Is Wayne Jackson doing a good job?

• Yes, he's been great for the AFL and Australian football!

Votes: 11 37.9%
  • No, his stuffing up the great game!

Votes: 18 62.1%

A few South Australians reckon we are been too harsh celebrating the 'accident' Wayne Jackson suffered last week. So what do people actually think, is Wayne doing a good job as the CEO of the AFL, and why or why not?

I say NO, his a liar, a scum and someone who is doing irrepairable damage to the game at grass roots level in Victoria. Closing Waverley and promoting reserved seating at games will be one of the biggest mistakes in the history of the game.

Instead of criticising club presidents (including in the AFL record) and complaining about players not pulling their socks up, Wayne should get in touch with how much the average supporter is sick of the Nazi like dictatorship he has over the great game.

[ Nazi like dictatorship he has over the great game. [/B][/QUOTE]

Please let me have some of the drugs you are on!!!!

Isn't the Chariman of the Commission Mr Ron Evans?

Can't the commission fire Wayne Jackson?

You utter utter idiot.

Originally posted by Jars458
[ Nazi like dictatorship he has over the great game.

Please let me have some of the drugs you are on!!!!

Isn't the Chariman of the Commission Mr Ron Evans?

Yep. The chairman of the commission however has no say in the day to day running of the competition. Wayne and his trusty sidekick Andy do.

Can't the commission fire Wayne Jackson?

Can they? How many commissioners would that require? Would the those from outside victoria agree to it? Is there a point here somwhere? Anywhere? Or is it just a blind leap to the defense of someone from your state because he's from your state?

You utter utter idiot.

My, aren't we touchy. We're not having a go at you Jars so chill out. Unless I was right and you are indeed Wayne in disguise :)

Originally posted by Dave

My, aren't we touchy. We're not having a go at you Jars so chill out. Unless I was right and you are indeed Wayne in disguise :)

Sorry Dave - I apologise!!

Lcoal footy here costs $7 a game and its great

The VFL is always a substitute for the AFL if you don't like the direction its going in I suppose.

Thanks for the lively debate.

:)

No worries, though the VFA(L) will never be a subsitute for the footy I grew up with.

And local footy here is free. God bless the Ammos!!

He is doing a fantastic job at the moment (while he is horizontal in hospital). It's when he gets up, that his performance will revert to crap.

I don't like him and think he's done a crap job but I do think celebrating someone elses injury is a bit harsh (unless its Carey and you're about to play North like Carlton did last week!)

It's interesting isn't it? Most people think Wayne Jackson is doing a shocking job. On what basis do they form their opinions?

Under Wayne Jackson's administration:

Attendances to the AFL increased from 1999 to 2000. 6.24 million attendances (note not individuals) to an AFL fixture in 1999 rose to 6.3 million attendances in 2000.

20% more people (an extra 94,555 people) attended last year's final series compared to 1999's. 51,776 extra people attended the 2000 Ansett Cup compared to 1999 - a rise of 18%. Overall 89,500 extra people attended AFL fixtures in 2000 from 1999 and this was despite no State of Origin match, (26,000 less people) and a fall of 30,768 less attendances in the Home and Away. New attendance records were set in Rounds 7, 9, 13 and 20 in 2000.

Financially the AFL has an operating surplus of $58.2 million, after an income of $110.7 million in 2000. Since 1995 they have had a 63% increase in competition revenue, a 71% increase in operating surplus, an increase of 84% in payments/distributions of money to AFL clubs. In 2000 there was an overall deficit of $7.2 million, but the reason was a special payment of $300,000 to each club (a total of $4.8 million) and an undisclosed amount paid to Hawthorn and St Kilda for their move away from Waverley.

As Chief Executive Officer, Wayne Jackson is in charge of these areas and going on the figures his performance would have to be rated as quite good.

If people are blaming Wayne Jackson for the direction the game is going, then they're venting their spleen at the wrong person/s. The personages on the AFL commission are the ones who make all the decisions on policies of the AFL, including the structure of the AFL competition....not Wayne Jackson, although he may have an influence. Wayne Jackson is their mouthpiece and is the one who implements their decisions. He does not decide AFL policy on his whims. It is the commission who made the decision about the closure of Waverley. It is the commission who made the decision about the AFL's involvement in Colonial. It is the commission who decide on the AFL committment and funding of grass-roots football. It is the commission who who will decide if and when second teams in Sydney and Brisbane will be admitted...not Wayne Jackson. Is it Wayne Jackson who is out of touch with the ordinary supporter or the faceless men on the AFL Commission? It is the AFL commission who have made the VFL/AFL competition a professional economic industry rather than merely an amateur pastime, as it was back in the 50's and 60's.....and which still exists in the VAFA.

Interesting points as always Roylion. I agree that much of the anger aimed at Wacko Jacko should be directed at the AFL, and in my recent spleen venting I haven't mentioned his name for that very reason.

