though.

Agree with the calls that the big v, and the new freo and port designs have jumped up in design aspects.