Is there anyone left that Eddie hasn't insulted yet ?

• Thread starter Pessimistic
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None

P

Pessimistic

I see the Swans are ruffled about Eddies comments about wanting to stitch them up

He's going for the record with his particular form of Journalism/Presidency

So far we've had

HAWTHORN - Most of the menbers come from the zoo (ie they aren't people)- funny how Collingwoods membership total overtook Hawthorn's in the last week of last year with a few thousand 'mystery' members

NORTH - who are the wiggles compared to collinwood's 'rolling stones' I think thet's a grat analogy as they are has-beens who pretend to be 'working class hero's' when Mick is a paid-up Thatcher lover
Wigggl wiggle woooooo

Colonial - said the magpie army might tear it down if they had to wait - After all they dis tear down vic park last year at the last game - trying to get out at half-time

Anyone at channel seven

Has Eddie Insulted you or your club yet ? If not what's wrong with you ?

Do tell.

Also give me an estimate as to how long he will last as Pres

Ed the Prez thinks Collingwood would be a better drawing card in Sydney than anybody else.

get real you black and white dickhead nobody, repeat NOBODY has the slightest interest in turning out in Sydney to watch the $#%&*($ Magpies.

If any Sydney people have the slightest interest in Australian Rules Football then it will be to merely ask 'How are the Swans going ?' thats it mate and I might add Sydney people are only interested in the Swans because they are the local team that is actually based here.

Does Eddie honestly think that 80,000 + Sydney people are going to turn out at Homebush Stadium to watch Collingwood run around against some other team ? - Get real sunshine, it may surprise you you to know that your average New South Welshman does not even know who Collingwood is let alone actually make the effort to turn up and watch them.

I've said it once and I'll say it again - Victorian clubs should just forget about this idea of flying in for a couple of Sydney games then taking the money and flying out again. The Swans are the only club that holds any interest for Sydney fans at all - and only when the Swans are winning which is not at the moment. Just you see what happens next year after the Swans finish about 12th this year. Our membership will slump back to the pre-Lockett days and we will struggle to get 20,000 to a game.

And this after the Swans have been up here for 18 years. Take note McGuire - Sydney is no pot of gold, in fact you are not welcome up here at all !

Yeah but don't pick Prez Ed on this idea of p[laying in Sydney. Look at North (formerly of Mebourne) its their idea. Look Ed is just trying to generate publicity and I don't think the members would let Collingwood play games up there. Otherwise why would we buy a membership. Personally I am sick of all thw whinging that goes around in the AFL and its supporters. Get real its the footy we care about, not whats before or after the game.

Is there anyone who Eddie McEgo hasn't insulted yet? Interesting question.

I will ponder that for a moment............

.......... (still pondering)

.......... (STILL PONDERING)

I would have said Collingwood supporters, but they're probably sick of him to!

.......... You got me stumped.

Originally posted by Joel:
Yeah but don't pick Prez Ed on this idea of p[laying in Sydney. Look at North (formerly of Mebourne) its their idea. Look Ed is just trying to generate publicity and I don't think the members would let Collingwood play games up there. Otherwise why would we buy a membership. Personally I am sick of all thw whinging that goes around in the AFL and its supporters. Get real its the footy we care about, not whats before or after the game.

Joel, wake up and smell your urine. You sound like Eddie trying to divert any bad press, or are you saying if it's good enough for the reigning Premiers then maybe it's good enough for the reigning WOODENSPOONERS.

Joel stop blaming other people for the mess your club is in.

Playing games in non traditional places sounds good as a promotional tool but there is a catch 22 to this. Only victorian teams are willing transfer a home game and the low drawing games (against any I/S side. The problem is they are unlikely to be attractive anywhere else either.
Take Tassie. The only fixture which would be a drawcard is probably two of the Hawks, Tigers and Blues. Any of these disxtures would draw 50,000 plus at the MCG so there's no incentive.

And when Victorian clubs play their 'home' games in sydney, it has three effects

1) It's one less game for the fans of that team to see live

2) It's one less game for Melbourne based swans fans (who will attend in big numbers) to see live in melbourne

3) The team usually does a 'contra' deal whereby for each home game they play in sydney, there is one less interstate trip for them. This means other vic teams take up the 'slack' and travel interstate more often (Saints and Hawks fans know all about this)

Surely the answer is to add a team in sydney and one in QLD, taking the competition to 18 teams. The draw would only be marginally more compromised than it is now

You forgot another team he has offended, that would be West Coast. He manged to nick our coach and is now after some of our players. Eddie keep your grubby little hands out of our team. You have a crap team, live with it, don't start poaching players from other teams.

Just put the idea of playing games in Sydney on hold for the next 10 years and give this market a chance to develop a genuine football culture.

Then maybe, just maybe Victorian clubs cvan start to make some money out of Sydney.

The plummeting crowds at Swans games this year should serve as a warning - there is NO money to be made out of playing footy games in Sydney.

And yes Pess, a good point about the Swans Melbourne supporter base, another reason why I am sure Sydney would be most reluctant to play any more 'away' games in Sydney. We care alot about our large and dedicated Melbourne supporter base and to alienate these people (who, lets face it, are all old Souths fans who have never lost the faith)even further would just be a case of dumb and dumber as far as we are concerned.

Mrs Blood Stained Angel (by the way you should replace your feminine hygiene product so that you can change your name)

You cant make money if you have a dud team like the Sydney Swans or the Homebush Kangaroos playing in Vice Town.

Look at you attendances, they are highest when Essendon Collingwood and Carlton play you, not b/c of you but b/c of your opponents. They should have cut the life line to Sydney Swans in 1992 like they were going to and saved millions and gone to Plan B. Now it looks like they will do that but many years too late.

Get real teams up there. The Pies dont need Sydney b/c funnily enough, the AFL controls fixturing not Richard Colless or any of the other dickheads up there. And the Pies are still talking to the Homebush Kangaroos. My team would play there successfully as they even drew crowds in Cairns and Darwin. Sydney is a breeze. We have the largest supported base in Australia unlike the Sydney orphans who have the smallest supporter base in Australia.

So sod off.

Originally posted by Longjohn:
Joel, wake up and smell your urine. You sound like Eddie trying to divert any bad press, or are you saying if it's good enough for the reigning Premiers then maybe it's good enough for the reigning WOODENSPOONERS.

Joel stop blaming other people for the mess your club is in.

Longjohn you absoloute moron. I didn't blame anyone for anthhing! You idiot. What I said that it was North's idea to go up there not Collingwood's and I don't think that Collingwood's members would be very happy with going up there anyway. You say Collingwood has a bad history, North (who were formerly of Melbourne) have a pathetic history. By the way Collingwood isn't rebuilding, we are starting to almost build a new team. Collingwood has been shit for close to 8 years, I admit that. Now what I am about to say will bring about all the crap like "you are typical Collingwood supporter", but from the looks of what we have now this team will be a real finals contender within 2 years.

Originally posted by i_luv_westcoast:
You forgot another team he has offended, that would be West Coast. He manged to nick our coach and is now after some of our players. Eddie keep your grubby little hands out of our team. You have a crap team, live with it, don't start poaching players from other teams.

Speaking of CRAP teams!

Is there anyone left that Eddie hasn't insulted yet ?