Opinion Is this rock bottom?

In the Carey match of 2003 no less.

I'd still reckon it's extending Bard's contract into appointing Shaw, then Noble. Committing to three consecutive coaching contracts doomed to fail, one with a guy who'd proven his uselessness, then two with blokes to whom AFL coaching seemed totally alien to them, and none coveted by any other club, was the ultimate in football sh1tfukcery.
When you study the timeline i reckon appointing Roos is the one fork where we could have pulled up this tailspin, iam sure his work at godees likely shored up his appointment but most of the current crapshow ( excluding the current clarko scenario which few could have foreseen) stems from there, roos ultimately suggested nobles who was the downfall of Ben who was left holding the bag because it happened on his watch.

The recruiting especially 2nd rounders from 2015 through to 18 was what set up this abomination of a list. there's no suger coating it we have zero depth and actually cant even field 22 AFL standard starters even without a single injury, let alone provide some VFl depth that can put pressure on the senior starters. discounting the of field current woes i cant see playing standard even best case scenario improving for at least another 2 years.

We are completely anchored to the bottom 1/3 of the ladder for the foreseeable future regardless who coaches and finals are a pipe dream best assesing at leart in 3 years time. Thats not even taking into account we are totally undermanned in the recruitment area so the grunge work of going out and watching prospective recruits first hand to see if they can actually football rather than sitting behind a screen and crunching champion data points isnt going to happen. at best we will recruit on reputation and maybe have a bit of filtering such as considering "flight risk" to select our next crop.

hardly the tools to assure we get or selections right, and boy do we need to nail our picks like we never have before otherwise LDu and Jyza will just be another couple of names of warriors that battled on for the blue and white without adequate support to make a meaningfull challenge. , gonna take a couple of "longmire and carey as steak knives" and "Blakey for McCarthy" scenarios to got us out of this one.

When you study the timeline i reckon appointing Roos is the one fork where we could have pulled up this tailspin, iam sure his work at godees likely shored up his appointment but most of the current crapshow ( excluding the current clarko scenario which few could have foreseen) stems from there, roos ultimately suggested nobles who was the downfall of Ben who was left holding the bag because it happened on his watch.

The recruiting especially 2nd rounders from 2015 through to 18 was what set up this abomination of a list. there's no suger coating it we have zero depth and actually cant even field 22 AFL standard starters even without a single injury, let alone provide some VFl depth that can put pressure on the senior starters. discounting the of field current woes i cant see playing standard even best case scenario improving for at least another 2 years.

We are completely anchored to the bottom 1/3 of the ladder for the foreseeable future regardless who coaches and finals are a pipe dream best assesing at leart in 3 years time. Thats not even taking into account we are totally undermanned in the recruitment area so the grunge work of going out and watching prospective recruits first hand to see if they can actually football rather than sitting behind a screen and crunching champion data points isnt going to happen. at best we will recruit on reputation and maybe have a bit of filtering such as considering "flight risk" to select our next crop.

hardly the tools to assure we get or selections right, and boy do we need to nail our picks like we never have before otherwise LDu and Jyza will just be another couple of names of warriors that battled on for the blue and white without adequate support to make a meaningfull challenge. , gonna take a couple of "longmire and carey as steak knives" and "Blakey for McCarthy" scenarios to got us out of this one.
The major fork imo was letting quality on field leaders in Tarrant, BBB and Higgins go and leaving us with the worst bunch of senior players in living memory.

It was all deliberate to expose us to the pointy end of the draft - that much has worked at least.

