Toast Jack Crisp

• Thread starter Thread starter iBeng

See Crisp's tweet earlier today. That's the way to handle it.

I like him even more now, will be looking for him keenly when I'm forced to watch Pies games with the missus. (which is alot...Sadly, in Hong Kong with Australia Network on, Pies get majority of the coverage :/)

what did he say mate?

"Excited to be heading to @CollingwoodFC to continue my footy career! Thanks @brisbanelions for the last 3 years! Bring on 2015! #GoPies"

Thanked us, showed respect to both clubs. Simple as that. Seems somewhat sad to me that this type of professionalism is the exception, rather than the norm these days. So good on Jack for showing some class.

I'm not actually on Twitter so dunno how to copy the actual tweet, but I just cut and pasted it from an article.

It's nice that this year we can farewell players without any angst towards them. Hopefully the GABBA crowd will be respectful to both Crisp and Patfull next year when they return to play us. Genuinely believe Crisp will become a decent player, so good luck to him. Hopefully he won't becoming a whipping boy for the pies supporters.
Don't worry he is getting a good welcome on the Pies board. Seems a good kid. It will be 5 and Greenwood we will be looking to to at least part make up for what we have lost with Beams. Don't think Jack will be seen as any whipping boy. He seems the classic steak knives. If we play you round 1 at the GABBA as is mooted its unlikely you will get the chance to pay your respects as he will almost certainly start in the VFL. Lot of young better credentialed midfielders are already fighting for spots.

As it would have been if he had stayed at Brissy he will face a pretty big task to break into the 22. Don't think Pie supporters will burden him with any great expectation. We understand he is the bottom of the list type player and will just hope he can surprise us.

I think you are under estimating him. I would expect to play round one and be in the best players. He has a lot of potential and I wish him all the best.
I don't want to under estimate him but it would be worse if Collingwood fans overestimated him and expected him to be something that he wasn't.

Hope he proves me wrong and becomes a star but to think he should be in the 22 round 1 and then be in the best players is unreasonable. We have 2 others on our list who fit in a very similar place to Jack. Gault and Ramsay. All these 3 were either late round draft or rookie picks who have been in the system 2-3 seasons. All three were for various reasons just hanging in there mid 2014 with the likelihood of delisting hanging over them. All 3 got senior call ups late in the season because their sides had run into major injury problems. Without this all3 would have probably played no senior footy in 2014.

All 3 surprised when they got these late season senior games because they looked fairly comfortable at senior level. All 3 retained a spot on the list but face a big job to get back into senior contention in 2015. All are now rated somewhere between player 30-35 on the list. All 3 are more likely to be delisted in the next 2 seasons than not. All 3 however have a shot at making it and I would love to see any one of them prove me wrong because they all seem good lads

AFL footballers live in a dog eat dog world. Crisp is near the bottom of the pile but seems a fighter. Still let's not pretend Brisbane has given us anything more than a speculative kid who you are unlikely to miss.

Don't worry he is getting a good welcome on the Pies board. Seems a good kid. It will be 5 and Greenwood we will be looking to to at least part make up for what we have lost with Beams. Don't think Jack will be seen as any whipping boy. He seems the classic steak knives. If we play you round 1 at the GABBA as is mooted its unlikely you will get the chance to pay your respects as he will almost certainly start in the VFL. Lot of young better credentialed midfielders are already fighting for spots.

As it would have been if he had stayed at Brissy he will face a pretty big task to break into the 22. Don't think Pie supporters will burden him with any great expectation. We understand he is the bottom of the list type player and will just hope he can surprise us.

Without sounding too over the top... Crisp reminds me a lot of Robert Harvey...given the right development, which aint a problem at the Pies, he'll surprise a few.

Can't imagine anyone booing him.

I wonder if he has a story to tell in all of this. He seemed to pop up in the trade negotiations at a very convenient moment.

Had an article on him in the Herald Sun last few days. Apparently the contract offer he got was late in the piece and he had instructed his manager to sniff out any opportunites down south for him. As such it seems he was feeling a bit vulnerable in Brissie and knew he was on the cusp of the list. Was he the only player who hadn't been offered a contract until late? Brisbane hadn't got round to signing him by the trade period so he was probably always seen as the expendable player by the club to be used as a tool in negotiations through that time being either with Essendon or Collingwood.

Yeah, from memory that article said we'd been a bit slack in offering a new contract, so quite rightly he'd decided to cast around for someone who valued his services a bit more, as you say.

I think in that article he might've said something about being told by his mates at his 21st that he was being linked to the Beams trade and that this was a big surprise for him. Given everything I find it unlikely that that was the first he'd heard of it.

We're not really sure how late his contract offer was, and realistically he wasn't definitely guaranteed a list spot next year until he had the great finish to the year imo. When it first came out that he could be traded back to Victoria, it also mentioned that we had a two year contract in front of him. He did seem to be the odd one out for a while as being neither contracted for next year or delisted.

