Opinion Is this rock bottom?

Would we actually beat any of the following? Cause when I think of historically bad teams these come to mind first.

Melbourne 2008-2013
Carlton 2002-03,
Gold Coast/GWS 2011-12
Ess 2016
Port 2011
Fitzroy 1996
Fitzroy 95, Swans 93 are the worst I've seen. Carlton 02/03 we're pretty bad, on par with some of those Melbourne teams. We're probably in that range.

nah that was 2012. But yes a Brad Scott classic, giving up a 5 goal 3/4 lead.

I don't want to look it up, but I'm pretty sure we didn't register a disposal when the power were walking it out of the middle for 4 consecutive goals. One of those games in the lead up where you knew we'd get done, as was the norm with Brad Scott preparation.

After whinging and whining my way through another game, I hope I have finally come to terms with where we are at. I think the following is around the mark:-

We are 2% across the board behind the competition average.

The players are trying their guts out.

We always field 3 players who are clearly not up to the required standard and never will be.

We were warned about this by Clarko at the start of the season. However, even though we happily accepted it, some of us (me🤣) refuse to countenance this reality on gameday.

Melbourne, at their nadir, lost by 200+ points in a game. That fate could well be ahead of us - Geelong at GMHBA - R17.

Unless, I can come to terms with the above and view games in that light, I should just stop watching North until the team turn things around and become competitive again.

Look this is gonna suck and we knew that at the end of 2020 when we sacked all our role players and whatnot. Obviously I want us to be better tomorrow but I can accept we'll be better next year and the year after. Those skill issues for example. they're not actually skill issues they're psychological ones. Its the internal pressure cos of how shit we are and have been for so long.

The reason this side looks like Noble is coaching is because he was trying to teach that attacking zone too. Its where we have to be if we want to win the comp. Capable of aggressively driving turnovers and scoring from them. WE've just got to slog our way thru it. Eventually we'll have a side capable of winning the flag. I trust this because the people coaching us have been there before and know what it takes. They have an image in their minds of what we need to look like and will eventually make that image reality.

i was hoping they'd do it by 2025 tho.

This thread =
season 5 GIF

Melbourne was a horrific list but had really good days. Their coaches at the time were hated but they did have some amount of nous, of which Noble had none. I think we get by on talent, JUST.

Carlton kill us.
Ablett tears us apart as per usual and gets them over line in the goldy game.
GWS 2nd year do us comfortably but 1st year may be a stretch.
That essendon team had a crack and was experienced, im backing them.
11 Port is a toss of a coin, i thought that was as bad as footy got.
Never saw Fitzroy but they’d be ******* motivated.

We only beat the Ess 2016 side by 14 points too. One of the worst wins I have ever seen considering their entire senior list wasn't even playing.

Would we actually beat any of the following? Cause when I think of historically bad teams these come to mind first.

Melbourne 2008-2013
Carlton 2002-03,
Gold Coast/GWS 2011-12
Ess 2016
Port 2011
Fitzroy 1996
Statistically last year we were worse then a lot, 55% and two wins, one of which came about from another team which was assembled from the wafl and had a percentage of 60 themselves.

I think we mirror a lot about that Melbourne situation, I just don't want to see us booing the players as they go down the race. Even as a neutral that was rough to see.

I could be proven wrong. I don’t believe North supporters have the same level of self-entitlement that some other Victorian clubs possess. The idea of booing our team off would be anathema to us - I’d hope.

Look this is gonna suck and we knew that at the end of 2020 when we sacked all our role players and whatnot. Obviously I want us to be better tomorrow but I can accept we'll be better next year and the year after. Those skill issues for example. they're not actually skill issues they're psychological ones. Its the internal pressure cos of how s**t we are and have been for so long.

The reason this side looks like Noble is coaching is because he was trying to teach that attacking zone too. Its where we have to be if we want to win the comp. Capable of aggressively driving turnovers and scoring from them. WE've just got to slog our way thru it. Eventually we'll have a side capable of winning the flag. I trust this because the people coaching us have been there before and know what it takes. They have an image in their minds of what we need to look like and will eventually make that image reality.

i was hoping they'd do it by 2025 tho.

It goes without saying, Covid was a factor for us too. Wrong time to bottom out. Who knows, if not for Covid, Rhys might be still coaching us! There again, maybe Covid will be deemed as our saviour in the long run. Ultimately, we took a blowtorch to our list. We can’t really be surprised by the ramifications.

I believe we didn’t take a blow torch to the list on purpose, per se.
The covid bubble became so toxic that made several peoples roles untenable.

I hate that we have to revisit this thread again
Who the f*ck made this thread? It’s like that scene in the Simpsons where the climbing guide is pointing out the Murderhorn: “just to the right of the one you’re looking at…” but instead, we are heading continuously down to new, ever-depressing lows.

Yes.

If you're ever feeling positive about our footy feel free to look up my first post in this thread, top of page 5.

We only beat the Ess 2016 side by 14 points too. One of the worst wins I have ever seen considering their entire senior list wasn't even playing.

For mine that second half is the Start Line of where we are today. We were cruising at half time and then Wood knocked himself out and I reckon we had a heap of injuries from this point on until we unceremoniously dumped the Fab 5 on the Eve of the Finals.

I mean honestly, how much of an energy and morale sapper was that in hindsight.

Went to Adelaide and got smashed.

Walking out that night some wise Crow fan announced that North were doomed to years of failure with that list

I scoffed

And now here we are; too much pain over six seasons to contemplate, both on and off the field

So yeh. That game

Not yet, it's always getting worse.

Anyway I'm done I can't really put up with watching this s**t team anymore I've spent enough years following these plodders to know nothing will change anytime soon.

See you next season. Maybe.

🤣We’ll look forward to next week’s post. I think you said the same thing two weeks ago.

I reckon life got busy for me around 1986-1990 and I pretty much stopped following us

I think I went to that Richmond smashing in 1990 and started to pay some interest again and since then

Was my life any worse when I stopping caring?

No

It was nice to fall in love with the Club again in 90

I suppose that’s where I am at now

Life choices

Watching three diabolical games in a row from start to finish or doing something else?

This is my rock bottom

In order from the worst it got, retrospectively. What a dark, dark age for the club.
I think we win a few in the back half of this year.

Looking at the fixture now, I think we win

GWS (Hobart) Rnd 13
Hawthorn (Marvel) Rnd 18
West Coast (Optus) Rnd 20
& either one of the last two games Essendon (Marvel) Rnd 22 or Richmond (MCG) Rnd 23

Just remembered we have 24 rounds this year.
Finish with a win against Gold Coast in the last at Blundstone

Reckon we end up 15th on 7 wins, but finish with 3 wins in our last four games & plenty of momentum going into 2024.

02A0D97B-3AB6-4DE3-A3FA-CE6C12A865F9.jpeg

Fitzroy 95, Swans 93 are the worst I've seen. Carlton 02/03 we're pretty bad, on par with some of those Melbourne teams. We're probably in that range.
Fitzroy were worse, HEAPS worse in 95/96, I know, I was at the games.

The worst thing that can happen in a period of extended uselessness is that people realise footy doesn't really matter. You lose the rusted on fans. And their kids.