Rumour JA to Gold Coast?

IMO JA looks a lot more dangerous in front of big sticks, he was just unfit few weeks ago. But yeah, hopefully we can keep them both.

Well JA is great set-shot for Goal and Thats what makes him Dangours

So the 2nd year player who basically carried our forward line last year and kicked 50 when medder's was lame and cloke was desperately out of form is now all of a sudden a dud?Lets give up on him because he was beaten by scarlett and lake the two best defender's in the comp:rolleyes:

The same guy who is coming off a injury and is now doing all that is asked of him at VFL level by kicking bags of goals

seriously some of you guys have to be taking the piss or have no idea about football.

Jack has more of a future than Medhurst at Collingwood and thats no slight on medders'

He cant leave us he has been a Collingwood fan all his life and there is room for him in our 22 but if the GC do offer him a deal he couldnt refuse then i would excuse but he cant go to the bummers.
He barracked for North as a kid.

Having said that, he's an asset to the club, and he should be a priority for re-signing.

Has Jack got a new nick-name?? Dangours?? WTF???

Haha glad I'm not the only one to pick up on that, quality nickname imo.

Jack 'Dangours' Anthony will return to the 22. he clearly has the hunger and the will displayed in his last couple of VFL games. If he plays another ripper in the VFL this week, I wouldn't be surprised if he were to return against Geelong.

Dawes has been impressive, but I look forward to seeing how he fares in the next couple of weeks against the more premier backmen such as Scarlett and Tarrant.

He has Played 13 Games and What KPF has looked super convincing after 13 Games?

Travis Cloke... Jack Anthony. Anthony Rocca. Sav Rocca.

How far back do you want to go? Peter Mc Kenna?

Shall we talk about other clubs?

Must keep him. He could be our Bradshaw.

Although a different player to Medhurst and Leon, he is 8 years younger. If he improves his tackling skils and increases his count on match day, he could cover Medhurst's spot and would be well complimented with Dick finding himself in the forward pocket.

Dawes has been impressive, but I look forward to seeing how he fares in the next couple of weeks against the more premier backmen such as Scarlett and Tarrant.

I think also a good Lesson for Dawes too

I've got a rock solid source that says he's going be the poster boy for Plaster of Paris, apparantly they're interested in running a series of TV advertisements using a mold of his forehead as the centrepiece.

Expect him to annouce his retirement from footy and take up the offer midseason

An emphatic HELL NO!!

Seriously, he is a major asset to us and I'm sure the club know this.

He is one of the "top priorities" to retain long term. 50 goal young key forwards do not grow on trees. He has the Fevola/Bradshaw potential written all over him. 20 shots on goal in two weeks in the twos is massive output anyway you cut it. No other key forward on our list amasses numbers like this. He is the best FF we have IMO (Rus not included) and has commanded serious respect among the competition with the household names he regularly gets as opponents i.e. Scarlett/Lake/Rutten/Tarrant etc.

People really have short term memories. It will only be a matter of time before everyone begins to sing Jack's praises once again.

An emphatic HELL NO!!

Seriously, he is a major asset to us and I'm sure the club know this.

He is one of the "top priorities" to retain long term. 50 goal young key forwards do not grow on trees. He has the Fevola/Bradshaw potential written all over him. 20 shots on goal in two weeks in the twos is massive output anyway you cut it. No other key forward on our list amasses numbers like this. He is the best FF we have IMO (Rus not included) and has commanded serious respect among the competition with the household names he regularly gets as opponents i.e. Scarlett/Lake/Rutten/Tarrant etc.

People really have short term memories. It will only be a matter of time before everyone begins to sing Jack's praises once again.

I still Disagre with JA being our Best FF going Forward where I think Dawes is more Suited to that Role and Playing alongside Cloke where I think JA is a 3rd Tall and can also play in Defense. Like most people say he is a bit like Adam Hunter

Yeh, fair enough Dave.

I just don't think "third talls" get the oppositions best backman playing on them weekly.

I know if I were coaching against Collingwood and had to choose between who is far more dangerous deep inside 50- Jack or Dawes- it is clearly a no brainer with the amount of damage Jack will do with a lesser defender on him. That is why he always gets the Lakes, Scarletts etc.

Yes his Dads reads this Board and he has Responded. This From Nicks:

Ok, a few requests for me to respond...as some of you know I haven't posted on here for about the last 3 years, simply because I got sick and tired of having to defend myself or John to the 'more mentally challenged' members of this and other forums. Yes, I do still hang around occasionally but I choose not to post.

I will start by making it clear after speaking with John this morning, there is absolutely no issues with any other player or any rift of any kind. If the Marngrook Footy Show did indeed publicize that John had an issue then they need to get their facts straight and not fall into the same trap that a number of people tend to do here and that is perpetuate stories based solely on rumor and innuendo.

http://www.magpies.net/nick/bb/viewtopic.php?t=56179&start=90

And I think this is where the rumour should end. As good as straight from the horses mouth.

Wow, JA got beaten by two of the best defenders in the league, probably two of the best from the last decade... amazing stuff for a bloke in his first year at FF.

Daniel Bradshaw couldn't get a bloody kick on Scarlett on the weekend, what does that tell you?

I hope you are just as critical of Dawes if/when he gets pantsed by the same quality defenders that Jack did.

I'd probably say 9 times out of 10 for the chest marking as well.

I think Invig has pretty much owned this thread with a very honerable mention to Didaka.

I think one thing that has shown from this thread is it's better in the eyes of some to start of rubbish and improve, then to start strong. I think the "upside" Dawes is showing is the fact that he has improved from a very poor target to a decent one where as Anthony's "lack of improvement" comes from the fact that he started as a strong target so his improvement is going to be slower and less significant.