The crowd figures are a very interesting issue. Whilst overall crowd figures were up last year, the home and away figures were the lowest they had been since 1996. Some of this can be put down to the early start to the season but when combined with some clubs struggling for members (and including some 'strong' ones like Carlton) the truth may be a little deeper. It would also be hard to reconcile the early start argument with an increase in Ansett Cup attendances.

The fact that the finals attendances were up by so much is also worth pondering. Did the fact that only one interstate team made the eight influence this? Crowds for two Victorian teams playing in Melbourne will always be bigger than games where an interstate team is involved. Or are we breeding supporters who only want to attend big games, the so called 'theatre - goer'? If so, is this such a big problem?

As custodians of the game, I'm not convinced we should be appluading AFL operating surpluses (sp?) when some clubs are clearly struggling finanacially. The loss of a club and resultant huge loss of supporters can't be good for the game.

Whilst the facts and figures can be swtiched this way and that depending on your point of view, I find it hard to believe that making it more difficult for families and friends to attend the footy together is good for the game. Corporate advertisers and tv networks will only put money into the game as an investment. They are not charities, nor do they have any emotional attachment to the game. If this comes at the detriment of supporters, the investment won't be as attractive and we all know what will happen.

I'm certainly not supporting the view everything the AFL does is right and correct. The closure of Waverley for example in my view was a poor decision, but it wasn't Wayne Jackson's decision. Much of the anger directed against Wayne Jackson is in my view mis-directed. Some of the comments on the boards about his accident were in pretty poor taste.

Elt, I think the AFL recognise that the loss of too many clubs in Victoria and resultant huge loss of supporters won't be good for the game. They have stated publicly the current 16 team structure works well and they are working to preserve the existing 16 teams in a 16 team structure, through the adoption of policies such as equalisation, the draft, the salary cap, the limit to list sizes, the prohibition on selling draft choices, sharing of money from broadcast rights, merchandise income etc. However beyond giving the clubs the best framework and opportunity to survive, and despite sitting on quite a large surplus, they believe it must be each club's responsibility to ensure it's own survival and not for the AFL to give handouts. Brisbane and Sydney are different cases in this regard because if the AFL wants to maintain their position as the No. 1 sport in Australia, they need the support of the public in the hostile northern states and the presence of at least one successful club in each of their capital cities.

I agree with you that making it more difficult for families and friends to attend the footy together is not good for the game. This is something the AFL needs to address.

Wayne is the Front man, He is the one on tv, in the papers an on the radio, bragging about how good a job the AFL is doing,
They don't listen to the people, as long as there getting money they will continue not to listen and go on there merry way and totally stuff up football in this Country,
This isn't American Or Europe, this country hasn't got a bigger enought population to keep up with the US or Euro style of Sports especially on the business side of things. The AFL can't see past the glass on the corperate boxes, they don't see the effect on the normal football going public,
The reason why the game has bigger crowds and more members isn't because its more populaur then ever before its just that its more people are able to see the game, with games spread out over more days, in more states at bigger venues its easy to see why more people are attending the games, But this doesn't make the game more populaur, go back to the 1950's 60's 70's and 80's when nearly every game was played on a saturday at the suburban grounds and tell me how many games were lock outs,
how many people just couldn't get into the ground, over thoses 40 years Id says millions of people would of missed out, And memberships well with clubs continuly telling supporters that there club will fold if you do buy a membership and with getting tickets to big games and finals near impossible its easy to see why there are more members,
Id like to see a comparision on VFA match attendences and local football league attendances from 20-30 years ago compared with today's attendances,
its local football that is suffering the most, with less people playing and less people attending it won't be long before the games populaurity drops off,
Wayne has to be held responisble, him and his cronnies, The Closing of Waverley just goes to show how much they really care about the normal supporter, they simply don't and thats why I hate him and the side kicks so much, I missed out on the best years football ever had, 1970's and 80's, I wish I was around back then at least I could of experienced the real passion, not like today's so called game, where everything has to be perfect,
everything has to be the best, the best stadium, the best seating, etc, and at what expense the normal football going public,
If you like the current state of the game, with all these changes that have gone on over the past 10 years, then good luck to you,
but why not take a few videos like Sensational Seventies or Electricfying Eighties and take a trip back to the good old days,
Just watch the crowds and players and see how passionate they all were,
today;s game has nothing compared to back then.
its all about being professional, I don;t know about anyone else but when I hear that word spread around all I can see is business type people, bankers, corperate morons wearing suits with there heads up there arses acting as though there are gods gift,
If thats the way football has to go to survive then I couldn't give a ******** what happends,
When Fitzroy Folded, when the Great EJ passed away that was the beginning of the end,
Wanye has been around since this has happend, he has had alot to do with it, No matter how much people have complained and argued he and his commsion have never backed down,
its only the past 100 years of passion which is keeping the game alive,
So whats the answer, give something back to the people, Open Waverley back up, play more games in Melbourne on Saturday's invest money in the older suburban grounds so when Melbourne teams play interstate teams they can save a fortune by playing games at there orginal home grounds, If not then they can get ********ed,
and Jackson I hope you lapse into a coma and never wake up
as part payment for what you have done to the game along with your cronnies