Scape Goat I've lost my faith in Ken Hinkley Part 3

Vagabond0

Sep 21, 2014
Port Adelaide
So damn true. His lack of action during games, apart from drinking Coke no sugar, is probably the thing about him that pisses me off the most

Just read this quote from Juventus coach Allegri.

"Often nowadays, a Coach has to be a psychologist. He also has to follow his instinct. At times, I get asked these questions about strategy and it makes me irritable, because I believe far more in perceiving the game as it’s developing, understanding various moments and what needs to be done.

“It’s difficult to describe, because in those moments, either you’ve got it or you don’t. The rest is just theory, because you can prepare all you like, but once the game starts and things happen, your strategy must change and you throw everything you worked on during the week out the window.

"At that point, what matters is what’s in your gut, as well as courage.” - not Kenny.

Harlott

Jul 5, 2010
Port Adelaide
In his interview on SEN, Kane said he’s sure Ken is aware a lot of frustrated supporters are calling for Billy to be brought in.

Ken said that the rain on Sunday would make it hard playing an extra tall but that he wouldn’t totally rule it out.

He said that there is no denying that Billy has been in outstanding form but he said we also have people already in our side equally as talented as talls.
Said we need to balance the ground level with the aerial support and have the conditions that allow us to do that.

If our rucks and key forwards don’t perform to acceptable standard we will look at options, be that Dougal (or Billy)

Ken was asked about AJ and his form.
Ken said they know AJ isn’t in the form that they would have liked but offered certain things when Butters and Ebo were out.

He said that people on the outside do not see all the things that coaches see on the inside.

Nathan Buckley said the exact same thing about coaching decisions a few weeks back.

How about we see results and we see past results and we see how AJ has performed the role before and we see how it basically did jack*** to the result?

So damn true. His lack of action during games, apart from drinking Coke no sugar, is probably the thing about him that pisses me off the most
Did you notice that Bassett and Monty moved their chairs an extra couple of feet away from him on either side, giving him more room not to deign to put on his headphones ... and as if his farts are hard to handle.

9 goals in 2 weeks, can lead and mark = too risky
Poor form and a pot belly = get him in

Frampton also has something that was once a valued Port Adelaide trait - a heart.

Sep 26, 2012
Port Adelaide
Did you notice that Bassett and Monty moved their chairs an extra couple of feet away from him on either side, giving him more room not to deign to put on his headphones ... and as if his farts are hard to handle.

jhgfcx.jpeg

Simon Phillips getting a call-up after 2 possessions for Norwood rounds out the podium.
haha I forgot this. Good bloke Flipper tho, fixed his iPhones a few times. Never forget.

Pear1870

Section 301
Port Adelaide - Allir Allir Player Sponsor 2021 Port Adelaide - Kane Farrell Player Sponsor 2021 Port Adelaide - Connor Rozee Player Sponsor 2020
Aug 25, 2018
Port Adelaide

Re last years showdown with the Motlop goal. After the siren, as viewed on camera, no-one in the coaches box approached hinkley to congratulate him. Nothing. It may have been done later maybe without a camera present, but not directly after the game it didnt. I thought it strange when I watched the replay later. In hind sight, says a lot.

Fair enough. I do understand your pisition. Yes coaches, and players, and administrators come and go, but the club is constant. ...... Intersting. You might want to define the word "club".

Your comment implies you will be doing nothing because nothing is required of you to be done.
Whatever changes that occur within the club are OK with you. Whatever damage is done to the club name, its culture, its legacy to the next generation is also OK with you because ... you have got a good seat.

The club is not constant.. Just the name is. The culture within the club and player group has IMO dramastically changed over a very short period of time and by those in authority. Club traditon has even been attacked and deposed of for NO reason and so effortlessly. Only financial members can hold those in positions of authority within the club to account for thier actions. As financial embers, it is our right and duty to do so. Each person should do what is appropriate for them to support the tradition and honour of the club they also love so that the club is not an unrecognizable entity n future years. One of the best things we can leave our children, and grand children and every man and his dog, is a community and traditional Port Adelaide Football Club (both AFL and SANFL)

There are only three types of people in the world

1. Those that make things happen
2. Those who watch things happen
3. Those who wonder what happened.

You’re saying on the one hand that, because I choose to maintain my membership that I am part of the problem. That by "doing nothing" as you describe it, I am condoning anything and everything that happens at the club and I will be partly to blame for any poor decisions or actions made by those in authority.

