- Jul 8, 2016
- AFL Club
- Adelaide
Eddie Betts says hi.

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
No current season stats available
When I think of small forwards, I think of crumbing goals and running goals. So, Betts, Milne, Bruest. Johnston was more of a target, Greene somewhere in between. His goals average is surprisingly low.No where near it only kicked 50+ goals once in his career.
Milne did it 6x
Betts 5x (kicked 75 one year)
The two above are clearly better and in my opinion the best 2
Breust and Brad Johnson in my opinion are not small fwds both 6ft tall and played the general fwd role( I put betts and Milne above them anyway)
You simply can't compare them on raw goal averages.When I think of small forwards, I think of crumbing goals and running goals. So, Betts, Milne, Bruest. Johnston was more of a target, Greene somewhere in between. His goals average is surprisingly low.
I don’t go career goal ave I normally compare players peak with a minimum of 3 years.When I think of small forwards, I think of crumbing goals and running goals. So, Betts, Milne, Bruest. Johnston was more of a target, Greene somewhere in between. His goals average is surprisingly low.
No where near it only kicked 50+ goals once in his career.
Milne did it 6x
Betts 5x (kicked 75 one year)
The two above are clearly better and in my opinion the best 2
Breust and Brad Johnson in my opinion are not small fwds both 6ft tall and played the general fwd role( I put betts and Milne above them anyway)
And Dangerfield would kick more goals than Jack Reiwoldt if he played Jacks position his whole career is that where we are headed really?Tiprat averaged 2.7 goals + assists in his career. In 16 finals he averaged under 2.
Cyril averaged 2.5 goals + assists in his career, so 93% of Tiprat's scoreboard impact in all games from a hell of a lot less time spent around the goal mouth. In his 19 finals he averaged 2.3 goals + assists, comfortably above Milne.
Rioli and Greene play/ed predominately forward and were not key forwards or hybrids. They are small forwards. If you put either in Milne's role permanently like he was, I would confidently say they they would produce more goals and assists.
And Dangerfield would kick more goals than Jack Reiwoldt if he played Jacks position his whole career is that where we are headed really?
It wasn't Leon Davis 2002 bad but Tiprats 2009 Grand Final performance was very poor for a player of his quality.Tiprat averaged 2.7 goals + assists in his career. In 16 finals he averaged under 2.
Cyril averaged 2.5 goals + assists in his career, so 93% of Tiprat's scoreboard impact in all games from a hell of a lot less time spent around the goal mouth. In his 19 finals he averaged 2.3 goals + assists, comfortably above Milne.
Rioli and Greene play/ed predominately forward and were not key forwards or hybrids. They are small forwards. If you put either in Milne's role permanently like he was, I would confidently say they they would produce more goals and assists.
To be fair he was coming up against a running wingman who we decided to make a lockdown defender for a day (James Kelly). Nobody could handle that twist.It wasn't Leon Davis 2002 bad but Tiprats 2009 Grand Final performance was very poor for a player of his quality.
Ok our opinion differ on MilneThe big difference is Rioli had over 90% as many goals and assists as Milne, spending a lot of his time away from goals. With Dangerfield v Riewoldt it is a lot bigger leap to make.
I remember thinking around 2010/2011 that Betts, Garlett and Yarran would help launch Carlton into a decade of dominance.Ok our opinion differ on Milne
The best in my opinion is betts anyway
His first 4 years at the crows was
Top shelf
Just quietly, I reckon it's a lack of professionalism that drags JDG down. I'd rather have Jake Stringer than overrated Jordy boy.Not top 3. Milne, Boomer Harvey, Eddie Betts all miles better.
Really Greene plays more like a medium hybrid marking/small, where Gunston, Elliot, Stevie J have him covered, he's more on par with a JDG who is brought down to Greene's level by injury.
Massively improved from being an arse with potential to being a very good player.
Not a great captain either.
Suffers from being an AFL media unit project. The flog tepeatedly kicking opponents on the face was spun as him being unpredictable. Now he cheats less it's "redemption arc" and when he doesn't lose games through brainfarts its "great captain".
Is it fair to say that late in the day he finally has a coach to unlock his potential? A lot of Giants in this boat, buckets of talent but fI r a long time let down by less developed support.
Maybe the AFL spent all the money on the media unit and Sheedy when th ey needed a football dept and good coaches.
I'd say fitness is JDG's main problem, keeps copping injuries. We do rate him highly and he hasn't got on the park this year so while i'd love to disagree you have a point.Just quietly, I reckon it's a lack of professionalism that drags JDG down. I'd rather have Jake Stringer than overrated Jordy boy.
Ok our opinion differ on Milne
The best in my opinion is betts anyway
His first 4 years at the crows was
Top shelf
Elliott has been a no show in September throughout the years.
Needs a big one in a couple of months time.
In contrast, Greene is quite the opposite. Even now with Elliott having a better season, you would still back in Greene to come through strong in the finals as he's a complete player on all fronts.
My view on Aker is he was an elite rover who was so good at scoring they parked him up forwar. Still counts as an elite small forward of course.Elliott has superior hops. Better overhead.
Greene's ability to find his own footy by shifting up and around the ground is as good as any small forward over the past decade. Akermanis did so a lot throughout his career. Brad Johnson was arguably a master of it (despite playing much his taller than listed height).
Elliot will end up with less goals than Gary Ablett jnr in his career. Fun Fact. Ablett stays as a forward pocket his whole career , what he started as how many does he kick? 650?Elliott has superior hops. Better overhead.
Greene's ability to find his own footy by shifting up and around the ground is as good as any small forward over the past decade. Akermanis did so a lot throughout his career. Brad Johnson was arguably a master of it (despite playing much his taller than listed height).