It is officially a crisis.

It is a crisis not just because of the result, but because of how easily we wilt when the clouds get dark.

There’s very little time between
-bit cloudy here boys
&
-let the cyclone start

The rot was evident in the final 2 rounds last year. Clearly there is no internal motivation in the players. No “little wins”. No “win the quarter boys” which breeds good habits, which creates the right attitude.

Just look at how intense Richmond played the final quarter v Brisbane a couple of weeks back. Genuinely played as if the game had reset 0-0 at 3:4 time and they were playing to win. There was PRIDE. There was MEANING.

Our players simply do not give a **** once the game is lost. 25-30 points, **** it may as well be 80-90. And they just become lazy, and soft, and that just breeds the shit ****ing habits that become the ****ing norm the next week. And the week after that. And that’s why we’ve barely beaten a side outside the bottom 3 for 6 years.

People who didn’t see this coming after the pre-season football we played really deserve what they get. There was ZERO improvement shown at any point.

It is blind faith and blind faith alone that anybody believes we can win more than 4 games this year. It has been staring us in the face for a long time.

I fear players like Jy, LDU & Larkey are mentally shot

It's not even that they're 'mentally shot'.

It's just that... they are not as good as we think they are.

With Jy it's an easy argument to make.
With LDU it's more difficult as some still think he's some A-grade beast, but he's not. A graders are consistent and this is not something LDU has ever been.
With Larkey, too many people will say "but he kicked 70 goals!" which is obviously true, but that was an outcome based on quantity over quality. He's a B-grader at best, and that's his ceiling. And in 2025 he's not playing at the level of his ceiling either.

It's not even that they're 'mentally shot'.

It's just that... they are not as good as we think they are.

With Jy it's an easy argument to make.
With LDU it's more difficult as some still think he's some A-grade beast, but he's not. A graders are consistent and this is not something LDU has ever been.
With Larkey, too many people will say "but he kicked 70 goals!" which is obviously true, but that was an outcome based on quantity over quality. He's a B-grader at best, and that's his ceiling. And in 2025 he's not playing at the level of his ceiling either.
You are correct.
We have overrated our list.

Simpkin - To inconsistent, error prone & temperament isn't good when we start losing

LDU - Only looks like a Rolls Royce when everyone else is playing well and we are smashing the clearances.
Lack of awareness when about to be tackled and poor disposal at times

Larkey - An excellent set shot but he doesn't present well around the ground
Doesn't impose himself physically and leaves some to be desired in contested marking.

Oh yes my head is in the sand and you're a genius football analyst because you know what's REALLY GOING ON its woke cancer killing the once proud NMFC bravo well done zzzzzzzzzzz
Don't need to be a genius football analyst to realise that the club has been devoid of competent leadership from the top down for years.

It's time to bring in people who KNOW what needs to be done because they've successfully run a football club before. The dangerous experiment needs to end, before our club ceases to exist.

The alarm bells were ringing loudly after preseason and plenty of people were happy to ignore them.
Those who voiced concerns,which have proven to be on the money, were shouted down by feeble posters
Sorry Mate. We won’t gel until after the bye. 😵‍💫

60 plus years of continuous membership and today is as embarrassed as I have been for many years by our club. 5 years of garbage and we can't get pumped for our biggest game of the year? Really? The club is in crisis. A crop of high draft picks, best available coach - what's left?Today we get thrashed by a team whose coach was gonna be sacked if they lost.

We are in a crisis. Please, tell me how we fix this shambles. Who takes responsibility?
Passion GK. 60 plus years. Feel it in your words.

Not quite your vintage, but I've never - ever- seen a game where only two NMFC players could walk off the ground and honestly say they didn't lower their colours.

Only two - Wardlaw and Curtis.

Kudos to those lads. Young players no less.

Takes real spunk to do that when all others are falling down around you, particularly a cabal of senior players.

They have to be held to account.

That's where you at least start.

The alarm bells were ringing loudly after preseason and plenty of people were happy to ignore them.
Those who voiced concerns,which have proven to be on the money, were shouted down by feeble posters
Up pops another hero. Yes by some supporters ignoring your wisdom is the reason we are crap. Piss off.