You also say that only financial members can hold those people to account. I agree. As financial members we can put pressure on the club by not attending games, by providing feedback to the club about issues we are dissatisfied with, by not investing in merchandise, by cancelling subscriptions to the Premiership Fund etc. voting. Once I rescind my membership, well, that’s about it.

And my decision to continue my membership is not just because I "have got a good seat". As I said, that was one of the practical reasons, there is a lot more to it than that.

Pear1870

Section 301
Port Adelaide - Allir Allir Player Sponsor 2021 Port Adelaide - Kane Farrell Player Sponsor 2021 Port Adelaide - Connor Rozee Player Sponsor 2020
Aug 25, 2018
Port Adelaide
I am pretty sure walshs death in 2015 had an effect on him but i didnt realise ken also lost his best mate peter hubbard a victorian racing trainer in 2016. I think this changed him to be a little more less serious about coaching
And have a different perspective on life and not live and breath footy 24 hrs. I think for his own happiness and that of the club he needs to walk away. Still like him as a bloke but footy is a business

It was the passing of Peter Hubbard in late 2016 that had a significant effect on Hinkley.
Quoted in 2017, "that was when I realized there was more to life than football"
Quoted in 2017 "it might be a great game with 1500 media covering it and a game we all love, but its a game". " football feels like the real life and death sometimes, but it's not".

This is all well and good and a person can certainly understand the pain associated with such an event. The comments made however, would more likely be attributed to a person who resigned from their senior coaching position because to them there are more important things to do. Not from a person who remained as head coach - and who received a massive salary year in year out. If any person questions Ken's intensity or passion for the head coaching position that demands the same from all coaches (hence the massive salaries paid to them), here is your answer.

The article is titled "life teaches Port Adelaide coach ken Hinkley a brutal lesson". By Caroline Wilson dated 31 may 2017.

If ken was true to himself, the players, to the club, he would have either left before the start of 2017 season or waited until end 2018 to respectfully finish out the contract. But not by re-signing before the current contract had expired, knowing what constant pressure, dedication and passion is required of that position. Why would he do that if " its only a game thats not that important. And this is knowing the job had a massive salary paid each year. Oh, yeah, right. I think I've worked out the why 😏.

Where have I heard that before ?!!!

Pear1870

Section 301
Aug 25, 2018
Port Adelaide
You’re saying on the one hand that, because I choose to maintain my membership that I am part of the problem. That by "doing nothing" as you describe it, I am condoning anything and everything that happens at the club and I will be partly to blame for any poor decisions or actions made by those in authority.

You also say that only financial members can hold those people to account. I agree. As financial members we can put pressure on the club by not attending games, by providing feedback to the club about issues we are dissatisfied with, by not investing in merchandise, by cancelling subscriptions to the Premiership Fund etc. voting. Once I rescind my membership, well, that’s about it.

And my decision to continue my membership is not just because I "have got a good seat". As I said, that was one of the practical reasons, there is a lot more to it than that.

Re last years showdown with the Motlop goal. After the siren, as viewed on camera, no-one in the coaches box approached hinkley to congratulate him. Nothing. It may have been done later maybe without a camera present, but not directly after the game it didnt. I thought it strange when I watched the replay later. In hind sight, says a lot.
Maybe there was nobody else in the coaches box.

I’ve met Hinkley. In Shanghai when the promo crowd went up at end 2016 at a reputed cost of A$400k. He was hard to take. Gruff, out of place, by no means confidence-transmitting. Even ignorant.