Prior to the last six weeks he could well have been a delisting candidate, or a one year contract offer at best. The last six weeks bumped it up to two years - fairly impressive for a mere six games. No surprise we held off.

Yeah, from memory that article said we'd been a bit slack in offering a new contract, so quite rightly he'd decided to cast around for someone who valued his services a bit more, as you say.

I think in that article he might've said something about being told by his mates at his 21st that he was being linked to the Beams trade and that this was a big surprise for him. Given everything I find it unlikely that that was the first he'd heard of it.
Yeah I think Brisbanes thinking was when he finished the year well he became a keeper all things being equal but with Beams and Ryder potentially on the radar by then the club would have known it would be wise to have a few bargaining chips to bring to the table. Made sense to not have him signed up as would make it that bit easier to convince re a move.

I don't agree with the logic that we didn't offer him a contract until late because we wanted to use him as trade bait. I suspect the simple and probably most likely explanation is that he was heading for delisting, played well enough to get a one year contract offer from Brisbane, found other club/s willing to offer him two years, at which point Brisbane made the decision to match it. It doesn't make sense to ultimately offer him 2 years if we were always hoping to trade him.

Not necessarily hoping to trade him but knowing there was a likelihood of someone needing to be put up if the Ryder or Beams deal came to fruition. The 2 year deal was still on the table for him but not having it finalised was an advantage come trade week and probably by design.

I'm fairly confident that's not how/why it happened.

I suspect the reason why Crisp was approached about a trade to Collingwood is because he was off contact and had already told the club he was prepared to move to Melbourne to seek a better deal. Nothing at all wrong with that, of course. But when we needed a tiebreaker, he was the obvious choice to approach. I don't think we intentionally kept him unsigned as a bargaining chip. If he hadn't gone out to seek a better deal (again, as he's entitled to), he'd have been locked away a little while ago on a one year deal.

I know that doesn't fit the narrative of "Leppo" breaking his promise not to trade the kids but I'm fairly confident that's close to the truth.

by not signing a contract and then trading him, we arguably did him a favour - as perhaps his deal with Collingwood is superior to what we were going to offer.

Had we traded him while under contract, Collingwood may have just taken over the deal we offered him that may have been of lesser value.

From his GF twitter as well she is a long life Collingwood supporter.....

The saying happy wife happy life comes to mind too :p

I'm fairly confident that's not how/why it happened.

I suspect the reason why Crisp was approached about a trade to Collingwood is because he was off contact and had already told the club he was prepared to move to Melbourne to seek a better deal. Nothing at all wrong with that, of course. But when we needed a tiebreaker, he was the obvious choice to approach. I don't think we intentionally kept him unsigned as a bargaining chip. If he hadn't gone out to seek a better deal (again, as he's entitled to), he'd have been locked away a little while ago on a one year deal.

I know that doesn't fit the narrative of "Leppo" breaking his promise not to trade the kids but I'm fairly confident that's close to the truth.
You may be right but the way the Herald Sun article from the other day reads is that he was disappointed Brisbane were slow to offer him a contract and it was that that caused him to ask his manager to "explore any opportunities down south".

Seems he is saying it was more club inaction that precipitated him to look at his options rather than him coming to the club with that request.

He was in trouble at about round 12, so club was as inactive as it might have been on Polks or Raines.

Jessie O'Brien was in a similar position same time last year. Both were given a chance to play for their spots. Both did pretty well, but Jack got a few extra weeks.

He had every right to be assessing his future options. Not sure he'd done enough to feel 'disappointed' in the lack of contract offerings - if that's indeed his feelings and not Hun spin.

He was in trouble at about round 12, so club was as inactive as it might have been on Polks or Raines.

Jessie O'Brien was in a similar position same time last year. Both were given a chance to play for their spots. Both did pretty well, but Jack got a few extra weeks.

He had every right to be assessing his future options. Not sure he'd done enough to feel 'disappointed' in the lack of contract offerings - if that's indeed his feelings and not Hun spin.
No doubt the HUN spun it a bit. More likely when he didnt have an offer yet on the table he said to his manager see if anything is on offer in Victoria in case a Brisbane offer wasnt forthcoming. So disappointed in the sense the offer he hoped for hadn't come through yet. Seems a reasonable course of action by both Brisbane and Crisp.

Crisp will be a better player than Beams in a couple years.
Beams has lost the hunger, don't expect you'll get much more than a B-grader in the long run.
People keep saying we lost in the trade but I think quite the opposite.
Several players in the top5 of the draft who can have an immediate impact and have more class than beams.

Beams has lost the hunger, don't expect you'll get much more than a B-grader in the long run.
Several players in the top5 of the draft who can have an immediate impact and have more class than beams.

Noticed a fair bit of your posting during the trade period, mostly because the Randy Savage avatar.

Gotta say, you seemed to have had a lot of "mail" throughout that time that kept going **** up.

Attachments

• uploadfromtaptalk1414318508655.jpg
    uploadfromtaptalk1414318508655.jpg
    6.6 KB · Views: 8