• Carey Affair (Bad, but couldn't help it. Did alright by getting Wells, but an ongoing ugly postscript on our golden era)
  • Pagan leaves (Unfortunate, but the list was done, and it was a bad move for Denis)
  • McCartney - Bali (Provided one of the best moments, albeit out of greater tragedy, of our last 20 years
  • Mick Martyn plays his 300th for Carlton (Mick was done. Good on him for milking the Blues to get to 300)
  • David Bourke plays a senior game (meh. We've spent more on worse players)
  • McKernan returns (No drama with this. Corey has proven himself to be one of the most endearing Shinboners in this time)
  • Teague wins b and f at Carlton (meh, just goes to show how s**t Carlton were at the time)
  • Daniel McConnell trade (Eagles got a 300 game premiership captain, we got 4 games. Not good)
  • Jon Hay (ouch. A first rounder for a bloke incapable physically and mentally of playing AFL)
  • Jade Rawlings (oh no. the Veale deal. Bad)
  • Pick 3 L Hansen 4 ahead of Selwood (retrospectively awful, but not the only ones who baulked at Selwood's chronic injuries
  • Attempt to be shifted off to Gold Coast (The response to saving our club is a continued source of pride)
  • Round 22 vs Port 2008 (an incredibly s**t day but we weren't winning that flag)
  • Gavin Urquhart - $1mill for 3 years (meh)
  • 4 home games in Tassie (NMFC selling out its fans so soon after Dallas Brooks - poor)
  • 2013 - 8 losses under 2 goals (An immature team under an immature coach)
  • 2016 - 9-0 finish with 12 wins (benefit from an easy first half draw, hampered by bad luck and injuries)
  • Boomer, Petrie and Spud retired (don't forget Dal and Wells. All were cooked except Harvey. The timing and handling was terrible, and the understanding of what these players meant was dumb. Harvey deserved WAY better, that he's still at the club speaks volumes of him.)
  • Brad Scott contract extended (stupid)
  • Majak mental health (sad)
  • Brad Scott sacked a year later (Right call too late)
  • Rhyce Shaw appointed (negligent)
  • Rhyce Shaw mental health (negligent at all levels)
  • David Noble appointed (nice in theory, stupid in hindsight)
  • JHF refuses ice bath and visits his mum (all on him)
  • 9 wins in 3 years (pathetic)
  • Clarko signs now held off (NMFC at no fault.. just so sad)
  • JHF requests trade (all on the weaknesses of the player, but a total kick in the balls)

Added to all this are the ambitious but futile pursuits of Heeney, DeGoey, Kelly, Martin and Gaff. Totally blinkered attempts at quick fixes which led to Polec, Hall, Pittard and Tyson. The most key moment in our demise was when a 10th year coach brought these guys in, and then within 5 rounds (Good Friday 2019) approached the board for more time citing the need for a rebuild which was first flagged, but never acted on, three years earlier when Harvey, Petrie, Wells, Firrito and Dal Santo were shafted. From there to the appointment of Clarkson, almost every call we made was amateur. Then the Clarkson appointment has blown up, JHF screwed us, and that's it. We're *ed.

For some reason I picture myself and my son in a montage, with me explaining all these incidents to him on a blackboard, in between scenes of me and him pumping weights and punching a punching bag, with that ‘Now you’re a man’ song from South Park playing.

All this at a time the AFL equalisation ideas have failed.

That Geelong can possibly recruit who they are touted to be recruiting when they are Premiers, and for Richmond three times recent Premiers to recruit Taranto and Hopper to instantly rebuild a class midfield in exchange for a grab bag of picks says all that has failed in equalisation.

Good luck with JHF & Clarko but the AFL looks to have entered a period where the big Vic clubs will dominate for a very long time.

That Geelong can possibly recruit who they are touted to be recruiting when they are Premiers, and for Richmond three times recent Premiers to recruit Taranto and Hopper to instantly rebuild a class midfield in exchange for a grab bag of picks says all that has failed in equalisation.

Good luck with JHF & Clarko but the AFL looks to have entered a period where the big Vic clubs will dominate for a very long time.

Has the smell of many overseas competitions in a variety of sports. Countries have 4 or 5 dominant teams and the rest.
$ is King 👑

Hard to disagree … the developments around salary dumping have only compounded the feeder club pathway provided by GWS and Suns

Hoping some measured thoughts from an outsider are welcome.

COACH: North did everything right this year. It controlled everything it could. The club were perfect in pitch and target. NOBODY saw this historical allegation coming. Where to? I believe this will eventually end in a stalemate. Allegations will linger and reputations burnt BUT without the presence of a smoking gun it will be too hard to prosecute. Clarko returns by draft day, he gets a big opportunity to rebuild his standing (the AFL industry is 50% redemption tales) and he will be determined. Keep the farm calm on this one. (Note: I am not saying this is the right outcome either, just the very likely outcome).

JHF: This is a bitter pill. One of the pillar players for the rebuild. The club batted away plenty of great offers for Pick 1 last year now it's a potential one-club, over the barrel job. It sucks but what was the cost so far? Other kids in the 2021 draft? Yeah, but not many have set the world on fire other than Daicos. A year of development. JHF was always a worry when he pushed back on the obligatory early contract extension all clubs offer. What's fair replacement? Somewhere between a Top 3 straight swap and a Top 3 and sweetener (or equivalent). With your pick 1 that is essentially a reset.