Pear1870

Section 301
Aug 25, 2018
Port Adelaide

I'm sorry you got that impression Janey. It certainly wasn't meant that way. I 100% agree with you. As you have said, there are many ways an individual can assist with change, as financial members (which carries more weight,) or as supporters. You listed most of them. I thought my post stated action according to a persons circumstance etc whatever that may be. The point of my post was basically saying if a person does nothing, that person has no right to complain. Each must make up their mind. The collective action can get positive results or possitive change. If you have chosen a particular action, whatnever that is, great IMO. What you chose to do or even not do, is your own business and is entirely up to you. My fear is the magority will elect to do nothing and won't even consider there is a need to do anything. When it hits the fan, they will wonder why.

May 26, 2017
Uruguayana, RS (BRA)
Port Adelaide
Grêmio, DC United, Pistons
Finish 4th usually means 15 wins. In 2017 we won 14 games. So if he meant top 4 he wasn't far off.

But saying you are top 4 side is meaningless really, its being top 2 that matters especially for non Vic sides who have to travel come finals time, and top 2 means minimal travel to win a flag.

As I have written in the following ongoing thread I started back in September 2008, and made a few charts,
Making the Top 4 and building to a flag

finishing 4th is almost meaningless in terms of winning a flag. Since the current final 8 system started in 2000, nobody has won a flag from 4th, only 3 time heavyweight champions in Brisbane and Hawks, both in their 3rd of 3 in a row, finals specialist Sydney in both 2005+2012 and Richmond in 2017 when they played 3 home MCG games in September, 2 against travelling teams, have won flags from 3rd.

As I have written many times in the thread, it is an exponential jump to go from 4th to a flag. If KT and Koch meant we had a list good enough to finish 4th with no CAS suspensions and heaps of injuries, then they were reasonably accurate in mid 2016. If they meant we had a list good enough to finish top 2 then they were very wrong.

Finish top 2 and you play a home QF and if its a non Vic club, you have a 90+% chance the oppo have to travel from another state. Win that and you get a home PF, and once again the % say against a travelling side. Lose the QF and you lose home ground advantage and have to travel.

That's why there is a massive difference between being a top 2 side and a top 4 side.
I just want to point out that "being consistently Top-4" establishes a FLOOR; not a ceiling. If your goal is to be consistently finishing in the Top-4, it means that this is the worst case scenario. Anything below it would be a failure.

If that is what Koch and KT have said, that is the measure by which they must be judged. Can anyone tell me how many failed seasons we have had since then?

PowerBaz

Jun 13, 2014
Port Adelaide
Do you need a coach these days or a Manager with intuition of the game?

I’d suggest the latter, each club has enough resources that the coach is to manage all the departments but then needs to have the feel for when he needs to step in and make a call. Hence why Clarkson is more on the bench. He has the line managers to coordinate his game plan, he is front and centre with the soldiers to see hownthebplan is working.

Ken is definitely more a manager, his gamelan up the forward half just stinks, not much line mangers can do when they are stuck with a lemon.

PowerBaz

Jun 13, 2014
Port Adelaide
Just read this quote from Juventus coach Allegri.

"Often nowadays, a Coach has to be a psychologist. He also has to follow his instinct. At times, I get asked these questions about strategy and it makes me irritable, because I believe far more in perceiving the game as it’s developing, understanding various moments and what needs to be done.

“It’s difficult to describe, because in those moments, either you’ve got it or you don’t. The rest is just theory, because you can prepare all you like, but once the game starts and things happen, your strategy must change and you throw everything you worked on during the week out the window.

"At that point, what matters is what’s in your gut, as well as courage.” - not Kenny.

Yeah Ken makes his mind up in November the previous year on how we will play then sits idle in games.

Aug 30, 2004
Kaurna Land
Port Adelaide
Vikings, Canadiens, Sharks
It was the passing of Peter Hubbard in late 2016 that had a significant effect on Hinkley.
Quoted in 2017, "that was when I realized there was more to life than football"
Quoted in 2017 "it might be a great game with 1500 media covering it and a game we all love, but its a game". " football feels like the real life and death sometimes, but it's not". ....
The AFL football is a multi million dollar industry and you are paid a ship load of money so if you are not invested in it because "it's just a game" you should feck off.

If you want it to be just a game Ken do us all a favour and go and coach an amos side for free.