Jack Anthony

Has turned his form and attitude around tenfold since the end of pre season when Harvey really gave him a roast his lacklustre pre-season. Hes the first to turn up and last to leave. He pretty much had to have a pre-season after Round 1 while the team was playing such was his poor pre season. It got to the point where he was pushing himself too far and he has been playing in the WAFL through various calf injuries. Hes not 100% fit at all

If you asked me 2-3 months ago I said he was gone but since then he has impressed the club alot with his change in atttiude and his ability to work for a spot. He has a future and shouldnt be judged on this year really

That's awesome if true. I was stoked when he came across, I thought he was gonna be a hand in glove fit here. Hope he can put this year behind him and stick it out with us.

No he isnt at best he is as good as Murphy. He was made to look good at Collingwood by the midfield.

Mark this.

If Jack gets the chance to play in his natural position next year (full back), for an extended period of time, he'll show a hell of a lot more talent than Spud has shown, in any position.

If he only gets his shot in the forward line (Murphy's specialist position, not Jack's), then there's a chance that he'll only show as much as Murphy.

But that's like judging Pav as a player on his midfield capability (which has been middling/OK this year) versus what he can do if played in the forward line.

Jack came across underdone and has been working hard to do whatever was required to get into the team. He's had his chance on two occasions where we got utterly destroyed in the midfield, and he was kicked back to the WAFL the next game. With a decent pre-season and some faith from the coaching team he'll show why the Pies wanted to hang onto him.

Guys that can play both ends of the ground are hard to find. Even McPharlin can't do it particularly well. Silvagni is the only KP in our team that shows a real capacity at both ends of the ground. Kep isn't too bad. MJ is a third tall, or flanker not a KP. Pav probably could do it, but what's the point.

I haven't seen tonites game,but from all reports JA was pretty good.
Hopefully now, harvs persists in playing JA down back & develop him as a back.We need depth in tall backs as we do in tall forwards.With SNOS,Maca,groves,JA & faulks , all of a sudden we have got something to work with.Really hoping houghton can push for a regular spot in 2012 up forward playing along side Pav,with the occasional pinch hitting from SNOS & JA.

Silvagni is the only KP in our team that shows a real capacity at both ends of the ground. Kep isn't too bad. MJ is a third tall, or flanker not a KP. Pav probably could do it, but what's the point.

Pav can definitely do it. But I don't care about having that many KPP's that can play forward or back. If we end up playing 2 ruckmen in games, and with the number of tall guys (Bradley, MJ the obvious ones) who can roam around the ground in a variety of situations, we have heaps of flexibility.

If Anthony cah hold down key back spot I would be keen to try Silvani as a key forward next year, Maybe CHF

How many spoils did he have last night?

That's what impressed me. Timed his leaps and runs to influence the contest defensively.

Dawes was rusty but Jack still beat him comfortably. Had some trouble with Wood due to the size difference but he used his body well to work his man under the ball. Got shafted by the umps too.

Most noticeable is his composure with the ball and his good foot skills.

Dawes was rusty but Jack still beat him comfortably. Had some trouble with Wood due to the size difference but he used his body well to work his man under the ball. Got shafted by the umps too.

Most noticeable is his composure with the ball and his good foot skills.

Do I even need to explain..

Anthony looked like a different player last night. While his defensive work was good, it was his reading of the ball and especially his rebounding which was the highlight. He ran hard and his field kicking is very impressive. I'll be happy if Jack never plays in the forward line again.

Great spoiling. Great contested marking. Backed up and covered for others in the backline a couple of times. Looked like a natural... not surprising considering that he's a fullback that the Pies played forward as a trial. The fact that he did so well that year made folks forget that he was a defender. Good positioning and provided us with a lot of rebound out of defense.

And did anyone else notice his disposal? Very, very solid. Handballing was good, but his kicking was spot on. Don't think I saw any poor kicks... all were effective or kicks to legitimate contests. Imagine not having to rely on Duffield (poor one-on-one defender) or Ibbo (not a great decision maker) taking the kick ins.

Legitimate, long term replacement for Grover as our full back. I know we have issues up forward, and it's possible he'll be the answer there, but his best position is as a full back and he'll add a lot more there than up forward. With him and Silvagni as our long term KPD's we'll have guys that can win their contest and provide great rebound.

Looking forward to seeing him play there again next week. And hope Harvs doesn't forget this next season. Or how well Lower did on the ball.

Had a good game last night. Definitely looks much better down back! Keep him there and draft some tall forwards.

Actually one of the big highlights for me yesterday. Looks like he needs to work on his tank but i don't remember Dawes beating him in a 1 on 1.

I'd be interested to check the 1% stats because i thought he spoiled a lot of the Magpies forward entrys.

His field kicking was very good. I rather enjoyed Suban flooring Daisy when he came into remonstrate with Anthony after he kicked to a contest out of the backline and the ball went out of play.

Has beautiful field kicking. Nice vision to open up the field as well.

If we had McPharlin, JA, Silvagni and Grover in the backline next year, we would once again be able to create a strong rebounding HB which is the key to every team's greatness since the beginning of time.

Has beautiful field kicking. Nice vision to open up the field as well.

If we had McPharlin, JA, Silvagni and Grover in the backline next year, we would once again be able to create a strong rebounding HB which is the key to every team's greatness since the beginning of time.

With all four talls in our back line we'd probably be a little short on run. But it could work. Prattsta has been advocating playing McPharlin as a 3rd tall/floating backman/spanner in the works player like Scarlett does. Or we could play him on good small/mid forwards. Having JA, Silvagni and McPharlin down there would give us a hell of a backline.

If we could find a suitable match up for Grover, then he could go down there as well, or pinch hit up forward.

with jack playing so well it wouldnt suprise me to see groves shifted out, our key back position stocks all of a sudden dont look so bad. faulks looks a courageous no fuss footballer, jack a good spoiler with great skills, mcpharlin is the crown jewell of the backline and silvagni can play the michael johnson role... only with skill, heart, determination and courage

I'm not.
I'd prefer him back with Silvagni.
Grover's almost done. Pav up front. With Houghton and the key forward we draft.

Johnson can get the **** right out.

Agree with all of this - and you can add Kep as a forward too, hopefully they also rest Sandi and Zac deep forward. I'd also like to see us bring Griff in for some games as a tall forward when we play sides that have shorter backlines. Plus Fyfe can be very damaging across HF.

A backline with Elvis, Silver, Faulks and JA looks good to me, if Colombo can get back to AFL footy after his injury.

After all of that, I reckon we no longer need MJ, even as a back-up's backup.

What's this s**t about putting Silvagni in the forward line?

You lot have got a touch of the Harves' I reckon. Why are we not allowed to have any players that have a role week in week out?
By all means, throw Pav in the middle for five minutes to have an impact. Let McPharlin go forward for a quarter occasionally to change things up. But for christs sake, let the guys just play footy.

Faulks is reasonably quick, could he take the small forwards. If this were possible we could have the back 6 of:
Faulks McPharlin Grover
Silvani Anthony (Rebounding Mid)

Does seem tall, but could work.

I look forward to getting him back in a couple of years...:p
In all seriousness, good for him. Was never gonna get a game anymore ahead of cloke, dawes, reid or brown