Jack Fitzpatrick

• Thread starter Thread starter Fairtex09

haha ignorance, he was beaten by pretty much every ruckman in the comp, wat are they not tall aswell??? do they not need to develop?? he was picked on reputation only, hundreds of better ruckmen running around in local leagues.
Does that include yourself? If so, at what number were you drafted?

PS: I assume you were a bottom aged player in the TAC Cup, and have a couple of more years of schooling left.

A few things:

1) He was good enough to play for Metro
2) Obviously had to do something to get a reputation in the first place
3) Was pick 50, not a first round selection
4) Unless you got drafted there must have been at least one bloke on the ground worse than him :o

Stay classy

mate dont have to take it personally, everyone has different opinions

and for arguments sake he was
1 - tall enough to play for vic metro, it had nothing to do with his skills, not to mention they were one of the worst vic metro teams in years
2 he got the reputation through being tall and athletic, nothing to do with football
3. he may have been pick 50, but i guarantee u every ruckmen taken after him will be more succesfull
4. wat does being drafted have to do with being better??? hooper won the larke medal for best player in division 1 and he didnt even get drafted?? even u must see wat a stupid comment that is, just cause someone didnt get drafted means they played worse in the game????????

nah mate midfielder, not even close to being a ruck, just thought id put in my opinion of him, sorry everyone took it so personally :confused: in my opinion he will be a list clogger that will be delisted in two years. you dont need to agree, think wat u want. All i am saying is that there are many better options, for example make a note next year watch a guy that will get rookied by brisbane called broc mcauley run around

I think I will take note of a kid who is on an AFL list (Fitzpatrick) than a player you speculate will be rookied. Im guessing you are not part of the brisbane lions recruitment team?

As you said, everybody is entitled to their own opinion and IMO he was an absolute steal, couple of pre seasons in the gym and he will be hard to match up on.

fair enough thats your opinion, no obviosly not on the recruitment team just know he is as close to a shore thing of getting rookied as youre going to get. i guess time will tell, but dont be surprised if you see him playing round one

Suffers from chronic fatigue pick number 50

Alastair Lynch also suffers from the same thing. also pick 50
I wonder if the AFL will let Fitzpatrick take steroids too? He doesn't play for Brisbane, so you might be outta luck.

I'm with johnny drama. Fitzpatrick looks a spud to me. Mcauley's an interesting one. Some Tiger fans were hoping we'd rookie him. Does Brissie get first chop on Qld rookies?

He might not be a world beater, but I do like how he puts himself in the right areas to tackle and use his athleticism like a midfielder (probably similar to drama 5, lol).
IMO looks to have a chf mould atm (especially with his speed and handball skills) until he fills out, then proceed to the ruck.
An interesting project player.:thumbsu:

Can someone please tell him to cut his hair though. I saw a photo of it in the Age this morning. It was long, straight and red. Disgusting!

playyed against him this year and he was one of the worst players in a team that nearly came last. dud pick up

Fair enough - Im not confident on him myself although Im not knocking his selection at 50. Project player who could become a second cover for certain needs when required imo.

Who do you play for and what were the weaknesses in his game that you saw?

Also did he play in the forward line at any stage or just in the ruck?

Fair enough - Im not confident on him myself although Im not knocking his selection at 50. Project player who could become a second cover for certain needs when required imo.

Who do you play for and what were the weaknesses in his game that you saw?

Also did he play in the forward line at any stage or just in the ruck?

yeh fair enough, i played for gold coast and played him 3 times and just thought he got beaten in the ruck more often than not and sometimes shirked contests. but i may be being a bit harsh, who knows could just have had a bad game. but he was targeted as a weakness in our match previews. yeh he played a bit of both from wat i can remember, probably 50/50

ricoatthedisco - nah dont think brisbane have preference, so as long as gold coast dont take him richmond have first cracks, but from wat ive heard brisbane are keen. has really good athletiscm, fast and moves forward and kicks quite alot of goals. definatly worth taking a punt so hopefully richmond go for him

played against jack and he use to kill it he controls his chronic fatigue very well and i believe that alastair lynch has been helping him out with it a great prospect for the club

If you have pick 50 in a shallow draft, I reckon it'd be better to take a punt on a tall than a short. That's just my 2 cents.

True... to be honest, I'd have preferred Liam Patrick with that pick though.

But you've got to back the club in on these things. Obviously the football department have far greater knowledge.

True... to be honest, I'd have preferred Liam Patrick with that pick though.

But you've got to back the club in on these things. Obviously the football department have far greater knowledge.

Yeh there were a few available at that pick that we looked past - Panos and Grimes also come to mind. But like someone said earlier if youre gonna punt at pick 50 in a weak draft might as well make it a tall. Most people seem to think he would go earlier than this so Im ok with it I guess. Lower profile picks have made it from further back than this before so fingers crossed..

Jack is a really good kid with lots of talent and a great attitude, Not only did he play Vic Metro he was also apart of the AIS squad - I'm sure he will be wonderful for Melbourne.

Haven't heard much about him lately, does anyone know how he is travelling atm?

Played two’s for Casey on the weekend and was named second best on ground having kicked a couple. In the coaches report was highly praised and it will be only a matter of time before he is promoted.

Although it will be tough with Juice, Miller and Watts all playing in the Casey senior forward line…

Played two’s for Casey on the weekend and was named second best on ground having kicked a couple. In the coaches report was highly praised and it will be only a matter of time before he is promoted.
Good to hear, thanks for that.

I think regardless of other possible forward "floaters" in Miller and Newton I'd be surprised if Bailey didn't get some senior games into him at some stage later this year - if only for a taste.

Although it will be tough with Juice, Miller and Watts all playing in the Casey senior forward line

You can add Hughes to that list aswell, this was I was trying to get at last year with Zomer, His development was restricted because of list cloggers... Mind you I now except that I have to move on & embrace the future... But if the club is not mindful of this (and don't play Jack in Scorpion 1sts at the expense of Newton or Miller) it will do damage to his future career...