J - On

[youtube]Sd5GS7cfz50[/youtube]

Cool under pressure, creative in attack, JON seals the game for Richmond! ;)

Seriously though, nice side step, as Wiseby talks about, and lots of distance on the kick :thumbsu:

It's sad but that was the best thing he ever did on the footy field. And he missed. And he played a terrible game.

I wouldn't be too happy reading that as a Richmond supporter but as a West Coast man I have to say, I like the cut of JON.

"The club has always been in my heart, even when I got drafted by Richmond I always watched out for the Eagles because my whole family goes for them and they’re always in your ear about them. Now I’ve finally got the chance to pull on an Eagles jumper and I’m just going to put my head down and work hard.”

I’m probably more happy and excited now than I was when I first got drafted because I thought I was gone"

EDIT TRIVIA: We now own the 2005 draft with picks 4, 8 and 13 on our list.

i personally couldn't give a stuff what he did at richmond. they are a joke of a club, and many decorated afl players would have flopped if they had ended up there.

far as i'm concerned, we have a quick local kid, who is 21 and worthy of a top 10 pick four years ago :thumbsu:

I didnt know that he is a nephew of Chris Lewis. Being a massive Eagles supporter too, hopefully he will put his head down and work hard to break into the side.

We just used our last pick in the rookie draft on a 21yr old 2005 first round pick.:eek:

The Eagles rated RON highly in that draft but couldn't get him. Quick, running ellusive outside mid, a Eagles fan growing up and was sent to cold bleak Melbourne and Richmond.

More than happy to draft JON:thumbsu:.

As Woodhouse said you get this kids head right and natural talent doesn't dissappear at 21yrs of age.

Could be the steal of the draft:rolleyes:.

Pay little and gain alot.

Hey guys don't be dissapointed to have drafted him, he has every opportunity in a youthful team to become a steal rookie draft pick.

All his stregnths pre-draft became weaknesses once he came to our joke of our club at the time (things are starting to improve now thank ****) and as Woodhouse said you dont lose your talent overnight.
His athleticism will definately suit the bigger Subiaco.

I bet a few of you guys who saw him play in his junior days (i didnt) will see the huge contrast between him playing his footy in Perth and him in Victoria.

I feel sorry for the bloke like he's been chucked in the deep end way too early and made a scapecoat by the fans so easily.
There's many reasons why i can understand why he didn't/couldn't make it at our club but i feel the eagles are the perfect club for him and if he doesn't make it then so be it maybe AFL isn't for the bloke.
All the best guys

Don't get your hopes up too much. Worst footballer I've ever seen, I'm not even exaggerating.

As unlikely as it is that JON will make it, it's actually pretty easy to make a case for him improving and I, for one, will be riding that until the start of the NAB cup..

We're actually in an okay position with JON. As people have said, if he turns out a dud we can say "oh but it was the last rookie pick we took in a shoddy draft", and sleep well knowing chances are no gems were taken after him.

Richmond on the other hand might be a little nervous. If we make anything of JON it'll expose their lack of player development to an even greater extent.

I'm not expecting much from JON but if I was a Richmond person I'd be a little worried he got picked up.

would rookie him for sure. low risk, potential huge reward.

this draft is pretty weak, so there wont be too many decent players left in the rookie draft. we could do a lot worse than pick a former top 10 draftee.

im gonna stand by this.

at least if he fails he will provide us with lols.

We're actually in an okay position with JON. As people have said, if he turns out a dud we can say "oh but it was the last rookie pick we took in a shoddy draft", and sleep well knowing chances are no gems were taken after him.

Was Panos taken after him? If so, it's fairly likely he'll do better.

I wouldn't be too happy reading that as a Richmond supporter but as a West Coast man I have to say, I like the cut of JON.

EDIT TRIVIA: We now own the 2005 draft with picks 4, 8 and 13 on our list.

If he said that, what an absolute dog of a bloke he is ...
He's heart was always with another club whilst he was at Richmond ..
That is pathetic and selfish, and it's clear now he didn't give the Tigers 100 percent whilst he was at Richmond, now I hate the Tigers bitterly, but that is a pretty disgraceful thing to admit ...

Go to Hell JON, I hope your career flops at West Coast you hack.
Richmond fans should be livid when they read that.