TT: $700k a year. Would I have done it. Based on the back end of 2021, the answer is FARKEN OATH. Gun kid, the club had cap space, that's what you spend it on, securing a gun kid. 2022 was an disaster for both player and club. I would kill to have him at West Coast and wouldn't bat an eyelid giving him that kind of cash. I rate his potential in the area of Wirrpanda - worst, Matera - best. A bloody good range. The club has to hold him to contract and get around him. Any commentator that calls his current contract "irresponsible" is a baiter.

The gulf between the privileged and not so privileged has never been greater.
And then the gulf between the not so privileged and us....well lets not even talk about it.

One thing that dumfounds me that doesn't get talked about much are the NGA programs. Who decided on the zones? Have you actually seen our zones compared to the other clubs? I know we got tassie (and tarryn) but that was bit of a fluke wasn't it? How he got to tassie in the first place?

I mean out of all of the states wouldn't that be the least likely place to find players that would qualify for these programs? I could be wrong, but even from a population point of view? Not to mention the extra disadvantage of having it in a different state to where we are based? The **hawks don't seem too fussed about being excluded from this fairyland of talent? Why didn't it go to the **hawks? They have been there the longest. And pretty soon it's going to be taken away from us anyway. The AFL would have known that was a good chance of happening when all this started.

We also have another zone. It's this tiny, tiny little zone that you have to zoom into on the map to even see it. It seems like it covers the Meblourne CBD and North Melbourne, even as far as Kensington and the docklands. I mean...do 50 year old homeless people qualify? Because who the **** else would qualify in that area? It's just like the compo picks, just a massive backhander across the face.

Anyway that's too much negativity and feeling sorry for our/my self. I might get some backlash so lets just continue on and think happy thoughts.

We've hit a double bump that has slowed our plummeting, by snagging Log and Bags. We're on the way back up now, just you wait and see :cool:

I was sitting around today and having a think about the last 22 odd years and I got a light bulb moment, I joined big footy on Apr 3 in 2000 off the back of the 99 Flag, well not much has gone right since then, besides surviving and refuting any idea of relocation, I think it must be my avatar so after 22 years I am ditching the old avator. WELCOME TO THE GOOD TIMES ROOS FANS

can we blame you? iam happy to supply the pitch forks?

Another day and another negative North story on the front page of the biggest piece of shit newspaper in this country.
**** the Herald Sun.

Cancel your subscriptions brothers and sisters it’s just not worth it

Since the botched retirements of Petrie, Boomer & co., the once mighty NMFC has been a mess. And then the one thing we got right - appointing Clarko - turns pear-shaped within a few weeks.
Watching us in 2022 was TOUGH. I've just about resigned myself to the fact that 2023 will probably be worse.

And please, spare me the "we've got a lot of young talent coming through". Our young talent is no better than any other clubs young talent. And that's a fact.

Jeez, we’re in deep strife now. Our dire situation has driven Arthur Cloke to post a serious comment. This must be the bottom!

Yes we have finally arrived, here at the Caulfield I just stumbled upon this horrific sight. he's bloody back, looking a little worse for wear, but that in fairness is understandable.

Good grief is all I can say, we have arrived ladies and gentlemen. We are in hell!! Was nice of Freddie to pose for the pic though

1666059964862.png

Yes we have finally arrived, here at the Caulfield I just stumbled upon this horrific sight. he's bloody back, looking a little worse for wear, but that in fairness is understandable.

Good grief is all I can say, we have arrived ladies and gentlemen. We are in hell!! Was nice of Freddie to pose for the pic though

View attachment 1538660
The Brian Mays/Stephen Kernahans merger went ahead at least. O well.

On SM-S901E using BigFooty.com mobile app

You need to relax and go on a holiday

Try Bali

This might sounds ridiculous considering things keep appearing to happen... However I'm confident that Nov 1 will be the start of the turn. There will still be noise around Clarko, however once he starts there will be a sense of stability that we've lacked for years.
I don't think it's ridiculous at all.

A lot of shit has happened since the day Clarko held his first presser as coach and the feeling amongst all of us that day was nothing short of pure joy, a sense of genuine excitement and perhaps even some disbelief. That was just one single day, Clarko's only day at the club so far.

From November 1st Clarko will be there everyday and despite what still has to play out with the Hawthorn investigation every single minute that Clarko spends at Arden Street the North Melbourne Football Club will be better for it.

As Yazz said in the late 80s;
The only way is up Baby