It’s over everyone. Clarko was our last chance to rebuild this club and he has failed dismally. The core senior players are rotten and culture shot. The hawthorn racism saga didn’t help and there is no way the club can survive another full rebuild. People can jump up and down as much as they like by saying sack Clarko etc but the reality is no one of quality wants to come to North as it’s a career killer. This has Fitzroy written all over it again and the club is in its death throes. Very sad state of affairs and the Tassie ‘kangaroo’’ merger will be the outcome and around 5 of our better players will be part of the new team just like the Brisbane / Fitzroy merger.

Hate to say it but think you right in some terms but can see it being WA based as the AFL basically want 20 teams .
Well we will all know by August as that when this club will announce that we will play 4 WA home games as this club needs the $$$$ to make up for the short fall for no Tasmanian games.
As we will lose $$$$ on hosting games in Melbourne.

Hate to say it but think you right in some terms but can see it being WA based as the AFL basically want 20 teams .
Well we will all know by August as that when this club will announce that we will play 4 WA home games as this club needs the $$$$ to make up for the short fall for no Tasmanian games.
As we will lose $$$$ on hosting games in Melbourne.
I have been a diehard loyal supporter and member for over 30 years and I was devastated yesterday - all hope gone. No club can survive this.

Sure they can. Times have changed since the AFL aimed for mergers and relocations. The Tasmania train is up and running, they don’t want a relocated club and it’s not an AFL objective either.

Lots of supporters felt broken during and after yesterday’s game. Not all, but plenty. Me too. Not for the first time, or the last. We have always been the most resilient supporters in the league because we’ve had to be. In 156 years North has been in crisis more than it’s been out of it (so I’m not sure crisis is even the right word).

This would be our worst win/loss ratio ever under current President and CEO, yeah?

Pretty obvious to see where the problem is.

How about we bring in strong people who actually know how to ****ing run a football club!
Rod,

We have the worst Win / Loss ratio in this history of the AFL over any five year span.

14 per cent from 2020-24

Next worse - 19 percent

Sydney of 1990-94

That’s how bad we are.

The current state of the club is untenable for some, if not most of the football department and up imo. Board, Pres, CEO, list manager, line coaches etc. Not sure we can do anything about Clarko unless he falls on his sword or we fire everyone around him and he cracks the shits and leaves with a negotiated payout.

Players need to be read the riot act. They will be graded on intent and endeavor. The weakest links defensively are traded at seasons end. The 'brotherhood' needs to either fire on field or it will be forcibly broken up.

Horse and Simmo need to come home(Footy director/HC type set up) and get the full football department wack of money to hire great line/positional/dev/conditioning coaches. As far as I'm concerned, we only get 1 more crack at this before the AFL steps in and folds us for Tassy.

Anyone not on the same page can **** right off, especially entitled players that are going through the motions. Another gentle, nurturing coach and I'll ****ing spew.

If we see out the year as the season has gone thus far, membership will drop like a stone. External review during the bye weeks??
The stability mantra is the right one but it only works if you’ve got the right people in the key roles.

I’m not sure that we do.

I don't think it'll be long before the question about our existence will start being asked when Tassie come in.
Speaking as an old Fitzroy supporter I can tell you North only is in real trouble if the financials go south. We have made profits for ten (?) years in a row. The TV rights are a major issue to keep North going.

How many new threads do we need to say we are shit?

Not everyone needs their own thread.

We have the rock bottom thread, the failed rebuild thread, the autopsy thread, the Rawlings thread, the clarko thread...
That would be funny except it isn't.

It's all actually got me starting to wonder about an ' out there' theory...

North Melbourne were the ones that pushed for Good Friday... For many growing up this was a sacred day..a day Australia never had football. (Of course the Good Friday appeal is a wonderful cause)

However Good Friday itself was this 'set aside' day..a day to contemplate something much bigger than football.

(I know there are still a few of us who don't like football on that day)

And along comes North Melbourne.. pushing for football..

Now maybe it's all coincidence.. But since that time.. North have become terrible.. It doesn't matter what coaches.. What number one draft picks... It just feels like they could have a team made up of Carey, Dangerfield, Bontempelli, Garry Ablett jnr and snr. The best coach of all time.. Etc. And they'd still get smashed.

Maybe North should give Good Friday up!

I know that all sounds extreme.. and probably get laughed off the forum...But there's just something about this whole thing that seems bigger than individual players or management.

Anyway probably time to focus on other things!

As a Christian, humans were given free will my friend. While I am actually kind of against attending football on Good Friday from my own personal belief perspective, we are shit because we keep making horrible decisions and rewarding selfish players.

It is officially a crisis.