That is pathetic and selfish, and it's clear now he didn't give the Tigers 100 percent whilst he was at Richmond, now I hate the Tigers bitterly, but that is a pretty disgraceful thing to admit ...

there is only one poster on bigfooty who cant have a go at someone for that

its you turncoat

I love this thread, especially comparing the replys from when you didn't have him to now. :D

Don't get your hopes up too much. Worst footballer I've ever seen, I'm not even exaggerating.

Jarrad Oakley-Nicholls's time for a change?

Jay Clark

August 08, 2009 11:30pm

JARRAD Oakley-Nicholls's Richmond mentor, Phil Egan, insists a bright future awaits the young Tiger at another club next season.

Egan fears the 21-year-old will be one of "eight to 12" Richmond players axed in October due to a lack of senior opportunities to prove himself.

Oakley-Nicholls, Richmond's first selection in the 2005 national draft, has played only 13 games in four years and is today slated to line up for Coburg's reserves.

But Egan, who played 125 games for Richmond and Melbourne, was adamant the speedy flanker had enormous potential.

He said with more support, and more time running out of a defensive position, Oakley-Nicholls could lead a "David Rodan-like" revival next season.

"He's played almost every game as a forward but, to me, he is a tall, creative, quick half-back or winger that's where he played all his junior footy and that is what he was recruited as," Egan said.

"He has often played in the dead pocket up forward and even then he is hardly given much time on the ground.

"I don't think the kid has had much of a chance. David Rodan was similar he didn't get much of an opportunity at Richmond but since moving to Port Adelaide he has blossomed under Mark Williams."

Oakley-Nicholls has not played a senior game under interim coach Jade Rawlings and is likely to be dumped as part of a major list overhaul at the end of the season.

Sounds like you flogs did not do much to develop him. If he does not work out we have the chance to take Joel Coyne, (similar sought of player) in next years Rookie draft.

Jarrad Oakley-Nicholls's time for a change?

Jay Clark

August 08, 2009 11:30pm

JARRAD Oakley-Nicholls's Richmond mentor, Phil Egan, insists a bright future awaits the young Tiger at another club next season.

Egan fears the 21-year-old will be one of "eight to 12" Richmond players axed in October due to a lack of senior opportunities to prove himself.

Oakley-Nicholls, Richmond's first selection in the 2005 national draft, has played only 13 games in four years and is today slated to line up for Coburg's reserves.

But Egan, who played 125 games for Richmond and Melbourne, was adamant the speedy flanker had enormous potential.

He said with more support, and more time running out of a defensive position, Oakley-Nicholls could lead a "David Rodan-like" revival next season.

"He's played almost every game as a forward but, to me, he is a tall, creative, quick half-back or winger that's where he played all his junior footy and that is what he was recruited as," Egan said.

"He has often played in the dead pocket up forward and even then he is hardly given much time on the ground.

"I don't think the kid has had much of a chance. David Rodan was similar he didn't get much of an opportunity at Richmond but since moving to Port Adelaide he has blossomed under Mark Williams."

Oakley-Nicholls has not played a senior game under interim coach Jade Rawlings and is likely to be dumped as part of a major list overhaul at the end of the season.

Sounds like you flogs did not do much to develop him. If he does not work out we have the chance to take Joel Coyne, (similar sought of player) in next years Rookie draft.

That article proves what exactly? If you know anything it's that Phil Egan is completely delusional when it comes to JON. He has supported him all through his career yet he's been terrible all through his career. He says anything to talk him up. Egan is like the sad father who coaches his son's junior team and constantly plays him in all the best positions and never takes him off the field, doesn't know when to give up and accept he's shit.

Ease up Mate not his fault drafted as an indigenous player to the other side of the country same has happened to Chris Yarran . Some players just dont fit. clubs need to take into consideration all aspects of players personalities , cultural and family situations .

He deserves a second chance under the media spotlight not all players are articulate and say the right thing , he's obviously nervous and stuffed up . I'm sure he would have liked his career at Richmond to be better :cool:

That article proves what exactly? If you know anything it's that Phil Egan is completely delusional when it comes to JON. He has supported him all through his career yet he's been terrible all through his career. He says anything to talk him up. Egan is like the sad father who coaches his son's junior team and constantly plays him in all the best positions and never takes him off the field, doesn't know when to give up and accept he's shit.

Touche.

Or maybe, just maybe, JON is talented, and just never developed at Richmond.

J - On