On current evidence the Cloke / Dawes team looks to be better and if that continues JA will struggle to get back but there is still a number of tests that the Dawes / Cloke team haven't come up against. It's much easier to look good with the ball streaming in and in space. It will be interesting to see how it goes when Dawes doesn't have the space to work into / with. The second thing and MDC hit the nail on the head is that Dawes missed marking attempt quite often fall through the back, because he has soft hands he quite often doesn't force the defender to spoil to where a crumber would generally be positioned. There are a number of contests already in the last three weeks where a soft drop from Dawes would have cost as a goal against better opposition.

On top of that Anthony obviously still has plenty of improvement in him, I think timing his leads reading the play etc are all areas that he can and will naturally improve. On top of that and I think it's something Didaka mentioned is at the moment he has been playing very much as a stay at home lead up FF. If he is able to improve his tank he can get higher up the ground and increase his possesion tally. This would also help create space in the foward line for Cloke. That is the real key structural difference between Anthony and Dawes atm, Dawes goes high and can allow Cloke to play at FF, where as Anthony is anchored to the FF line.

On the rumour rubbish the GC are going to enquire about a lot of players they'd be stupid not to. Of course they are interested in JA and a host of other players that's a given and not really news IMO.

As for the JA rumours similar things have come up a million times before, football clubs are big places, not everyone likes each other. So whether it is true or not it doesn't really make a difference. It's even less of an issue as we have inside knowledge confirming the fact the rumour is rubbish.

Oh and TD "The it had to come from somewhere" line is completely unfounded. There is so much discussion about football and coverage etc that the smallest non issue can spread and get bigger. The fact is football journo's have to find stuff to fill the pages and air time everyday most of it is useless. I'd dare say this is one is too.

If Jack doesn't end up working as a forward, remember he was drafted as a backman and I recall a lot of people were saying he resembles a James Clement type and his spoiling and reading of the play was superb.

Doesn't anyone think he will ever go back there for the pies if a spot in the forward doesn't open up?

I would worry a lot that he left us now and went to the gold coast... He hasent had enough years at collingwood to earn enough Value for a fair compensation deal... However, I think JA will soon realise, especially is rusling is able to get up, that he has to work harder than what he has been over the last 7 weeks of '10, and the last 6-8 weeks of '09 if he wants to play footy for the pies.

Why would he be going anywhere? It's a simple scenario: he is a highly promising player (ahead of Dawes at this stage) who had an injury interrupted off-season and pre-season and has come into this season well underdone. Hence he is being knocked into shape in the VFL. In modern AFL you can't afford to have an underdone forward who can't chase.

I'd say he's very close to being back in. And he will just become another dangerous floater when he does...

Posters who start rumours of that sort are simple-minded types who see footballers as one homogeneous clump of inarticulate, beer-guzzling neanderthals.

Haha in fairness snag, I wouldn't have thought there would be many Rhodes scholars that use big footy...

It's a simple scenario: he is a highly promising player (ahead of Dawes at this stage) who had an injury interrupted off-season and pre-season and has come into this season well underdone.
This is a bit of a furphy. JA is not ahead of Dawes. You can tell because Dawes is in the senior side and JA is in the VFL side.

JA was dropped from the side because he wasn't performing at the desired level, I'm sure in part due to having an inadequate fitness base because of surgery pre-season. However he's performed well in the VFL, kicking 5 goals nearly a fortnight ago, and still hasn't broken into the side. He will have to bide his time and put in continued good performances before getting another opportunity. That'll likely happen when;

a) someone gets injured in seniors
b) someone's performances drop off in seniors
c) the side starts losing
d) the selection committee decide to experiment with a new structure, most likely against a bottom-dwelling club or one they suspect would be susceptible to a particular gameplan.

The fact is; Dawes is in the side on merit and is keeping his spot on merit. To say that JA is ahead of Dawes, is no more true than to say Goldsack is ahead of Reid. "Depth charts" in AFL are in a constant state of flux, and selectors rarely drop players in form, regardless of the reputation of the player missing out.

Jack is not going anywhere,Dawes is not a sure thing i agree,we need Jack because of Depth.

What would happen if one of Cloke or Dawes went down,Jack would be straight in.You don't get rid of depth,depth helps a club win flags.

Kpp's are like gold,midfielders are not

This is a bit of a furphy. JA is not ahead of Dawes. You can tell because Dawes is in the senior side and JA is in the VFL side.

JA was dropped from the side because he wasn't performing at the desired level, I'm sure in part due to having an inadequate fitness base because of surgery pre-season. However he's performed well in the VFL, kicking 5 goals nearly a fortnight ago, and still hasn't broken into the side. He will have to bide his time and put in continued good performances before getting another opportunity. That'll likely happen when;

a) someone gets injured in seniors
b) someone's performances drop off in seniors
c) the side starts losing
d) the selection committee decide to experiment with a new structure, most likely against a bottom-dwelling club or one they suspect would be susceptible to a particular gameplan.

The fact is; Dawes is in the side on merit and is keeping his spot on merit. To say that JA is ahead of Dawes, is no more true than to say Goldsack is ahead of Reid. "Depth charts" in AFL are in a constant state of flux, and selectors rarely drop players in form, regardless of the reputation of the player missing out.

wow!
obviously JA is not ahead of him in that regard at the moment.
Perhaps I should have said that at this early stage in both their development, in my humble opinion, Jack is a more accomplished player than Dawes. When he is physically back to his best, he should be in the AFL side. Which is not to say that Dawes should not remain in there too.

Wasn't going to post in this thread.

But feel I need to, just to say...

Adam Hunter wasn't a forwards arseh*le. And Jack is already a better player than him.